View Full Version : [TEC] Adding Playable Units
keltos01
03-23-10, 04:33 PM
First of all you need to copy the following files (here the Narwhal will be used as a template) :
http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/6339/tutovr.jpg (http://img13.imageshack.us/i/tutovr.jpg/)
f you need help, let us know, I'm sure there are several that would be available including myself.
Since you are familiar with some of this I will try a condensed version.
Set up a folder to make a MOD with Data folder inside. And I will list the files you need.
1. Find a sub that is similar in number of tubes, guns etc so it will be that much easier to do. I'll use Porpoise, you can follow the directions using any other sub. Create the same folder structure as where the files come from.
2. Data/Submarine/NSS_Porpoise....copy the entire folder.
3. Data/Roster/American/Submarine/SSPorpoise.cfg
4, Data/Menu/Data/SubmarineClasses/P_Class_01.dds
5. Data/UPCData/UPCUnitsData/Unitparts2Porpoise.upc
6. Data/Objects/Conning_P_01.dat, .sim, .val, .cam, .zon
That should do it for copying files.
Now editing:
One major thing to remember is the classname must match in each file they are in.
Start with Data/Roster/American/Submarine/SSPorpoise.cfg
[UnitClass]
ClassName=SSPorpoise Very Important
UnitType=200 200=submarine, leave it
AppearanceDate=19350815 change if necessary
DisappearanceDate=19451115
DisplayName=US Porpoise Change
[Texture 1]
TextureName=data/Submarine/NSS_Porpoise/NSS_Pclass_T01.tga
LightmapTextureName=data/Submarine/NSS_Porpoise/NSS_Pclass_O01.tga
StartDate=19350815
EndDate=19430512
Frequency=1
Change the info in green and continue if there is a second texture, reset dates as needed.
Below this is the names used for the subs in that class, you can have one or as many as you want.
[Unit 1]
Name=USS Porpoise
DOC=19350815
DOD=19451115
[Unit 2]
Name=USS Pike
DOC=19351202
DOD=19451115
************************************************** *******
I have to leave for a while, will complete when I return
Peabody
please bear with me as I am trying to remake the part of the original tutorial deleted by Mykhail.
keltos
keltos01
03-23-10, 04:33 PM
[QUOTE=peabody;1330657]If you need help, let us know, I'm sure there are several that would be available including myself.
Since you are familiar with some of this I will try a condensed version.
Set up a folder to make a MOD with Data folder inside. And I will list the files you need.
1. Find a sub that is similar in number of tubes, guns etc so it will be that much easier to do. I'll use Porpoise, you can follow the directions using any other sub. Create the same folder structure as where the files come from.
2. Data/Submarine/NSS_Porpoise....copy the entire folder.
3. Data/Roster/American/Submarine/SSPorpoise.cfg
4, Data/Menu/Data/SubmarineClasses/P_Class_01.dds
5. Data/UPCData/UPCUnitsData/Unitparts2Porpoise.upc
6. Data/Objects/Conning_P_01.dat, .sim, .val, .cam, .zon
That should do it for copying files.
Now editing:
One major thing to remember is the classname must match in each file they are in.
Start with Data/Roster/American/Submarine/SSPorpoise.cfg change the filename to SSCachalot.cfg
[UnitClass]
ClassName=SSCachalot Very Important
UnitType=200 200=submarine, leave it
AppearanceDate=19350815 change if necessary
DisappearanceDate=19451115
DisplayName=US Cachalot Change
[Texture 1]
TextureName=data/Submarine/NSS_Cachalot/NSS_Cachalotclass_T01.tga
LightmapTextureName=data/Submarine/NSS_Cachalot/NSS_Cachalot_O01.tga
StartDate=19350815
EndDate=19430512
Frequency=1
Change the info in green and continue if there is a second texture, reset dates as needed.
Below this is the names used for the subs in that class, you can have one or as many as you want.
[Unit 1]
Name=USS MYboat
DOC=19350815
DOD=19451115
[Unit 2]
Name=USS Pike
DOC=19351202
DOD=19451115
************************************************** *******
I have to leave for a while, will complete when I return
************************************************** ***
Ok, let's go to the Data/Menu/Data/SubmarineClasses/P_Class_01.dds
Change to Cachalot_Class_01.dds Later you can change the actual .dds image.
************************************************** ******
Next: Data/UPCData/UPCUnitsData/Unitparts2Porpoise.upc
change to Unitparts8Cachalot.upc You not only have to change the name you also have to change the number to the next number in line. Since the stock game has 7 I am using 8. NOTE: if you have other subs in there and get to high, 1 and 10 will conflict with each other so one sub will not have a tower.
Open the Unitparts8Cachalot.upc with notepad:
[UnitPart 1]
ID=CachalotClassConningEarlyWar
Type= CachalotClassConningTower
NameDisplayable= Start of war Conning Tower
UnitPartInterval=NULL, NULL
ExternalLinkName3D= data/objects/Conning_Cachalot_01
HullTextureNameOverride=data/Submarine/NSS_Cachalot/NSS_Cachalotclass_T01.tga
HullLightmapTextureNameOverride=data/Submarine/NSS_Cachalot/NSS_Cachalotclass_O01.tga
HullNormalmapTextureNameOverride= NULL
MenuSilhouetteTextureNameOverride= Cachalot_Class_01.tga
change the Porpoise and P to Cachalot.
Below that will be Compartments, you can rename the compartments ID using Cachalot instead of Porpoise
[UnitPart 1.Compartment 1]
CompartmentType= 1
StatusActive= Yes
ID= CachalotConnWatch
This file may contain more than one tower, which the Porpoise does. If your tower will not change then delete the other towers which will be [UnitPart 2] etc.
************************************************** *************
Now Data/Objects/Conning_P_01.dat, .sim, .val, .cam, .zon
change filenames as before, replace the P with Cachalot for each file.
Now you need S3D.
1. Open the Conning_Cachalot_01.dat
2. Using the button at the top open the .sim, .val, .cam .zon on top of each other.
3. If we don't change the IDs of these entries they could conflict with others so we will remap them.
4. Go to the Menu/Tools/RemapIDs a window opens.
5. Click the "Random" button....only this one time DO NOT CLICK THE RANDOM BUTTON AGAIN.
6. Click OK
7. File SAVE
8. File Close
9. Now the .zon file will close and you are at another window.
10. Select Tools/RemapIDs DO NOT CLICK RANDOM.
11. Click OK
12 File Save
14 File close
repeat for each of the windows then close S3D. Remember ONLY CLICK RANDOM ON THE FIRST WINDOW.
************************************************** ****************
Now to Data/Submarine/NSS_Porpoise
Change the folder name. Then go inside and change the filenames.
Now since you just did it for the tower, we will do the .dat, .sim, .zon, .val, .cam, .dsd. Notice there is one more here the .dsd. It contains the sounds so you do not need it in the tower also.
Open .dat then use the buttons at the top right and open all of them.
1. Tools/RemapIds
2. Click Random
3 Click OK
4. File Save
5. File Close
6. Tools/RemapIDs
7. Do NOT click Random
8. Click OK
9. File Save
10. File close
Rinse and Repeat....Remembering to only click random the first time.
When you are done, close S3D.
Open the NSS_Cachalot.cfg.
[Unit]
ClassName=SSCachalot
3DModelFileName=data/Submarine/NSS_Cachalot/NSS_Cachalot
HumanPlayable=YES
Interior=data/Interior/NSS_Porpoise/NSS_Porpoise
UnitType=200
MaxSpeed=19
MaxSpeedSubmerged=8
Length=91.7448
Width=7.601
RenownAwarded=130
Do not change the Interior since there is no Cachalot interior.
Change any necessary data. As you go down you will find data such as Surface depth and others. Remember that is in there since it will be in the Cachalot.sim file also, so they should match.
Save
Open the NSS_Cachalot.upc with notepad.
[UserPlayerUnit 1]
ID=Porpoise
NameDisplayable=Porpoise
UnitName= USS Porpoise
Type=Porpoise
UpgradeClass=1
UnitInterval= 1935-08-15, 1945-11-15
ExternalClassName=SSPorpoise
Nationality=American
CrewRanks=12
Evolution= Normal
Damage= 0
TextureName=data/Submarine/NSS_Porpoise/NSS_Pclass_T01.tga
LightmapTextureName=data/Submarine/NSS_Porpoise/NSS_Pclass_O01.tga
NormalmapTextureName= NULL
MenuSilhouetteTextureName= P_Class_01.tga
[UserPlayerUnit 1.UnitPartSlot 1]
ID=PorpoiseConningSlot
NameDisplayable=Conning Tower Slot
Type=NULL
AcceptedTypes=PClassConningTower
IDLinkUnitPartIntervalDefault1= NULL, 1942-07-31, PClassConningEarlyWar
IDLinkUnitPartIntervalDefault2= 1942-08-01, 1943-05-31, PClassConningHalfCut
IDLinkUnitPartIntervalDefault3= 1943-06-01, NULL, PClassConningLateWar
ExternalNodeName3D= Z01
Again change the names of Porpoise and P to Cachalot.
Notice the UnitPartSlot 1 is the tower and there are three listed with dates. If your sub only has one then delete the other two or put semicolons ; in front of the line so the computer will ignore them. (marked in yellow above)
Now you can continue down to the "Compartments" and change the IDs like you did in the tower.
[UserPlayerUnit 1.Compartment 1]
CompartmentType= 1
StatusActive= Yes
ID= CachalotSternTorpedo
Now if I didn't mess something up, you should have a working sub. Then you can go to the subs .dat file and put in your 3D model, and make other changes that may be necessary. Before doing any more changes though, enable the MOD and see if it works at least in a single mission.
The info Keltos gave here below shows how to add it to the Campaign.
Peabody
keltos01
03-23-10, 04:35 PM
tuto last part :
[QUOTE]Now go to UPCDataGe\UPCCampaignData and open Flotilla.upc with your notepad :
copy paste one of the units' data :
[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1]
ID= F1IXD2
NameDisplayable= Type IX-D2 U-boat
AvailabilityInterval= NULL, NULL
IDLinkUserPlayerUnitType= IXD2
UnitTypeCommonality= 10 ; to be used when a random choice is assigned
IDFlotillaLinkTransferTo= NULL
[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 3]<-change the unit number according to the number of subs in game : here it's the third one
ID= F1Newsub1 <-change
NameDisplayable= Type Newsub 1 U-boat <-change
AvailabilityInterval= NULL, NULL
IDLinkUserPlayerUnitType= Newsub1 <-change
UnitTypeCommonality= 10 ; to be used when a random choice is assigned
IDFlotillaLinkTransferTo= NULL
save
go a bit down and you'll see this :
[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 1]
ID= MB11OBj1
NameDisplayable= NULL
AvailabilityInterval=1943-04-01, 1943-06-15
ObjectiveCode= China-Sea
[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 2]
ID= MB11OBj2.......
copy paste all missions (9 normally)
change the Unit number to your Newsub1 number, which here is number 3 :
[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 3.Objective 1]
ID= MB11OBj1
NameDisplayable= NULL
AvailabilityInterval=1943-04-01, 1943-06-15
ObjectiveCode= China-Sea
[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 3.Objective 2]
ID= MB11OBj2.......
save and exit
now open CareerStart.upc
you'll see 4 flotilla files:
[CareerStart 1.Flotilla 1]
ID= C1Flotilla1
NameDisplayable= Penang
IDLinkFlotilla= Penang ; link to ID in Flotilla upc file
IDLinkUserPlayerUnits= F1IXD2, 1, F1XVIII, 1
FlotillaBriefingText=
FlotillaCommonality= 1
Add your ship to each one, do this for all careerStart( 1943, 1944, 1945) :
[CareerStart 1.Flotilla 1]
ID= C1Flotilla1
NameDisplayable= Penang
IDLinkFlotilla= Penang ; link to ID in Flotilla upc file
IDLinkUserPlayerUnits= F1IXD2, 1, F1XVIII, 1, F1Newsub1, 1 <--add
FlotillaBriefingText=
FlotillaCommonality= 1
save and exit, implement using JSGME, you should be able to start a campaign with your NewSub1 from Penang now.
keltos01
03-24-10, 08:22 AM
updated posts with Peabody's help
jokerl90
03-24-10, 07:33 PM
Disclaimer: This is for my own personal use. I would not release as my own work or release without permission of original mod maker. If I'm stepping on someone's toes by doing this, please let me know.
VM made a mod named Mini Surface Campaign v0.85 ( Awesome! :yeah:)
Its a career campaign using playable surface ships. In the mod is a Fletcher DD that I love. (yes...I said it). I have added 7 more torp tudes to it, it's not invincible, but it kicks butt!
I wanted to make it a mod in itself but have a problem. It will show up in game but it only has the playable 5" gun mount and also some of the crew are missing.
What I have done is take the Fletcher folder and put it in the new mod's submarine folder and then taken files and folders from the original mod to fill out the needed folders for the new mod.
Looking at the model preview using S3D, all the nodes are there for the other gun mounts and AA mounts.
Does anyone have ideas of what I missed?
peabody
03-24-10, 10:47 PM
Disclaimer: This is for my own personal use. I would not release as my own work or release without permission of original mod maker. If I'm stepping on someone's toes by doing this, please let me know.
VM made a mod named Mini Surface Campaign v0.85 ( Awesome! :yeah:)
Its a career campaign using playable surface ships. In the mod is a Fletcher DD that I love. (yes...I said it). I have added 7 more torp tudes to it, it's not invincible, but it kicks butt!
I wanted to make it a mod in itself but have a problem. It will show up in game but it only has the playable 5" gun mount and also some of the crew are missing.
What I have done is take the Fletcher folder and put it in the new mod's submarine folder and then taken files and folders from the original mod to fill out the needed folders for the new mod.
Looking at the model preview using S3D, all the nodes are there for the other gun mounts and AA mounts.
Does anyone have ideas of what I missed?
YUP, you missed some of the guns and some of the crew.:know: 'cause it says so right here:
it only has the playable 5" gun mount and also some of the crew are missing.:har:
How else do you answer a member named Joker??
You probably missed some files, but with the information given it is hard to tell what. It may link to guns that you don't have, or you don't have the files to make the link. The other guns should be listed by cfg# in the Fletchers.eqp file. Check that. For example an A01 node should be listed in the .dat file nodes and an entry listed in the .eqp file for what gun is at that location.
VM PMed me a while ago, so I have that file and I wll take a quick look. Just from a quick look try adding the
Data/Library/ShipParts
and
Data/Library/USSubParts
and
Data/UPCData/UPCUnitsdata (entire folder)
to your mod and see what happens. He has renamed a LOT of stuff in there, so it may not work with the stock game. It may only work with his mod since he overwrites a LOT of the stuff with his specific files. And the other ships in his mod probably use those new files, but the ones in stock will not.
And just for information: in the future start a new thread with your questions since very few will see it if it is buried inside another thread.
If all else fails, PM the original author. VM.
But let me know how you make out.
Peabody
jokerl90
03-25-10, 06:35 AM
YUP, you missed some of the guns and some of the crew.:know: 'cause it says so right here:
Quote:
it only has the playable 5" gun mount and also some of the crew are missing.
:har:
How else do you answer a member named Joker??
Good answer :haha:
Thanks for the reply, it gives me a place to start looking.
Understand about the new thread, saw this thread and since it seemed to be related I posted on spur of the moment.
Any way, thanks again :salute:
keltos01
04-12-10, 04:06 AM
I have added 7 more torp tudes to it, it's not invincible, but it kicks butt!
so how many total ?
do they show in the periscope /uzo-TDC /attack map view ?
if so please post your modifications here : which file, what's added etc...
thanks
keltos
jokerl90
04-12-10, 07:09 PM
"so how many total?" 8 total, all forward. (the real fletcher had 10 in 2 rotating mounts midships)
"do they show in the periscope /uzo-TDC /attack map view ?" Yes!
"if so please post your modifications here : which file, what's added etc..."
(I just got home from along day at work. I wanted to answer you asap. Here is the quick answer in a link below. I will be very happy to post detailed instructions in a few days or this weekend if needed.):salute:
this thread could answer your questions
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=160950
Many thanks to VM for this great ship and to franta for his excellent reply to my questions!
keltos01
09-26-10, 07:31 AM
bump
keltos01
12-10-10, 01:41 PM
bump
keltos01
02-02-11, 07:09 AM
Bump
the moderators should replace the link in the "popular mods, tools etc.." of Mykhail's tutorial on how to add playable units with this one , since he remove the contents from his posts in his thread.... :nope:
keltos
chrysanthos
03-20-11, 04:21 AM
whoa slow down....let me get this...is this step by step creating playble ship and career?
polyfiller
03-22-11, 01:33 PM
Well it get's the basics done ... but damage control and many other features will be problematic. Maybe do some reading & learning and then come join us on the TSWSM project so we can get it finished and then you'll have more playable ships than you can shake a stick at.
LtzS_Petersen
03-30-11, 07:53 AM
Edit.
Good Information b.t.w., will check my Files with that. Thx!
[QUOTE=jokerl90;1332432]Disclaimer: This is for my own personal use. I would not release as my own work or release without permission of original mod maker. If I'm stepping on someone's toes by doing this, please let me know.
VM made a mod named Mini Surface Campaign v0.85 ( Awesome! :yeah:)
Its a career campaign using playable surface ships. In the mod is a Fletcher DD that I love...
Hi, I had "Mini Surface Campaign" also times and it's really good, especially the "Cleveland". Unfortunately, I deleted the file by mistake. Could you send me the mod again, or you know where to get it?
jokerl90
08-06-11, 08:52 AM
Sorry, I no longer have it either. Hopefully someone else can help you out.
I can send you the Cleveland and or the Fletcher DD with torps
chrysanthos
09-17-11, 12:04 PM
one question...is this how to create surface ships too?
chrysanthos
09-18-11, 01:10 PM
boy my heart beats very fast:) i could try this and maybe i can create something...no matter i have downloaded 5 3d programs with no success about making a ship from scratch...
comotoasty
09-18-11, 02:40 PM
boy my heart beats very fast:) i could try this and maybe i can create something...no matter i have downloaded 5 3d programs with no success about making a ship from scratch...
I have s3d also, I have been unsuccessful in making my own ships as well. I have been able to make small adjustments though.
I would like to make playable ships and a surface campaign.
keltos01
10-02-11, 12:52 AM
bump!!
sidslotm
10-02-11, 12:43 PM
Nice tutorial Keltos,
thanks.
http://img846.imageshack.us/img846/2107/formerit.jpg
chrysanthos
11-13-11, 01:21 PM
this could be a long way to create fuso.....but if i do it step by step from this tutorial should work? what are you masters think?
chrysanthos
11-16-11, 07:44 AM
i dont think i am going to make it to work:wah: oh well....anyway i want to apologize for my behavior the last months and i mean about complaining and others...from now on i will sit quietly and just observe...sorry everyone but thats me:-?
chrysanthos
11-16-11, 03:42 PM
looks like i have to go up on a mountain full of landmines and barbwire.....
chrysanthos
09-16-12, 07:42 AM
hmmm i think i got it .....i think....anyway my question is if i want to make a japanese light cruiser or heavy it is the same procedure? and this will work on sigle missions and patrols too? or only campaighns? thanks
chrysanthos
09-16-12, 08:00 AM
oh and almost forgot!! i want to make it playble for german side.....
chrysanthos
09-17-12, 12:52 PM
yeah ok...dont reply back....you see if i care...
