SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Mods and files for every subsim!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Fleet Boat Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2007, 01:39 PM   #31
barndog
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 73
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Default Lurker: There I was one my first patrol

Out of Cavita. Went to the first assigned patrol around Cam Rahn, encountered large passenger liner asd small passenger carrier with 2 DD escorts. Took out the large liner with 3 torps. twiddled my thumbs around the area until I received message to go to southern patrol area. Immediately upon arrival encountered lead Zig-Zag DD inline ahead of Large Mod COmposite trailed by four small cargoes and then another large Mod Comp. Back ended by another zigging DD. Put three torps into lead Mod COmp. Swug around, went silent and waited for the last Mod comp. When just inside 6000 let loose of three more torps very nicely spread. First to hit and seconds before impact I got a Crash To Disk! Damn the bad luck. First time I've CTD'd in a LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONG time????

So needless to say, I don't know if I get a good base to go to but I do know I'll give it another whirl tonight.

News at 11.

BFN
barndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 06:58 PM   #32
lurker_hlb3
Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego Calif
Posts: 2,287
Downloads: 175
Uploads: 12
Default

My face is RED


Though an oversight in testing on my part, there are bug in the transfer from the “Task Force 3” Flotilla to “ABDA-Task Force 3” Flotilla. Also some of the “Task Force 3” Flotilla objectives have some errors in them that need to be corrected.


The download links has been disabled and a patch is in the works, for the moment please “DO NOT” uses the “Task Force 3” or the “ABDA-Task Force 3"

Last edited by lurker_hlb3; 10-15-2007 at 07:46 PM.
lurker_hlb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 07:00 PM   #33
lurker_hlb3
Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego Calif
Posts: 2,287
Downloads: 175
Uploads: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pythos
Mod looks good.

on first patrol now with Sub pac.

Noticed that the wildcat, martlet, and beufighter lack sound.

Will continue reporting as patrol progresses.
Known problem, forgot to add it to the Readme
lurker_hlb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 07:14 PM   #34
MONOLITH
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,003
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lurker_hlb3
My face is RED
Shouldn't be. No need.

You've begun development of a great mod. Sometimes it takes a couple hundred fresh eyes to flesh out a few bugs.

Should be expected.

I still say Bravo to you.
__________________
MONOLITH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 07:22 PM   #35
leovampire
Eternal Patrol
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Waterbury, CT. USA
Posts: 2,336
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Ditto to what Monolith said

Quote:
Originally Posted by MONOLITH
Quote:
Originally Posted by lurker_hlb3
My face is RED
Shouldn't be. No need.

You've begun development of a great mod. Sometimes it takes a couple hundred fresh eyes to flesh out a few bugs.

Should be expected.

I still say Bravo to you.
Sometimes it takes several test run's with differn't game's and situations to find all that need's to be fixed. Don't worry about it you should see what tater went through for his campaign layers and the problems he had to iron out even T.M. and others. What your doing is complicated and a lot of dot the I's and cross the T's things that can easily be missed by 1 or even several people.

So no worries about it because your doing a lot of great work for the game.
leovampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 07:24 PM   #36
lurker_hlb3
Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego Calif
Posts: 2,287
Downloads: 175
Uploads: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barndog
Out of Cavita. Went to the first assigned patrol around Cam Rahn, encountered large passenger liner asd small passenger carrier with 2 DD escorts. Took out the large liner with 3 torps. twiddled my thumbs around the area until I received message to go to southern patrol area. Immediately upon arrival encountered lead Zig-Zag DD inline ahead of Large Mod COmposite trailed by four small cargoes and then another large Mod Comp. Back ended by another zigging DD. Put three torps into lead Mod COmp. Swug around, went silent and waited for the last Mod comp. When just inside 6000 let loose of three more torps very nicely spread. First to hit and seconds before impact I got a Crash To Disk! Damn the bad luck. First time I've CTD'd in a LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONG time????

So needless to say, I don't know if I get a good base to go to but I do know I'll give it another whirl tonight.

News at 11.

BFN
The reason for the CTD is due to the “Small Merchant CTD” bug

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...=Taihosan+maru

Please down load the fix an install it, this fix will be added to RSRDC
lurker_hlb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 07:32 PM   #37
AVGWarhawk
Lucky Jack
 
AVGWarhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: In a 1954 Buick.
Posts: 26,213
Downloads: 87
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lurker_hlb3
Quote:
Originally Posted by barndog
Out of Cavita. Went to the first assigned patrol around Cam Rahn, encountered large passenger liner asd small passenger carrier with 2 DD escorts. Took out the large liner with 3 torps. twiddled my thumbs around the area until I received message to go to southern patrol area. Immediately upon arrival encountered lead Zig-Zag DD inline ahead of Large Mod COmposite trailed by four small cargoes and then another large Mod Comp. Back ended by another zigging DD. Put three torps into lead Mod COmp. Swug around, went silent and waited for the last Mod comp. When just inside 6000 let loose of three more torps very nicely spread. First to hit and seconds before impact I got a Crash To Disk! Damn the bad luck. First time I've CTD'd in a LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONG time????

