SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Fleet Boat Mods Workshop > SH4 Mission Designers' Forum
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2009, 09:54 PM   #31
Lt commander lare
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southlyon michigan
Posts: 894
Downloads: 691
Uploads: 35
Default

peabody does great work he is a wonderful asset to the subsim community

lt commander lare
Lt commander lare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 10:23 AM   #32
cdrsubron7
Sink'em All
 
cdrsubron7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 2,176
Downloads: 272
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lt commander lare View Post
peabody does great work he is a wonderful asset to the subsim community

lt commander lare

Like Cdr lare, said.
__________________



Head Deep and Keep'em Astern" - LtCDR Samuel D Dealy
SHIV Guide | Imperial Japanese Navy | US Submarines



cdrsubron7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 12:28 AM   #33
Webster
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 6,225
Downloads: 259
Uploads: 55


Default

i just finished playing the mission quite a few times and find it pretty good with things being a little different each time which is nice but the objective seems to be set wrong.

the mission is to stop the yamato to save the pyle but sinking the advance cruiser (or any sort of tonnage equal to it) will trigger the mission complete screen so maybe it should have the objective reset to only trigger if the ymato is sunk rather than just to sink a certain tonnage amount so that the mission wont end before you have actualy completed the given objective.

for myself i reset it to only trigger if yamato is sunk and not by tonnage
__________________
.
My Mods.~~/~~ (GFO) Game Fixes Only Mod.~~/~~ Mod Soup Fix
Webster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 10:36 AM   #34
I'm goin' down
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Notify command we have entered the Grass Sea
Posts: 2,976
Downloads: 813
Uploads: 0
Default I started this issue

I was having CTD with this mission, so I raised the issue in another thread. No fixes appeared possible, as I play 1.5. Then I forgot about it until I saw this thread. I play TMO. I have enabled other mods. Can this mission be fixed so it can be played with those? Don't bother if it takes too long to do so.

I thought it was an interesting and challenging mission, but I never made it out of the harbor before CTD, except for one time. Then it crashed, but the Yamato had left for parts unknown by then.
I'm goin' down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 02:28 PM   #35
peabody
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York State, USA
Posts: 2,390
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by I'm goin' down View Post
I was having CTD with this mission, so I raised the issue in another thread. No fixes appeared possible, as I play 1.5. Then I forgot about it until I saw this thread. I play TMO. I have enabled other mods. Can this mission be fixed so it can be played with those? Don't bother if it takes too long to do so.

I thought it was an interesting and challenging mission, but I never made it out of the harbor before CTD, except for one time. Then it crashed, but the Yamato had left for parts unknown by then.
The problem with making missions compatable with other MODs is knowing what the MOD has changed. For example, if I write a mission for the Japanese Campaign I must have the Japanese Campaign MOD enabled when I write it, because some of the things used are not in the stock game. So I may use a sub,ship, or another object that is not available in the stock game. In some cases you get away with it and the object just does not appear other times it crashes the game, it depends totally what is different.
So it would be almost impossible to write a version that would work with any combinations of MODs. I if wrote a mission compatable with TMO and then you add another MOD on top of that, it may still crash.

You simply put: the mission looks for the items it was written with and if it can't find them it will not work.

But on the other hand, if you really want to play it, disable your mods, play it in stock a few times and then re-enable your mods when you are done. One of the nice things about using JSGME. It will take a lot less time to do that then to try to figure out the problem and rewrite the mission.

Peabody
__________________

System Spec: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3, PentiumD Dual Core Presler 945 3.4Ghz, Gigabyte Geforce 7600GS, 2-1GB Corsair XMS2 800Mhz in Dual Channel, 2-WD 250 SATA 3Gb/s, Onboard Realtek HD 7.1 Audio, DVD ROM, DVD burner, Hiper 580 Watt Power supply, WinXP SP2.

peabody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 02:38 PM   #36
I'm goin' down
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Notify command we have entered the Grass Sea
Posts: 2,976
Downloads: 813
Uploads: 0
Default got it.

I understand. I will try it with TMO once. If it causes a CTD, I will try it in stock. Thanks for the explanation.
I'm goin' down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 06:14 PM   #37
I'm goin' down
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Notify command we have entered the Grass Sea
Posts: 2,976
Downloads: 813
Uploads: 0
Default php file

I try to download and I get a php file. what is that?
I'm goin' down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 06:57 PM   #38
peabody
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York State, USA
Posts: 2,390
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by I'm goin' down View Post
I try to download and I get a php file. what is that?
Where are you trying to download it? Which link? There are several links in this thread. A PHP file is part of the web site. So something is wrong.

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...=1316&act=down


Try that link, it should give you a 7zip file (.7z)

Peabody
__________________

System Spec: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3, PentiumD Dual Core Presler 945 3.4Ghz, Gigabyte Geforce 7600GS, 2-1GB Corsair XMS2 800Mhz in Dual Channel, 2-WD 250 SATA 3Gb/s, Onboard Realtek HD 7.1 Audio, DVD ROM, DVD burner, Hiper 580 Watt Power supply, WinXP SP2.

peabody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 01:42 PM   #39
I'm goin' down
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Notify command we have entered the Grass Sea
Posts: 2,976
Downloads: 813
Uploads: 0
Default Peabody

I get downloand_1.php. I used your link, too. Meanwhile, send another boat in to sink the Yamato. I can't get to Palau.
I'm goin' down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 08:16 PM   #40
peabody
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York State, USA
Posts: 2,390
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by I'm goin' down View Post
I get downloand_1.php. I used your link, too. Meanwhile, send another boat in to sink the Yamato. I can't get to Palau.
That is strange. What browser are you using? Are you just clicking the link and getting that? I have heard of people having problems with Safari, but you seem to be able to download other MODs and missions without any problems.

Try it from here:

http://www.filefront.com/14595181/PalauGauntlet1_5.7z


Peabody
__________________

System Spec: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3, PentiumD Dual Core Presler 945 3.4Ghz, Gigabyte Geforce 7600GS, 2-1GB Corsair XMS2 800Mhz in Dual Channel, 2-WD 250 SATA 3Gb/s, Onboard Realtek HD 7.1 Audio, DVD ROM, DVD burner, Hiper 580 Watt Power supply, WinXP SP2.

peabody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 09:36 PM   #41
Starforce2
Planesman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: minnesota
Posts: 189
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 0
Default

I've been converting some missions from 1.4 to 1.5 and notice that the BB Iowa and yamato change unit type, so change those 11's to 20's and if you have any huge euro liner (contraverde or whatever they are) thay need to be 109's not 103's So far every mission I've simply switched unittype has worked just fine.
__________________
http://silenthunter.filefront.com/We accept all types of Silent hunter mods, utility and tutorial items too.
Starforce2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 04:06 AM   #42
I'm goin' down
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Notify command we have entered the Grass Sea
Posts: 2,976
Downloads: 813
Uploads: 0
Default link not working?

Quote:
Originally Posted by donut View Post
Best mission, up to date also Webster THXS.

Here is a version that will work with stock 1.5. If you have any MODs enabled it may affect the misssion possibly even a CTD.

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...=1316&act=down

Extract to your Single Mission folder, it is not set up as a MOD. Let me know if you find any problems.
Peabody
Can someone tell me if this link is working. All I get is a php notice, whatever that means?
I'm goin' down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 06:16 AM   #43
peabody
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York State, USA
Posts: 2,390
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by I'm goin' down View Post
Can someone tell me if this link is working. All I get is a php notice, whatever that means?
You keep asking the same question, but I try to help you won't answer.

Yes, the link works.

What Browser are you using? Version?
Are you left clicking the link? or trying to "Save Link As..." ?

PHP is part of the web page, look it up, look on wiki. It is used in the development of web pages.

Type this into your web browser address bar (or copy/paste)Press "enter" and see what you get. If you type it in there is an underline _ between the 1_5

http://www.filefront.com/14595181/PalauGauntlet1_5.7z

If you get the filefront page click on the Download Now.

Peabody
__________________

System Spec: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3, PentiumD Dual Core Presler 945 3.4Ghz, Gigabyte Geforce 7600GS, 2-1GB Corsair XMS2 800Mhz in Dual Channel, 2-WD 250 SATA 3Gb/s, Onboard Realtek HD 7.1 Audio, DVD ROM, DVD burner, Hiper 580 Watt Power supply, WinXP SP2.

peabody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 12:11 PM   #44
I'm goin' down
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Notify command we have entered the Grass Sea
Posts: 2,976
Downloads: 813
Uploads: 0
Default thanks

got it downloaded. it should work. thank you.
I'm goin' down is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2009, 06:14 PM   #45
I'm goin' down
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Notify command we have entered the Grass Sea
Posts: 2,976
Downloads: 813
Uploads: 0
Default very nice!

excellent job of fixing this mission. It is one of the most interesting and creative missions I have played. I haven't sunk the Yamato yet, but I hit it with 5, count 'em, five torps. I nailed the Mogami though. I give this mission a . Thanks for repairing it.

One one mission attempt, the yamato sunk an american cruiser which sailed between our courses. I collided with it and had to reverse the engines to avoid sinking.

As for the same question that I asked, there was a over month's time between the questions. I gave up on the first attempt as the game kept crashing. On the recent attempt I was playing TMO 1.7 to 1.98 Beta, which was a new program. I had problems downloading but once it worked with your advice on copying the link, the mission worked flawlessly.
I'm goin' down is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim