PDA

View Full Version : Looking for The Voice of Experience...

Briney
08-01-09, 07:36 PM
I posted this on the SH4 Forum... no results. So I am trying here... [I am currently a Brand New 'Boot' in SH4]

I am looking for comments on the game "Dangerous Waters", from those that have played BOTH SH4 and DW, please. I'm quite new to these games and only recently found out about DW. It 'sounds' interesting, although the True Squids I know [that retired from the Silent Service] suggest that a game made of Attack Boat sensors, while intriguing, is not likely to be as 'entertaining' as SH4...with both undersea and surface activity. Without getting into too many details I *retired* from Sea Service THIRTY TWO years ago and now lack the 'quick eval' capability for a flight game; that's why I'm here.

It's not the cost, rather the 'is it entertaining as well as time filling'...?

Thanks for putting up with a pretty crusty Salt...

SwordfishCrew
08-01-09, 11:26 PM
Welcome the forum!

I have played DW/SH3/SH4. So I will pass on some comments.

SH4, as you know, is in the WW2 era. Nice graphics and a good campaign engine. Game consists mainly of hunting down convoys and sinking as much as you can. With some photo recon missions thrown in.

Different sub types are available and newer equipment becomes available during the game. Multi player is there, mostly wolf pack against convoy type of play. I tried Multi Player and did not like it, game is much too slow without the time compression you have in single player.

All in all not a bad game. I played it for a while then, for me, it became repetitive.