SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH4 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=219)
-   -   [REL] Love post-process filters but tired of that grainy effect? (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=114496)

XanderF 05-17-07 10:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ALung
Awhile ago I edited the shader to remove the grainy effect. For anyone interested in how its done, edit Data\Shaders\Filters\CompoundFilterPS.fx and replace

Code:

// noise
    float4 noise=tex2D(customTex0,In.Tex0*float2(NoiseTileX,NoiseTileY)+rand.xy)-0.5;
    C=C+noise*NoiseIntensity;

with

Code:

// noise
//    float4 noise=tex2D(customTex0,In.Tex0*float2(NoiseTileX,NoiseTileY)+rand.xy)-0.5;
//    C=C+noise*NoiseIntensity;


Hmmm....that would actually mean we could just REDUCE the intensity of it rather than eliminate it entirely? That might not be a bad idea, it's not a TERRIBLE effect, although it is rather overdone. 'Course, I like it completely missing, too. Hmmm....

ReallyDedPoet 05-30-07 12:35 PM

If you don't have this little mod already :roll:, get it, makes a difference. Have a look at the first post.

RDP

Seeadler 06-01-07 04:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MaxT.dk
Exactly what I've said earlier. Why bother with the texture changes

Yes, this editing of the shader file is the better way, because the noise.dds texture could be used possibly also as input parameter for other shader effects and a change of the texture, changed then also the output of these effects.

I have momentarily no SHIV installed but however I believe the noise.dds texture is also used as input param for the clouds shader.:hmm:

Jace11 06-01-07 10:31 AM

I think noise is used on the radar screens a little too..

Melonfish 10-27-07 03:45 AM

well i've just got to say that for such a small mod this sure makes a big difference. now my crew have real eyes not skin coloured eyeballs (no idea why they had em in the first place) and the colours look much better
no grainy effect! excellent! well done.
pete

phatmatt 11-02-07 08:07 PM

Thanks this is an awesome little mod that makes the difference we want :D

Angus89 11-03-07 01:06 AM

how does this work with ROW or is it perhaps included any other mod conflicts your aware of?

leovampire 11-03-07 01:14 AM

it's in ROW I beleve
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Angus89
how does this work with ROW or is it perhaps included any other mod conflicts your aware of?

In the shaders file. I am not shure because I do not use that effect in game.

Digital_Trucker 11-03-07 10:13 AM

I have used this mod and ROW with post processing on and not noticed any problems. I don't use post processing any more, but it was OK when I did. Best thing I can suggest is to try it and see what happens. If you use JSGME you can always yank it if it doesn't work correctly.

mcarlsonus 11-03-07 04:13 PM

Just installed last night
 
This is GREAT! I find myself spending much more time "inside" now just looking around and getting blinded occasionally by the glare off the instrument faces! Well done!

Haukka81 09-21-14 03:36 AM

NECRO! :D



How i get grain/noise back ? What files i need to edit ?

My mods:

1_TriggerMaru_Overhaul_2-5
TMO_Alternate_JS_Radar_Performance
1_TMO_25_small_patch
RSRDC_SH15_V550
RSRDC_V5xx_Patch1
1.5_Optical Targeting Correction 031312 for RSRDCv502
Traveller Mod v2.6 TMO
Eye Patch for TMO v1.7
Traveller Mod 2.6 OTC 1.5 Automatic Ship ID
Traveller Mod 2.6 OTC 1.5 Patch
Traveller Mod 2.6 Patch 1 - ISE v3 Patch
1.5_OTC for 16 to 9 Aspect Ratio RSRDCv502



Please help, i really like that grain effect in stock.


Thank you :salute:

Anvart 09-24-14 05:22 AM

I think, more interesting use external universal PE programs... e.g. SweetFX.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2025 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.