PDA

View Full Version : Always fire first?

manwar
08-15-05, 06:08 PM
Here's a little topic to get these forums rolling, hopefully. I'm still learning this game and would like some expertise input. As I assume from reading the posts from you guys there are some actual subject matter experts. To be successful do you always fire the moment you even closely ID a hostile or do you prosecute for a while. Or, does it vary depending on the platform and the target. I seem to be pretty good on getting a good fix on enemy targets just a bit slow to fire. I guess what I would like to know is how sure are you guys when you fire. Or maybe I'm used to SHIII and the like where I try to be too stealthy. Some ideas would be very helpful.

Mac out

XabbaRus
08-15-05, 06:31 PM
Up to you.

Ideally you want to be close enough that your torp gets to the target quickly but not so close that they can shoot you too.

I try to get into within 8000 yards before I attack.

PeriscopeDepth
08-15-05, 07:16 PM
Depends a lot on the target, and what you're driving. All the playable subs in DW are pretty quiet though. If it's fast and has a good sensor suite, you want to be close enough where you feel your fish will run him down without him detecting you and shooting first. If he's fast and has a less than great sensor suite, I'd say get under 10K yards definitely.

However, if you're in an FFG and pick up a sub with your TA you'd better act fast. Chances are he's had you for a while.

Kapitan
08-15-05, 08:31 PM
fire first means death thats my derative on it under ice it matters in the blue water it matters

firing on a contact you just classified could give your position away whos to say the sub your trying to get is there it could be a whale or fish or some thing else

in saying that you classify a target and fire on it turns out to be a whale then the attacking sub has a pure fix on you he fires then what you do your screwed