So needless to say, I don't know if I get a good base to go to but I do know I'll give it another whirl tonight.

News at 11.

BFN
The reason for the CTD is due to the “Small Merchant CTD” bug

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...=Taihosan+maru

Please down load the fix an install it, this fix will be added to RSRDC
That was my first thought when I read his CTD issue.

Nice work you have going here Lurker. Looking forward to more!
__________________
“You're painfully alive in a drugged and dying culture.”
― Richard Yates, Revolutionary Road
AVGWarhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 09:08 PM   #38
barndog
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 73
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Default Lurker you certainly have no reason at all

to be even slightly embarrassed. You've put together on hell of a MOD. I was simply trying to follow up on the previous error to help track down what might be a clue. In the midst of my very small effort I ran into that CTD. I had every intention of going back to a first patrol from cavite till I saw your notice.

Thanx for the clue on the CTD fix. Will install that and wait til you announce your patch before continuing to explore your WONDERFUL work.

Hell I'm just a novice submariner. You guys do all the hard stuff and we have all the REAL fun

THANX AGAIN
barndog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 09:55 PM   #39
Nuc
Planesman
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 180
Downloads: 81
Uploads: 0
Default TM and RSRDCL

Quote:
Originally Posted by lurker_hlb3

Would not recommend loading RSRDC over the top of TM for the following reasons:
  • You will over write Ducimus “Sea Trials” Flotillas.
  • You would remove “all” of tater’s ICL changes .
If you do, you do so at your own risk
Are you worried that they are incompatible or suggesting that TM can go over top of RSRDCL?
Nuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 10:01 PM   #40
leovampire
Eternal Patrol
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Waterbury, CT. USA
Posts: 2,336
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default T.M. / RFB and RSRDCL deal with a lot of the same files

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuc
Quote:
Originally Posted by lurker_hlb3

Would not recommend loading RSRDC over the top of TM for the following reasons:
  • You will over write Ducimus “Sea Trials” Flotillas.
  • You would remove “all” of tater’s ICL changes .
If you do, you do so at your own risk
Are you worried that they are incompatible or suggesting that TM can go over top of RSRDCL?
One set of campaign layers added to your game will cancel out another set of layers from another mod if they are named the same. And then the ones that do not get changed will not be compatable with the base controls set for each layer and when they come into play.

A decision has to be made which mod to run unless you know how to pull every thing appart and make the differn't thing's you want work in your game without CTD's and more.

You can't do those type's of over write's in your game and expect a modder to fix your problems most will not even bother to try and help you because you didn't take their advice in the first place about what will and will not work vs another mod. That is why we make read me's to explain what can and can not be done without problems.
leovampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 12:51 AM   #41
lurker_hlb3
Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego Calif
Posts: 2,287
Downloads: 175
Uploads: 12
Default

While debugging the transfer from “Task Force 3” Flotilla to “ABDA-Task Force 3” Flotilla problem, there maybe a fundamentally error with my original concept of spitting the FremantleCommand into three separate Flotillas. Further testing tomorrow will reveal all. Worst case is that I will have to glue the three Flotillas back together, which means anyone that is currently running a career with “Task Force 3”, “ABDA-Task Force 3” or “Task Force 51/71” will have to restart. People who are running “SubPac” or “Task Force 42/72” should be ok.
lurker_hlb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 08:49 AM   #42
AVGWarhawk
Lucky Jack
 
AVGWarhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: In a 1954 Buick.
Posts: 26,213
Downloads: 87
Uploads: 0


Default

Take your time Lurker. You have a great foundation going here! Looking forward to more!
__________________
“You're painfully alive in a drugged and dying culture.”
― Richard Yates, Revolutionary Road
AVGWarhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 04:54 PM   #43
trimzeke
Seaman
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Slightly Below Crush Depth
Posts: 33
Downloads: 95
Uploads: 0
Default RSRD CTD

TF3 - Cavite - S-18 - San Bernadino Strait career mission - CTD @approx. 21:30 hours during TC transit...

Subpac - Pearl - Gar - Singapore Shipping Lane/Luzon Strait career mission - CTD @ during TC transit...

trimzeke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 05:22 PM   #44
lurker_hlb3
Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego Calif
Posts: 2,287
Downloads: 175
Uploads: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trimzeke
TF3 - Cavite - S-18 - San Bernadino Strait career mission - CTD @approx. 21:30 hours during TC transit...

Subpac - Pearl - Gar - Singapore Shipping Lane/Luzon Strait career mission - CTD @ during TC transit...

comment noted

Approximate location and date/time would be helpful

Last edited by lurker_hlb3; 10-16-2007 at 05:55 PM.
lurker_hlb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 07:13 PM   #45
lurker_hlb3
Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Diego Calif
Posts: 2,287
Downloads: 175
Uploads: 12
Default

RSRDC_P1Patch_v101 is up check first post
lurker_hlb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim