PDA

View Full Version : [REL] AnimatedTexture. A small addition to S3D.


Anvart
06-17-11, 06:10 AM
:yawn:
For breaking of the monotony of your life... one of my old stuff, designed for use in S3D.
Simple AnimatedTexture controller.
Only 4 texture vertices are processed.
Main rule - the first tile (UV map) must be in Top-Left corner of the texture.
Example:

http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/4367/tilingb.jpg

Installing:
Unrar SH3_movietex.rar and then move "movietex" folder into
X:\Program Files\Silent 3ditor\Controllers\_SH3\ folder.
Before run S3D you can delete Controllers.dll and Controllers.dll.cache from user's ..\skwas\S3D_Asm\...\S3D\ folder.
Before using read descriptions for controller and parameters in S3D... using is very simple.
This controller must be attached to Type 4/100 object.
Link:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/9pplqahw5jx2fg9/SH3_movietex.rar
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Updated - 18.07.2011
******************
The small minor addition for this controller - TexUnit property.
And now you have full version of AnimatedTexture controller.
Link: http://www.mediafire.com/file/umt820tqdqfitkn/SH3_movietex_2.rar

With this addition, you can animate selectively or basic texture or additional texture (in Type 13 material - as AO/LightMap, Specular and so on).
So as TexUnit property is used in other controllers also, I have identified this enumerated type into a separate file TexUnits.cs (same story with ShiftTexture controller in http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=184791).
Installation:
Unpack the archive SH3_movietex_2.rar. Move folder movietex into X:\Program Files\Silent 3ditor\Controllers\_SH3\ folder and overwrite the existing folder and files.
************************************************** ******
Note:
Some people are confused by the phrase "Only 4 texture vertices are processed."... should reassure you - that controller works with objects having more than 4 geometric and texture's vertices.

Anvart
06-18-11, 05:17 PM
:yawn:
Feedback welcome, otherwise I have no interest to publish anything...
:salute:

Madox58
06-18-11, 05:22 PM
Hi Mate,

I think few understand anything that mentions animation.
I find it a great addition myself.
:yeah:

Anvart
06-18-11, 05:35 PM
Hi, Jeff.
Finally I'm reading opinion of skilled modder.
:D

Fish In The Water
06-18-11, 05:39 PM
For breaking of the monotony of your life...

Thanks for breaking up the monotony... :D

But seriously, cheers for the release! :salute:

Madox58
06-18-11, 05:51 PM
Anvart,

I think many want to know and learn.
But few actually do take the time needed.

And few are willing to learn new things to progress.
They seem to want a quick solution now days.

Those days are long gone.
And I believe that S3D may have spoiled modding as well as haveing advanced it.

The dangers of the doubled edged sword.

Anvart
06-19-11, 05:00 AM
Yes, Jeff, Skwasjer made S3D for modders who are not interested in the game engine, structure of the scripts files (dat and etc) and in methods by useing which some features of the game have been resolved.
Skwasjer made S3D for modders who are interested in the end result (game) and they want everything at once...
... and as a result, they had to put up with some limitations of S3D.
...

Privateer and Fish In The Water, thanks for non indifference.

urfisch
06-19-11, 07:45 AM
uhhh...

:hmmm:

is this the controller type, the smoke of sh5 is made of? cause sh5 allows animated textures too. so your controller lets us add nice smoke and a lot better fire!!! thanks a lot, mate. great addition! i think also the bow wave could look a lot better now, and the water splashes could also need some animated textures! this opens up very nice possibilities! also the water tiles itself could get a much more realistic look, if the surface is more in motion.


thanks anvart!

:up:

yes, privateer. i also belong to these people who are interested in a quick solution in modding. i simply do not have the time to dig in every topic as deep, as you would have had to in many cases. so s3d was a big ease. i dont see a problem with it...as long as there are also the "diggers" like you, who let us add all the more complex things!

thank you for taking a lot of time, giving us these possibilities.

