PDA

View Full Version : 3D modding, how?

WilhelmSchulz.
04-09-07, 08:40 PM
Im thinking of modifying the Conning tower in SHIV(I know this is SH3 mod shop but Im pulling all resources) Can someone help me? How do I do it. What do I need?

Letum
04-09-07, 11:38 PM
What do you allredy knopw and what experiance do you have?
What programs do you have for the task?

WilhelmSchulz.
04-10-07, 01:31 AM
What do you allredy knopw and what experiance do you have?
What programs do you have for the task?
I am a uber noob. And I have jack.

Mush Martin
04-10-07, 09:58 AM
Well as an Still noobish to an ubernoob ill tell you.

It takes patience.

First off what do you want to do to the conning tower as it matters
in which direction to give advice.

that is to say, are you intending to just paint it ?
or are you intending to move it to a sub it doesnt belong too?
or finally are you intending to reshape to model into a different
shape and by extension if so then are you intending to replace
the origianal conning tower with yours or add your conning tower
as a new type?

MM

WilhelmSchulz.
04-10-07, 11:21 AM
Well as an Still noobish to an ubernoob ill tell you.
are you intending to replace
the origianal conning tower with yours or add your conning tower
as a new type?

MM
Yes.

thefretmaster
04-10-07, 12:45 PM
ok so you want to actually make your own 3d model or modify an existing one. you will need some software (obv) i use 3ds max 7. it lacks some of the features of 3ds 8 & 9 but you dont really need them. you can buy pre-owned copies off of ebay or other sites because it is pro stuff and can cost an arm and a leg. there are ofcourse illegitimate methods of getting it but that is your decision and you wont have all the help files and stuff that you need.
there are other programs available too (probably cheaper but sh3 was made on max, dunno about 4) i dont know about these.