PDA

View Full Version : Changes

newbie124get
07-25-08, 01:16 AM
Is this correct that I hear no changes to the Dangerous Waters Database is allowed?

Now listen, i'm new to this game, I enjoy it, but there are some things I want to change. I got the DB Editor, works fine, understand it all and have gone through and changed values of weapons and ships that are just unrealistic.

I;m interested, suttle changes to the playable FFG whilst are changed and checked fine in the DB editor, do not show as being changed in the game itself, for instance when i go into the DB editor and change the carrying load of Harpoons for the FFG from 4 to 8, apply and save this back to the object.eod file, those changes dont appear in the game itself.

So... I assume that SCS has a wall up somewhere blocking those changes in the DB editor for the playable FFG from appearing in the game files themselves? yet they let the AI changed values to be represented, "example" I gave a US DDG Sunburn ASM's as a load-out, worked a treat.

Anyone shed some light on this for a newbie?

Cheers!

Dr.Sid
07-25-08, 03:29 AM
Database changes are allowed and are crucial part of already existing mods.

However .. changing playable units is more difficult. Some things, for example loadout are hard-coded in the game. While you can change speed of torpedo your ship will shoot, you can't change what torpedoes it will use.

What is not allowed is modification of the binaries, however many went over that border already, mostly for adding new playable platforms. Anyway for me the main problem lies in many small bugs which the games suffer and that would be hard to fix.

newbie124get
07-25-08, 08:54 PM