SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2018, 05:17 PM   #91
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 1,991
Downloads: 33
Uploads: 0


Default

So far it does not work in SH3 as it does in SH4 and SH5.

I know I had it working somehow in the past.
Trying to duplicate it now.
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2018, 06:06 PM   #92
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,277
Downloads: 694
Uploads: 10


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArnoldR View Post
@gap: thankx for the detailed explain!!

A question: do the proxy-cloned unit have a dat file?? If no, how can you call the new texture, you must have a different name, or not?????????
It doesn't. The dat file is the one of the parent unit. Provided that unit materials are set opportunely, textures can be assigned via roster cfg file.
Still taking SH5's Patroclus and Rawalpindi as an example, these are their entries in the British roster:

AMCPatroclus.cfg:

Code:
[UnitClass]
ClassName=AMCPatroclus
UnitType=13
AppearanceDate=19390912
DisappearanceDate=19411001
DisplayName=BR AMC Patroclus (proxy)

[Texture 1]
TextureName=
LightmapTextureName=data/Sea/NAMC_Penguin/Penguin_AO.tga
NormalmapTextureName=
StartDate=19390101
EndDate=19461231
Frequency=1

[Unit 1]
Name=HMS Patroclus
DOC=19390912
DOD=19401104

[Unit 2]
Name=HMS Hector
DOC=19391220
DOD=19420405

[Unit 3]
Name=HMS Antenor
DOC=19400101
DOD=19411001

;************ The End ************
AMCRawalpindi.cfg:

Code:
[UnitClass]
ClassName=AMCRawalpindi
UnitType=13
AppearanceDate=19391001
DisappearanceDate=19430501
DisplayName=BR AMC Rawalpindi

[Texture 1]
TextureName=*mil.dds
LightmapTextureName=data\Sea\NAMC_Rawalpindi\NAMC_Rawalpindi_AO01.dds
NormalmapTextureName=
StartDate=19390101
EndDate=19461231
Frequency=1

[Unit 1]
Name=HMS Rawalpindi
DOC=19391001
DOD=19391123

[Unit 2]
Name=HMS Ranchi
DOC=19391023
DOD=19430316

[Unit 3]
Name=HMS Ranpura
DOC=19391130
DOD=19430501

[Unit 4]
Name=HMS Rajputana
DOC=19391201
DOD=19410413

;************ The End ************

That means that each proxy-copy can have its own texture different from the one used on its parent unit, even if both ship classes are in the roster of the same nation. Also note that, unlike the example above, proxy-cloned units can have a different unit type than their parents; this is another level of customization that I forgot mentioning in my previous post.

All of the above applies to SHIV and SH5. In SHIII though, things might bit more complicated than that... read Jeff's post below:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post
So far it does not work in SH3 as it does in SH4 and SH5.

I know I had it working somehow in the past.
Trying to duplicate it now.
Fingers crossed and let us know if you remember how it works...
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 07:33 AM   #93
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,277
Downloads: 694
Uploads: 10


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post
So far it does not work in SH3 as it does in SH4 and SH5.

I know I had it working somehow in the past.
Trying to duplicate it now.
Any news?
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim