PDA

View Full Version : DDG-sim

Hawk66
02-21-10, 09:34 AM
Hi,

since I think that there will be no DDG/FFG sim in the next years (like DW), I want to create my own...even if it will take many years and might not have any 3D/station graphics.

The toughest part for me in the beginning is actually the movement of such a naval vessel. For example I need to develop algorithms, which take currents, wind etc. into account (physics).

Since I am a complete newbie in this area: Can anybody point me to easy-understandable resources? I do not strive for perfection in this area...but I would like to have a similar quality like DW here.

Thanks~

Deamon
02-22-10, 06:32 AM
You joking ?

Since I am a complete newbie in this area: Can anybody point me to easy-understandable resources? I do not strive for perfection in this area...but I would like to have a similar quality like DW here.

Before i even consider to answere any of your question i would like to ask on what other development relevant areas are you a newb as well, besides physics ?

Hawk66
02-23-10, 01:54 PM
Sure I have development skills. But it is probably not uncommon that you usually do not know how to model the physics of naval vessels, isn't it? At least I have not learned this during my studies and school :O:.

As I have already mentioned, my goal is not to develop a DDG sim with 2D stations and a 3D view like DW...just a tactical simulator with NTDS symbols - at least in the beginning.
I have more interest in crew interaction, AI and procedural content generation (mission generator) than graphics.

Chad
02-23-10, 10:16 PM
Hey Hawk,

Any ideas on what engine you'll be using?

With today's technology, I'd strive past the 2d screens like DW and go more for the 3d approach, especially with the crew interaction. That's something I've been striving for on my project..

Game makings a long and educational trip, get ready :sunny:

Deamon
02-24-10, 01:50 AM