:smug:

Alex
06-19-11, 08:07 AM
@ Anvart : Regarding indifference, your posts are clear to a minority of the forum members who are skilled modders. And I'm afraid most people (such as I am) just need to see it live in game cause we just don't have the slightest idea of what is now accessible through your mod. Personally I'm a bit dumbstruck. http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a75/Panzer_Kamerad/smileys/eto.png

Can't wait to see a video featuring this improvement of yours ! :yeah: :ping:

Myxale
06-19-11, 08:31 AM
Since I'm a Code-noob too, -concerning tech-babble-, can one give an example what this addition to the tool can accomplish.

urfisch
06-19-11, 08:41 AM
Since I'm a Code-noob too, -concerning tech-babble-, can one give an example what this addition to the tool can accomplish.

yep. take a look at the smoke and fire in sh5. Its looks that good, cause its an animated texture. So imagine a small video clip, that runs instead of just one image, which is used in a particle system. Normally the particle controller of the fire just using one image and produces different types of this image in size and speed. so it looks like fire. if you use an animated texture, it lets you create a much more real looking fire as it looks like a small video (4 different pics) of a real fire running in a loop, "born" by a particle generator.

Bakkels
06-19-11, 10:38 AM
Well Anvart, it might have helped if you added an explanation as to what this thing actually is. Like some people already mentioned; a lot of us don't know anything about in-depth modding and coding, so we have no idea exactly what it is you posted. And because of that, you didn't get that much of a response I think.

So how can you use this animated texture? And what does it do?

Anvart
06-19-11, 02:18 PM
@urfisch
Yes, Urfisch, you have understood everything correctly (smoke, flame, steam over a cup of coffee and so on)... except that in the SH3, IIRC, there is no mechanism (code) which turns on/off animation of texture depending on events and situations ...
... therefore modders will have to use a mechanism for turning on/off effects in the interior, StateMachineControl and as well as a variety of tricks.
...
So how can you use this animated texture? And what does it do?
The purpose of this thread to give additional tool to modders... and I think I gave enough information to get started.
To do this you must be able to work with an image editor (to make the texture for animation, which consists of an even number of tiles) and with 3D editor.
If someone does not understand how to do this will do other things.
I will not describe the simplest things.
I want to leave some space for your own personal creativity.

urfisch
06-19-11, 03:29 PM
thanks, anvart. but this only means, the texture animation will run constantly, if assigned, right?

Madox58
06-19-11, 08:12 PM
yes, privateer. i also belong to these people who are interested in a quick solution in modding. i simply do not have the time to dig in every topic as deep, as you would have had to in many cases. so s3d was a big ease. i dont see a problem with it...as long as there are also the "diggers" like you, who let us add all the more complex things!


I hope you and others did not take my statement as an insult.
S3D has done a fine job and has help greatly.
But like the double edged blade?
It cuts both ways.
Much as I see construction workers who depend on modern tools but can not work without them.
I see S3D as this modern tool in that context.
If I give you a Nail Gun, you will never learn to use a hammer,
And sometimes you need to beat the hell out of something to get it to work.
:haha:

Anvart
06-20-11, 12:27 AM
thanks, anvart. but this only means, the texture animation will run constantly, if assigned, right?
... so as in SH4 and SH5... and look #13.

About particles system (funnel's smoke, damage smoke etc), in SH3, SH4 and, i think, in SH5 (but with better graphics level) uses the same mechanism of particles generator with (on base) a sequence of moving textures. I do not have SH5 so I can only assume...?
...
This controller (AnimatedTexture) can be viewed as similar to TextureAnimationData (Type 10/6) in SH4.

Anvart
06-20-11, 01:21 AM
@ Anvart : Regarding indifference, your posts are clear to a minority of the forum members who are skilled modders. And I'm afraid most people (such as I am) just need to see it live in game cause we just don't have the slightest idea of what is now accessible through your mod. Personally I'm a bit dumbstruck. http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a75/Panzer_Kamerad/smileys/eto.png

Can't wait to see a video featuring this improvement of yours ! :yeah: :ping:
Hi, Alex.
This addition does not require specific knowledge of programming, coding or similar rubbish...
To use it requires a basic knowledge and ability to work in 3D (simple object) and, as example, in Photoshop...

Myxale
06-20-11, 01:41 AM
Ta, for the quick elaboration Urfish! :salute:

Yeah, I see the nifty-ness of this addition. The possibilities are quite...epic!

And kudos to anvart for makin' it possible!

Anvart
06-20-11, 02:58 AM
Excellently, Myxale. :up:

urfisch
06-20-11, 03:54 AM
:salute:

:yeah:

DivingDuck
06-20-11, 03:11 PM
Moin Anvart,

Kudos to you for your information. It happens that I´m experimenting with animated textures for some time now, trying to analyze it. I was fiddling with an animated texture I "borrowed" from SH4. It worked in SH3 too, but I had troubles making it work with stuff I imported as AniTexData. Quite a coincidence you too are playing with that at the moment. Thanks for sharing the file with the community.

Btw, you´re writing it is a simple AniTex Controller and that only 4 vertices are processed. Are you referring to your example, or is this controller able to process "only" 4 tex vertices? Sorry if this question seems to be dumb, but I had no time to test it yet.


@Privateer:
thought I would never see you again around here. ;)


Regards,
DD

Jimbuna
06-20-11, 03:19 PM
@Privateer:
thought I would never see you again around here. ;)

Regards,
DD

Oh he still pops in from time to time...just not so noticeable :DL

DivingDuck
06-20-11, 03:21 PM
Moin Jim,

long time no see either. ;) Hope you´re well.


@Anvart:
do you have your new computer yet?

Regards,
DD

Jimbuna
06-20-11, 03:39 PM
Moin Jim,

long time no see either. ;) Hope you´re well.

Regards,
DD

Moin Mate

Hoping the family are doing well :sunny:

urfisch
06-21-11, 04:09 AM
good to see comrades of the old crew here...

:salute:

Anvart
06-21-11, 11:55 AM
...
@Anvart:
do you have your new computer yet?
...

No, I do not have a new computer.
... and I do not have access to my database on the disks (RAID 0).
On current machine I can not do anything, and on the current hard drive I do not have needed disk space.
...
Quite a coincidence you too are playing with that at the moment.
...
Btw, you´re writing it is a simple AniTex Controller and that only 4 vertices are processed. Are you referring to your example, or is this controller able to process "only" 4 tex vertices?
...
I tested this controller when i been doing lighted (lit) ships.
The glow of the lantern (simple halo object) been changed from white to green, yellow and red...
Some time ago I by chance found this stuff on one of my CD and I made up it for S3D.
I decided to publish this stuff when I understood I will not publish any mods in the near future... or never.

P.S. And you're still not solved mine riddle... about a magic box...(?)
... it's a hint of another solution... :03:

DivingDuck
06-21-11, 02:50 PM
Moin Anvart,

I tested this controller when i been doing lighted (lit) ships.
The glow of the lantern (simple halo object) been changed from white to green, yellow and red...
Some time ago I by chance found this stuff on one of my CD and I made up it for S3D.
I decided to publish this stuff when I understood I will not do any mods in the near future... or never.

So, you would be okay if I´d use it for any mod to come?


P.S. And you're still not solved mine riddle... about a magic box...(?)
... it's a hint of another solution... :03:
Now that you mention it, I faintly recall a riddle of yours. But I have to dig for it, as I do not quite remember what it was. Only thing I know, it was related to the CR interior, to the food crates in particular. Right?

Regards,
DD

Anvart
06-21-11, 02:58 PM
Moin Anvart,

So, you would be okay if I´d use it for any mod to come?
What is it "okay"... :o Maybe I'm writing unclearly?

Now that you mention it, I faintly recall a riddle of yours. But I have to dig for it, as I do not quite remember what it was. Only thing I know, it was related to the CR interior, to the food crates in particular. Right?

Regards,
DD
You are right... :)
... but now it's your problem...?

DivingDuck
06-21-11, 03:01 PM
What is it "okay"... :o Maybe I'm writing unclearly?

Just wanted to make sure you have no objections if I use AniTexControllers in any future mod.

You are right... :)
... but now it's your problem...?
Unfortunately. :wah: :D

Anvart
06-21-11, 03:11 PM
Just wanted to make sure you have no objections if I use AniTexControllers in any future mod.
huh ... OK, read again everything I wrote above... :O:
Unfortunately. :wah: :D
Ha-ha... remember my opinion about the disappearance of food in OH.

skwasjer
06-21-11, 05:01 PM
Hey Anvart, thx for this.

@jeff
I do not completely agree S3D has dumbed down people. S3D helped speed up mod development and made it more accessible for sure for the mass. But it has not taken away the fact that if you want to do cool and/or advanced stuff, you have to dive deeper into the matter (no pun intended). And usually only a handfull of people will actually try and/or have the capacity to do the more difficult stuff. S3D or no S3D.

So yea Anvart, with (new) stuff like this (even though it may not appear to be that hard in the long run) 99% click away from this thread directly. Don't feel discouraged by this, there's always someone that will appreciate it.

PS: Before run S3D you can delete Controllers.dll and Controllers.dll.cache from user's ..\skwas\S3D_Asm\...\S3D\ folder.
S3D 'should' automatically recompile the DLL/cache if changes are made to CS-files in the controllers folder.

skwasjer
06-21-11, 05:12 PM
Mirror: http://s3d.skwas.com/redist/S3D_v099 AnimatedTexture controller by Anvart.rar

Anvart
06-22-11, 03:23 AM
Hey Anvart, thx for this.
...
So yea Anvart, with (new) stuff like this (even though it may not appear to be that hard in the long run) 99% click away from this thread directly. Don't feel discouraged by this, there's always someone that will appreciate it.
...
Thank you, master, for your support ... and many thanks you for S3D through which I can show to all what I mean... and what i want to say... :rotfl2:

S3D 'should' automatically recompile the DLL/cache if changes are made to CS-files in the controllers folder.
When editing of *.cs files, this does not always happen.

Hans Witteman
06-30-11, 01:33 AM
Hi Anvart,

Fantastic work my friend i was despair to have this to work in s3d and you did it kudos mate:Kaleun_Thumbs_Up:

This will make my water in compartment flooding just the way i want it:Kaleun_Applaud:

And i have a lot of ideas on how to use it and where, you make my day mate.

Best regards Hans

Anvart
06-30-11, 05:28 AM
Remember, Hans, my friend.
Type of mesh must be 2 !!! or 4.
IIRC, controller don't work with Type of mesh 6 or higher...

Goodluck. :D

Tomi_099
06-30-11, 07:20 AM
Hello I need a little inspiration Anvart with animation and controllers,:03:
and I believe you that you have. !
I work almost 2years in these type II Engin / Interior-and I'm a little tired because almost the entire
Modify interior. A little help and inspiration I could use.

Will you be there? :hmmm:

Type II is not afraid of tomorrow Engin not ready! :yawn:

Hans Witteman
06-30-11, 01:38 PM
Remember, Hans, my friend.
Type of mesh must be 2 !!! or 4.
IIRC, controller don't work with Type of mesh 6 or higher...

Goodluck. :D

Hi Anvart,

Ok so you mean it won't work on type 1 mesh?

In a word we cannot have it on an already animated mesh object.

If so it won't work on my animated water flooding but it will be great for other stuff i have in mind like card board real fire animation and water splash effect and explosion.

Best regards Hans

Anvart
06-30-11, 01:52 PM
Hi, Hans.
IIRC, in SH3 are used 0, 2, 4, 6, 14 types of mesh... for different purpose.
For mesh animation uses type 2 of mesh as standard...
IIRC, i have tested 0, 2, 4, 6 and 14 types of mesh... with 6 and 14 controller did not work.
You can change type of mesh for 3D model in S3D very easy. :03:

P.S.
I think, when you speak about Type = 1 you speak about type of chunk with mesh (model) data... it's not type of mesh...
And, look material.dat, may be you can use the controller there.

Anvart
06-30-11, 02:05 PM
Hello I need a little inspiration Anvart with animation and controllers,:03:
and I believe you that you have. !
I work almost 2years in these type II Engin / Interior-and I'm a little tired because almost the entire
Modify interior. A little help and inspiration I could use.

Will you be there? :hmmm:

Type II is not afraid of tomorrow Engin not ready! :yawn:
Sorry, Tomi... now i'm very far from SH. :timeout:

Tomi_099
06-30-11, 03:48 PM
Sorry, Tomi... now i'm very far from SH. :timeout:


I very much regret, :shucks: but also bestow on us with valuable tools :woot:


Keep it up, much success! :up:

Hans Witteman
07-01-11, 12:08 AM
Hi, Hans.
IIRC, in SH3 are used 0, 2, 4, 6, 14 types of mesh... for different purpose.
For mesh animation uses type 2 of mesh as standard...
IIRC, i have tested 0, 2, 4, 6 and 14 types of mesh... with 6 and 14 controller did not work.
You can change type of mesh for 3D model in S3D very easy. :03:

P.S.
I think, when you speak about Type = 1 you speak about type of chunk with mesh (model) data... it's not type of mesh...
And, look material.dat, may be you can use the controller there.

Hi Anvart,

Ok i understand now so i can used it the way i was thinking of first:Kaleun_Wink:
Good work again mate.

Best regards Hans

DivingDuck
07-12-11, 04:55 PM
Moin Anvart,

many thanks for your efforts, my friend. I´ve made use of your new addition to S3D. Check this thread: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showpost.php?p=1703254&postcount=151

Regards,
DD

skwasjer
07-13-11, 08:11 PM
Very nice!

Anvart
07-15-11, 03:05 PM
Moin Anvart,

many thanks for your efforts, my friend. I´ve made use of your new addition to S3D. Check this thread: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showpost.php?p=1703254&postcount=151

Regards,
DD
Excellent, Stefan.
I did not doubt in your creativity.

Anvart
07-18-11, 12:23 PM
I hope some modders already have tried AnimatedTexture controller.
Now I added a bit of the headache for you... TexUnit property is added to this controller. :haha:
You now have a full version of this controller.
See the first post in this thread.

:salute:

Hans Witteman
07-25-11, 05:58 AM
:yawn:


With this addition, you can animate selectively or basic texture or additional texture (in Type 13 material - as AO/LightMap, BumpMap and so on).



Hi Anvart,

Can you clarify animate selectively or basic texture mean?

Thank for updating this controller and also is there any tiles limit the controller can handle?

Best regards Hans

Anvart
07-25-11, 08:34 AM
Hi Anvart,

Can you clarify animate selectively or basic texture mean?

http://img121.imageshack.us/img121/9457/texunits.jpg

...
and also is there any tiles limit the controller can handle?

Best regards Hans
Everything has a beginning and an end ... especially in this game.
My task is to give you the opportunity to experiment ... right?

Hans Witteman
07-26-11, 05:22 AM
http://img121.imageshack.us/img121/9457/texunits.jpg


Everything has a beginning and an end ... especially in this game.
My task is to give you the opportunity to experiment ... right?

Hi Anvart,

Thank for that sweet explanation:Kaleun_Salute:

By the way do you think it could be possible to also have the textureAnimationData?

Just asking because it would be handy for some FX i have in mind.

This controller have the capability to used frame animation texture just like meshanimation do with mesh.

Testing all the new FX is long and painful processs i wish we had a program to play with particle system in real time.

Best regards Hans

urfisch
07-26-11, 05:40 AM
Hi Anvart,

Thank for that sweet explanation:Kaleun_Salute:

By the way do you think it could be possible to also have the textureAnimationData?

Just asking because it would be handy for some FX i have in mind.

This controller have the capability to used frame animation texture just like meshanimation do with mesh.

Testing all the new FX is long and painful processs i wish we had a program to play with particle system in real time.

Best regards Hans

the goblin editor allows you to change the particle system in real time...but storing the values must be done in s3d.

DivingDuck
08-01-11, 02:41 PM
Moin Anvart,

back from holidays to find a new update. That´s great. I will give it a try and see whether I can find something to use it on.

Regards,
DD