SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2019, 02:55 AM   #1
hunter301
中国水兵
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 276
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 0
Default TDC malfunction or am I doing something wrong?

While I still use God's eye View (F11) when playing and event view I started doing full manual targeting for the realistic feal of the game. I use the (F11) and event view just for the cinematic fun of the game. Maybe later I'll run a couple of full realism games just to see how badly I can screw up...lol.

Anyway I ran a couple of the training courses with full assist on so I could see exactly what the TDC and Attack Data Tool were doing and to confirm what I thought they might be doing before switching over to full manual targeting.
I like to set up my already loaded torpedos ahead of time so I won't waste time in battle. Speed, Depth, Spread, etc....
However there have been a few times where I'm trying to set up my forward and stern torpedos to high speed because I'm battling destroyers it won't let me switch over from low speed to high speed.
Does anyone know why the game won't let me switch from low to high speed on a torpedo that's already loaded into the tube and ready to go?
__________________
"Beware the beast Man, for he is the Devil's pawn. Alone among God's primates, he kills for sport or lust or greed.
Yea, he will murder his brother to possess his brother's land."- The Lawgiver

"You know what the chain of command is?
It's the chain I get and beat you with till you understand who's in command."
-ME
hunter301 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 03:17 AM   #2
Sniper297
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia Shipyard Brig
Posts: 1,158
Downloads: 132
Uploads: 13


Default

Depends on the fish you're carrying.

First thing, S class sub? If so, you have MARK 10 torpedoes, slow speed only. If not, click the sub management button (the one that looks like a clipboard) then the torpedo icon, hover the cursor over the torpedo to see what it says. For the MARK 14 it will show 2 speeds, for the MARK 16 or MARK 18 only one speed. 16s are automatically fast, 18s are the electric wakeless and automatically slow.
Sniper297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 03:42 AM   #3
hunter301
中国水兵
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 276
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniper297 View Post
Depends on the fish you're carrying.

First thing, S class sub? If so, you have MARK 10 torpedoes, slow speed only. If not, click the sub management button (the one that looks like a clipboard) then the torpedo icon, hover the cursor over the torpedo to see what it says. For the MARK 14 it will show 2 speeds, for the MARK 16 or MARK 18 only one speed. 16s are automatically fast, 18s are the electric wakeless and automatically slow.
I was running the single mission Convoy 1944 with Balao class sub.
At the beginning I could move my selector to high speed but then I couldn't with reloads.
Have to run the game again and look into what you are saying.
__________________
"Beware the beast Man, for he is the Devil's pawn. Alone among God's primates, he kills for sport or lust or greed.
Yea, he will murder his brother to possess his brother's land."- The Lawgiver

"You know what the chain of command is?
It's the chain I get and beat you with till you understand who's in command."
-ME
hunter301 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 06:23 AM   #4
Sniper297
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia Shipyard Brig
Posts: 1,158
Downloads: 132
Uploads: 13


Default

Haven't played quick missions in a while, just tried the 1944 convoy and it had all MARK 14s, but the next one "last targets" I tried had a mix of 14s, 18s, and a couple of 23s.
Sniper297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 09:26 PM   #5
hunter301
中国水兵
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 276
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniper297 View Post
Haven't played quick missions in a while, just tried the 1944 convoy and it had all MARK 14s
Was it giving you problems trying to move the speed from low to high on the reloaded fish?
This is were I had the problem.
__________________
"Beware the beast Man, for he is the Devil's pawn. Alone among God's primates, he kills for sport or lust or greed.
Yea, he will murder his brother to possess his brother's land."- The Lawgiver

"You know what the chain of command is?
It's the chain I get and beat you with till you understand who's in command."
-ME
hunter301 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 01:09 AM   #6
hunter301
中国水兵
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 276
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniper297 View Post
Haven't played quick missions in a while, just tried the 1944 convoy and it had all MARK 14s, but the next one "last targets" I tried had a mix of 14s, 18s, and a couple of 23s.
I just ran the 1944 convoy quick mission again using the Balao class sub.
In the middle of getting gang-banged by 5 destroyers I went deep during the reload process and started taking a little more time and looked thru my inventory.
They load you up with several types of torpedos.
I had a complement of:
Mark 14 (High and low speed available/31 knots/46 knots)
Mark 18 (Set speed at 29 knots)
Mark 23 (Set speed at 46.3 knots)

My question: Why do they load you up with all those different types of torpedos? Are you playing a mod on 1944 convoy that gives you all Mark 14s?
__________________
"Beware the beast Man, for he is the Devil's pawn. Alone among God's primates, he kills for sport or lust or greed.
Yea, he will murder his brother to possess his brother's land."- The Lawgiver

"You know what the chain of command is?
It's the chain I get and beat you with till you understand who's in command."
-ME
hunter301 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim