PDA

View Full Version : A couple of questions

SkyBaron
04-13-10, 03:40 PM
Hi, I'm new to DW and subsims in general and I have a few questions.

This is more related to RL subs, how do modern subs get the depth under keel reading? Do they use something like an Echolot or maybe an ocean depth database? I'm guessing that the sound pulse of an Echolot would give away their position.

On DW, is there a way to reduce the underwater water visibility around the sub or is it a hardcoded value?

TLAM Strike
04-13-10, 03:48 PM
Modern subs do have fathometers, in fact some Nuc boats have one pointing upwards to check for ice. Fathometers are highly directional and low powered, so unless another sub is below the sub it won't hear the ping. Subs also have huge assortments of charts to navigate by for when they can't take soundings.

I think that the sonar operators can tell decern the features of the ocean floor based on the ambient nose and how it echos off the terrain.

SkyBaron
04-14-10, 08:24 AM
Thanks for the answer TLAM, that makes sense.

Kapitan
04-28-10, 02:32 PM
In responce to the see through water thing check the options under game graphics or settings some where along them lines, im pretty sure its in there some where.

MrHonk
06-13-10, 04:56 AM
I'd like some more questions concerning DW:

I've never seen a splash occuring from subsurface detonations in DW. Aren't they implemented in the sim?

As far as I understand target illumination radars they point at the target all the time when engaged and continuously illuminted the target (CWI). So it is not a pulse they send, right? Thus the illuminated vessel's EW should be able to detect the source quite easily.
I've never encountered a continuous signal in DW. Is the sim regarding this point not designed correctly or are target illumination radars pulsed too?