Log in

View Full Version : Change gun...


Bulkhead
05-20-09, 03:29 PM
Is it a way to change the deck guns with aa-guns??

NEON DEON
05-21-09, 01:25 PM
Is it a way to change the deck guns with aa-guns??

Yes you can do that.

First comes the upgradepacks.upc file located in the Data/UPCData/UPCUnitsData folder:

UPC files open with notepad.

Indentify how many packs in your version of game

In 1.4 there are 29.

Say you want to have Single40s in both deck gun slots.

Add this upgrade pack at the end of the Upgradepacks.upc file in 1.4 for example:

-------------------------------------------------------------------

[UpgradePack 30]
ID= Upack40mmSingleDouble
NameDisplayable= 40mm AA Gun (Bow and Stern)
FunctionalType= UpFTypeWeaponFlak
UpgradePackSlotType= USDeckGunAdv
Type=NULL
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptionCurrent= NULL, NULL, 0
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions1= 1945-01-01, NULL, 2000
IDLinkUpgradePackElements= 40mmSingleUS, 40mmSingleUS

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Note that the Upgradepack is 30 because the last one in the game before it was 29. If that is different in your version you will have to change the number to match it.


Step two:

Now you have to get them on the sub.

Go to Data/Submarine folder and lets say we want them to go on a Balao

open the NSS_Balao.upc file with notepad.

Under the UpgradPackSlot section make sure the Colored lines read this.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

UserPlayerUnit 1.UpgradePackSlot 1]
ID= UpgSurfaceSearchRadar
NameDisplayable= Surface Search Radar
Type=NULL
AcceptedTypes=BalaoSurfaceRadars
UserCustomizable=Yes
IDLinkUpgradePackSlots= EqSlot42, EqSlot43, SurfRadarAntenna
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault1= NULL, 1943-07-01, UpackBalaoSJRadar
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault2= 1943-07-01, NULL, UpackBalaoSJ1Radar
[UserPlayerUnit 1.UpgradePackSlot 2]
ID= UpgAirSearchRadar
NameDisplayable= Air Search Radar
Type=NULL
AcceptedTypes=AirRadars, AdvAirRadars
UserCustomizable=Yes
IDLinkUpgradePackSlots= EqSlot33, AirRadarAntenna
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault1= NULL, 1943-03-11, UpackGatoSDRadar
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault2= 1943-03-11, 1945-08-01, UpackGatoImpSDRadar
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault3= 1945-08-02, NULL, UpackGatoSVRadar
[UserPlayerUnit 1.UpgradePackSlot 3]
ID= UpgDeckGun
NameDisplayable= Deck Gun
Type=NULL
AcceptedTypes=USDeckGunBasic, USDeckGunAdv
UserCustomizable=Yes
IDLinkUpgradePackSlots= BowDeckGun, SternDeckGun
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault1= NULL, 1944-09-01, Upack40mmSingleDouble
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault2= 1944-09-02, NULL, Upack40mmSingleDouble

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

What you have done is made it so you have AA guns in both gun positions at the same time and they come on the Balao as default equipment in place on your sub without having to add them.

Issues:

By doing this you now have a Deckgunless sub. Inorder to fire at ships with them you will have to do it Yourself. In order for all the guns to man you can go about it two ways. You can just call battle stations and if you have crew in the gun slots they will all man the guns or if you want to do it without calling battlestations you would have to man the deck gun and man the AA guns for all guns to be ready to fire.

All the guns should now be able to target incomming aircraft when given the order to fire at will from the AA buttons.

Warning.

Dont do this from your Data folder itself.

Set it up to operate with JSGME so it will work as a mod so you do not mess up the game by accident.

If you need instructions on that just ask and I or somenone else can give you some help in setting that up.

peabody
05-21-09, 02:49 PM
Yes you can do that.
Issues:

By doing this you now have a Deckgunless sub. Inorder to fire at ships with them you will have to do it Yourself. I

There is a way around this issue, but it is almost useless with a 40mm but if you add the library/subparts/gunname.sim to the MOD and in the wpn_cannon contoller change the "Type=AAGun" to "Type=Cannon" and then add some AP ammo to it, it will fire at ships and aircraft. Don't try to go out and sink a Freghter with it, but it does work.

Usually it works best when used with a deckgun to simulate straffing the deck with the Flak gun aiming at seamen, but it will add some additional damage to the ship, but the deckgun is what he is trying to eliminate, so in this case it is not such a great idea. It would be better if it could eliminate the men manning the guns on the ship you are attacking, but I have not seen that happen.

Just a bit of useless information that someone may find a use for.

Peabody

NEON DEON
05-21-09, 06:08 PM
There is a way around this issue, but it is almost useless with a 40mm but if you add the library/subparts/gunname.sim to the MOD and in the wpn_cannon contoller change the "Type=AAGun" to "Type=Cannon" and then add some AP ammo to it, it will fire at ships and aircraft. Don't try to go out and sink a Freghter with it, but it does work.

Usually it works best when used with a deckgun to simulate straffing the deck with the Flak gun aiming at seamen, but it will add some additional damage to the ship, but the deckgun is what he is trying to eliminate, so in this case it is not such a great idea. It would be better if it could eliminate the men manning the guns on the ship you are attacking, but I have not seen that happen.

Just a bit of useless information that someone may find a use for.

Peabody

Kewl! I was trying to get that to work and couldnt figure out how to do it.

Thanks Peabody:yeah:

Bulkhead
05-24-09, 03:01 PM
Excactly where to place the #30 in the upc file i not know. I have 1.5 and my idea was to have a deckgun at the back and a twin40mm in front of the CT. The order dosent fit the others...

Bulkhead
05-24-09, 03:04 PM
Oh....sorry, was looking at the wrong file...there are 39 slots here

Bulkhead
05-24-09, 03:43 PM
It worked. Thanks:up:

Saturnalia
05-25-09, 12:26 AM
There is a way around this issue, but it is almost useless with a 40mm but if you add the library/subparts/gunname.sim to the MOD and in the wpn_cannon contoller change the "Type=AAGun" to "Type=Cannon" and then add some AP ammo to it, it will fire at ships and aircraft. Don't try to go out and sink a Freghter with it, but it does work.

Usually it works best when used with a deckgun to simulate straffing the deck with the Flak gun aiming at seamen, but it will add some additional damage to the ship, but the deckgun is what he is trying to eliminate, so in this case it is not such a great idea. It would be better if it could eliminate the men manning the guns on the ship you are attacking, but I have not seen that happen.

Just a bit of useless information that someone may find a use for.

Peabody

I believe guns were destroyable in SH3, not so in SH4. This obviously includes the crew manning them, which have never been destroyable on their own.

Bulkhead
05-29-09, 06:55 PM
So, if the crew is not destroyable.... is it not possible to kill crew that is swimming? like after a ship has been sunk?

Webster
06-20-09, 03:04 PM
bump