PDA

View Full Version : Plotting on a chart

[dc]Blade
09-27-06, 06:16 PM
Hi all i was wondering the name of a particular chart, Im new to naval sims so you will have to bear with me while il explane the best i can.
The chart i have seen i beleve is to help you plot a target over a given time by bearing rate and distance to target simlar to TMA, but its a chart that looks like a radar with the a ruler at the bottom that you can draw a line through at various points to show distance over time to give you speed, i saw it around a website as a picture or PDF to download, and i have not seen it since i spotted it in a website at work (Lunch Break :)) i am sure it was somthing that was given as an aid or training tool, but i cant be sure, Sorry i cant be more discriptive my knowledge at best is vary low at the moment and im hoping if i can locate this chart it might make my understanding a little easier in the ways of plotting and general trigernometry.

Thanks in advance.:up:

SeaQueen
09-27-06, 06:23 PM
A maneuvering board maybe?

Maneuvering boards are hand. Once you do your TMA, you can use them to do things like plot CPA distance, intercept courses, etc.

[dc]Blade
09-27-06, 06:36 PM
Thats it:D could you point me in the direction of were i could obtain one to print off?

SeaQueen
09-27-06, 08:28 PM
Blade']Thats it:D could you point me in the direction of were i could obtain one to print off?

Here's where you can get some nice reusable ones instead of the paper ones they use in the navy:

http://www.waypoints.com/plottingsheet.html

You can download the radar navigation and maneuvering board manual from the national geospacial intelligence agency's website.

http://www.nga.mil/portal/site/maritime/?epi_menuItemID=22707e6ae3d0c1b25b2a7fbd3227a759&epi_menuID=35ad5b8aabcefa1a0fc133443927a759&epi_baseMenuID=e106a3b5e50edce1fec24fd73927a759

It's actually pretty fun to read if you like geeky navigational stuff...

Narcosis
09-28-06, 06:01 AM