PDA

View Full Version : Saying Hello And Asking Q's

ragupasta
07-16-12, 07:40 AM
Hi guys.

I've been bit of a lurker since March-ish. I'm still pretty new to this game series as a whole, but been enjoying my time sinking those pesky English merchant ships.
I really want to step up my gaming experience. So I have a few mods installed.
TDW: TDC 6.9.0
FX Update 0.0.19
Dynamic Environment v2.1

In game, I find the map contact thing a bit gamey, so I just tend to try and ignore it, so this leads to a question...

Sometimes I will get a contact via the hydrophone (manually done with the home+end keys, send to the TDC, ect). How come sometimes my sonar guy cannot give me a distance reading to contact (estimated)?
Is this due to a sonar range issue? If it's any help my sonar guy is well qualified, his passive stat's are pretty much maxxed out.
No problem getting a heading but without a estimated range, things kinda get sticky!

Another question if I may?

When you get sent to patrol a grid reference and are using no map contacts, what is your most used methods of patrol? Or do you look for a suspected shipping lane in that grid, and submerge and wait listening on the hydrophone?

Thanks for your time reading through this.

Regards

Apprentice U-Boot Kapitän

Maki4444
07-16-12, 08:05 AM
Hello and welcome ragupasta Cool name btw ;)

So to answer your questions. A hydrophone is not the same as a sonar. A hydrophone can only listen. A sonar can send a sound, or "ping". The time it takes for the "ping" to bounce off the target ship and come back to your sub is range. Well U-boats can only listen. So your sound guy can only estimate the range based on propeller loudness of the target. The louder the propeller, the closer the ship is to you.

Now this leads to the sound guy being able t only estimate long, medium, or short range. No exact distance.