Madox58
09-17-12, 04:36 PM
Could be no one has an answer for you.
:hmmm:
polyfiller
09-18-12, 08:06 AM
yes it is possible to make a Jap ship playable in capmaign or single missions.
There are different files whcih need modifying in [data.upcdatage] rather than [data.upcdat] for US / allied ships. Same filenames, different directories.
Oh and you also need the UBoat add on to be able to play non allied ships / subs.
It might be worth pulling together this interest plus the work Karl is doing into a concerted effort to complete the TSWSM. I have revived my work (damn hard - had forgotten so much) ..... this invlolves around 35 playable ships (both allied & axis) and is based as an add on to the Ops Monsoon mod - so I didn't have to re-create all the campaign data for European theatre of operations.
Anyone interested in beta testing and contributing, please see the TSWSM thread.
chrysanthos
09-18-12, 04:01 PM
oh boy:D i was laughing about an hour then i realised i ruined the game files...i try to convert the NCL Naka light cruiser to playble with the IXD2 sub for german side....i just get so much easily frustrated then i was really screw the game up....oh man thats way too hard then i expected so i give up....no more.....i will erase the damn game with all i have download so far and simply cry......there is nothing left i can do
I can upload unmodified Naka for you, if you want.
Cdp44
chrysanthos
09-19-12, 05:31 AM
for german side? yes please tomas....i dont know what to do without you:/
I meant the non-playable version that is in Data/Sea folder. Iīve never done a ship for german side. And probably never will, sorry.
But I can give you some advices. Most important one is, never make changes to the original ship, copy the entire folder, in this case NCL_Naka, somewhere, either to a temporary location, or better still to Data/Submarine, thatīs how I do it. Then you edit this copy. This way you do not affect the game.
Best way to learn this is to compare playable ship and its non-playable counterpart, just open them in s3d. In my ships I labeled entries in *.sim, *.dsd and *.val, so you will see what connects to what.
Cdp44
sidslotm
09-19-12, 11:43 AM
Hi and thanks for this Keltos
I was wondering if it would be possible to use this tutorial and place more than one U class boat in a British campaign. The Brits built a few of these boats, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_U_class_submarine .
The idea would be to reflect small improvements made throughout the war to speed and depth etc.
Thanks to Keltos and Peabody
iyiskipper
08-05-13, 10:09 AM
thank you Sir, this is what I have been needing to make sense of it all.
now if I can just figure out to add meshes into the game were in good shape.
jet ski mod here I come...
<edit>
I have made a TemplateMod by following this tutorial, For those of you who wish to just simply jump in
to converting/editing your new ship without having to follow this mod from scratch or would simply like to have a template
to reference to this specific tutorial for the benefit of learning how it was done, I have uploaded the mod to Sendspace.
Download Link --> Get TemplateMod (http://www.sendspace.com/file/7dfjvs)
when you get to sendspace click the link at the Bottom that looks like this:
----- > http://i44.tinypic.com/eqxd7q.jpg
there are misleading "Download here" Ads there to mislead people to download something else.
TheGreatElector
05-22-14, 05:08 PM
It does not work, all it does is crash :/\\!! and i have Note pad++
TheGreatElector
05-28-14, 04:48 PM
Is there a eazyer tutorial out there?
keltos01
04-28-16, 09:39 AM
this is easy as it gets !!!! :hmmm:
TheGreatElector
07-26-16, 07:33 AM
it's kinda confusing
keltos01
04-01-17, 03:41 AM
bump for all to use !!
vBulletin® v3.8.11, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.