PDA

View Full Version : A New Subsim?

avenger1romeo
12-13-09, 04:41 AM
This may not be the right place for this but,

I watched a friend play DW a few years ago for about 5 minutes, got bored and walked away. Later, I started playing the Silent Hunter Sims and fell in love with the Sub Sim world. However, Silent Hunter revolves around WW2 and doesn't venture out into more modern submarine eras.

That being said, other than DW is there any newer modern subsims out here similar to Silent Hunter, or am I stuck trying to track down a copy of DW and try to figure that game out?

Hitman
12-13-09, 05:27 AM
You are stuck if you mean major commercial projects, like the SH series.

There's hop though in terms of indie developers. Take a look at Dr Sid's evolving simulator at C&C forums (http://www.commanders-academy.com/), you will like it. Only problem is that it will still take a long time to be completed.

Bartolomeus
12-13-09, 01:37 PM
Yes, Dr. Sid`s Community SubSim is awesome! Cant wait for the next release!

Blacklight
12-14-09, 12:11 AM
I would reccomend giving Dangerous Waters another shot. It DOES have a learning curve, but it's a fantastic game. Especially with mods like the LWAMI and RA mods. (Besides, That game is one of two modern subsim options and it's the newer of the two)
I never get board playing it. You can't just watch someone else play it and get an idea of what the game is really like. Dangeous Waters is like a Chess game. It's more cerebral (just like real submarine commanding is). Just like you simply cannot get a true feel for Chess by watching someone play, you can't get a proper feel for Dangerous Waters or games like it without playing.

Yeah, so Dangerous Waters doesn't have the same graphics ability that Silent Hunter III and IV have, but you don't need them. DW is more of a true simulation. You should be stareing at the sonar and TMA panels most of the time. Looking outside at the 3D graphics is cheating. :DL