PDA

View Full Version : SHIII 64bit Vista installation nightmare

silentwayIII
03-24-09, 08:37 PM
Got a new system two days ago with Vista 64 bit OS already installed. I was very worried about whether or not it was going to let me load SHIII even though many of you have sucessfully loaded SHIII. I installed SHIII and got the following error message in a Protection System dialog box :

"This application can be launched with a release version of Microsoft Windows 95 OSR2.1/98/ME/NT4.0/2000/XP/Server 2003 only"

Could the version of SHIII I have been playing with for three years be too old?

In setting up for the installation I set up a folder (Games2) to install to. There were no error messages until I tried to start SHIII.

Any help on this is really appreciated!

nikimcbee
03-24-09, 08:57 PM
Is this the starforce or sans starforce version? I have had zero luck installing the starforce version on my vista 64bit.:wah:

-SWCowboy.
03-24-09, 09:01 PM
Is this the starforce or sans starforce version? I have had zero luck installing the starforce version on my vista 64bit.:wah:

x2 - going to the navy exchange tomorrow to get the non-starforce version.

64-bit is nice but it's a PITA to get some programs working... :doh:

silentwayIII
03-25-09, 12:15 AM
nikimcbee:

how can you tell if its the starforce version? If it is where/who can I purchase a non-starforce version?

Seeadler
03-25-09, 05:29 AM
Option 1:

On Vista 64bit you need the 64bit version of the StarForce drivers.
StarForce v5.5 supports both 32 and 64bit, but SHIII uses an older version and you must update the SF drivers first, to do this, use the StarForce update tool.

Instructions from the SF site: http://www.star-force.com/support/drivers/

The following should be done to update drivers:

Download the zip-archive of the SFUPDATE (http://www.star-force.com/support/sfdrvup.zip) utility.
Unpack the archive and save the sfdrvup.exe file to some folder on a hard disk.
Run sfdrvup.exe.