SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Old 10-13-06, 07:03 AM   #1
flakmonkey
Grey Wolf

Downloads: 78
Uploads: 0

Default additional interior compartments?

Ive noticed a number of mods come with new ship models, does tihs mean its possible to import your own models into sh3?
If so, is it be possible to model the missing interior compartments (ie engine/torpedo rooms etc) and import them into sh3??

since i first got sh3 ive wanted to explore the whole sub and was dissapointed that ubi only modelled the control/radio rooms.

im a 3d artist by trade so would have no problem modelling the missing interiors i just have no idea how to get them into sh3, heck i dont even have a way to open the .dat files.

any help is much appreciated...
flak.
flakmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-06, 07:35 AM   #2
DivingDuck
Grey Wolf

Downloads: 10
Uploads: 1

Moin,

since you´re an 3d artist I assume you have a 3d graphics program that is able to open/save *.obj file formats and a graphics program to open/save *.tga files.

Additionally you need
  • Pack3D
  • hex-editor
There are several versions of Pack3D on the net, 5 at all. You need all of them because each version has it´s own small deficiencies/advantages.

Modelling the whole sub´s interior sounds good. But as there is no trigger for additional compartements (afak) you´ll have to create the interior as open room to ensure the possibility to move trough the hatches. I don´t know wether the only limitation for the camera´s movement is the interior´s 3d model. So, possibly you might have to hex-edit the limits.

Regards,
DD
DivingDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-06, 07:48 AM   #3
Darkbluesky
Sparky

Downloads: 61