SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Mods and files for every subsim!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2010, 11:00 PM   #61
reboot
Mate
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Posts: 59
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks, it looks great! Unfortunately when i use the binoculars near the exhaust I get a slide show with my ATI 5770. Doesn't happen when I look at it in normal view. It may be just be my system. Oh well, gives me an excuse to get another card and go crossfire.
__________________
---------------------------
Reboots Hot Soup Mod
reboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 11:00 PM   #62
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,994
Downloads: 146
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by privateer View Post
Maybe you can attach a small oval object
by makeing it the base of the smoke generator.
oh yeah like a dummy object in a way. Hmm, have to see if I can add objects to the files now....got an idea
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 11:06 PM   #63
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,994
Downloads: 146
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reboot View Post
Thanks, it looks great! Unfortunately when i use the binoculars near the exhaust I get a slide show with my ATI 5770. Doesn't happen when I look at it in normal view. It may be just be my system. Oh well, gives me an excuse to get another card and go crossfire.
isn't that a pretty high-end card (5770)? I use nVidia GTX280 and I get some low FPS occassionally but no stuttering. If the concensus is that the exhaust 'tails' are too long then I can shorten them which will help boost FPS as the max particles allowed will drop.

Since I never tried that view with the mod I had to try it on mine:


ordered up ahead flank on VIIA and went to binocs and took a look. FPS was 30 which is fine.
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 11:31 PM   #64
reboot
Mate
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Posts: 59
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Default

It's a fairly new card, but I still want to add another one. I normally don't have issues with frame rate, so if no one else is getting low frame rates, it may be something on my end. (perhaps another mod conflicting)
I'll try again with my other mods disabled.
__________________
---------------------------
Reboots Hot Soup Mod
reboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 12:11 AM   #65
7thSeal
Samurai Navy
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 592
Downloads: 199
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reboot View Post
It's a fairly new card, but I still want to add another one. I normally don't have issues with frame rate, so if no one else is getting low frame rates, it may be something on my end. (perhaps another mod conflicting)
I'll try again with my other mods disabled.
Does the splash behind your sub sometimes pause when throttled up? I see this happen every now and then and noticed that the exhaust smoke will pause with it when it does this. Normally its in rougher waters when I see the pause.
7thSeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 12:25 AM   #66
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,994
Downloads: 146
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by privateer View Post
Maybe you can attach a small oval object
by makeing it the base of the smoke generator.
cool, we can still add objects to the files and the game doesn't freak out (and yes the flag is animated) Now I should be able to make an 'exhaust port' for the 2A on the right side.
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 12:54 AM   #67
reboot
Mate
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Posts: 59
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7thSeal View Post
Does the splash behind your sub sometimes pause when throttled up? I see this happen every now and then and noticed that the exhaust smoke will pause with it when it does this. Normally its in rougher waters when I see the pause.
No, not really that much. Its just the exhaust smoke. It must be a setting on my card or something, since no else is having problems. It's weird because the smoke from ships doesn't cause any stuttering. I even tried setting my affinity to only two cores instead of four, but actually had slightly lower frame rates.
I'll mess around with some of my settings and maybe I can figure something out.
__________________
---------------------------
Reboots Hot Soup Mod
reboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 01:49 AM   #68
kylania
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,522
Downloads: 108
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith View Post
cool, we can still add objects to the files and the game doesn't freak out (and yes the flag is animated) Now I should be able to make an 'exhaust port' for the 2A on the right side.
You're my hero!
__________________

kylania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 11:55 AM   #69
sport02
Nub
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 9
Downloads: 45
Uploads: 0
Default

great mod for that first version , it's the first time we have smoke for sub in SH , no ?
sport02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 11:56 AM   #70
TH0R
XO
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 420
Downloads: 52
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sport02 View Post
great mod for that first version , it's the first time we have smoke for sub in SH , no ?
No. SH4 had it modded long time ago.
__________________
My IL2 stuff: LEVEL BOMBING MANUAL v2.0 | 'MUSTANG'
TH0R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 11:57 AM   #71
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,994
Downloads: 146
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TH0R View Post
No. SH4 had it modded long time ago.
and I did it for SH3 even longer ago. I believe but don't quote me that the SH4 one's were based off my work in SH3
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 12:18 PM   #72
Kromus
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 250
Downloads: 135
Uploads: 0
Default

Very nice mod TheDarkWraith, thank you!

I get lower frame rates only when looking at smoke from sealevel behind sub (85+ falls to 30-40).Could you make also version with shorter smoke fumes? I would really appreciate that
Kromus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 12:28 PM   #73
WOD
Gunner
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 93
Downloads: 103
Uploads: 0
Default

Thx for this mod TheDarkWraith.

To the massive FrameRateDrops I can only say:
I´ve got a GeForce 9600GT/512 and I noticed no massive drop so far. Even with a Convoy behind me (8 Rows / 5 Ships per Row).

Thx again for the outstanding work.
WOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 12:45 PM   #74
Madox58
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 9,578
Downloads: 72
Uploads: 12
Default

All started somewhere around this time didn't it?


But I'm happy you took it where you did Mate.
Madox58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 01:09 PM   #75
Paco
Captain
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kassel, Germany
Posts: 536
Downloads: 332
Uploads: 0


Default

Looks very good

Thanks,
Paco.
Paco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim