PDA

View Full Version : A Canadian Request

Captain Norman
05-17-06, 02:53 PM
I admit, I have no experience whatsoever when it comes to modding, mapping, and skinning in a game. But I do have a request for any of those kinds of people here on Subsim, if they wish to or not. I love Dangerous Waters, but I have become disappointed in something. The people at Sonalyst have added in just about every country in the world with a major navy except for Canada! I was wondering if anyone here would be willing to model some Canadians ships, for example some Halifax class frigates or even an Iroquois class destroy. If you even want to, although it isnt the best submarine, add in a few Canadian Victoria class submarines. If you could also do this as well, a controllable Halifax class frigate would be excellent as well.
Thanks always everyone. -Captain Norman

Captain Norman
05-27-06, 09:36 PM
Wow, no one has even replied to this topic, yet 37 people have viewed it.

TLAM Strike
05-27-06, 10:00 PM
A controllable Halifax isn't going to happen.

As for non playable models, I'm probably the only (semi-)active modeler making new ship models for DW (there are some Italian guys, but I haven't talked to them much). Everyone else is taking a break until some bugs are addressed by SCS, or have moved on to other things, or are just MIA.

Unfortunately I don’t know anyone active in the community who can convert .3ds models to .j3d, so everything I got on the table is on hold until someone with the capablities comes forward.

LuftWolf
05-29-06, 03:20 AM
Adding new non-playable platforms and weapons to the database is very easy.

The difficulty comes in 1) having models for them 2) having missions that take advantage of the new platforms 3) making time to do such changes sensibly in the face of an otherwise very busy modding schedule (for two people).