SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-19, 09:51 PM   #1
Sniper297
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia Shipyard Brig
Posts: 1,386
Downloads: 160
Uploads: 19
Default Tutorial, earlier upgrades

This exercise will be to get a career start with the option of a GATO class in December 1941. Files involved;


\Data\UPCData\UPCCampaignData\CareerStart.upc
\Data\UPCData\UPCUnitsData\UpgradePacks.upc
\Data\Submarine\NSS_GATO\NSS_Gato.upc

Before beginning, COPY THOSE FILES TO A BACKUP LOCATION. Important, if you make a mistake the easiest way to recover is to copy the backup files in to overwrite the ones you messed up.

Starting with the simplest hack, just give me a Gato in December of 41.

Browse to \Data\UPCData\UPCCampaignData\ and open CareerStart.upc with notepad.

[CareerStart 1.Flotilla 1]
ID= C1Flotilla1
NameDisplayable= Pearl Harbor
IDLinkFlotilla= PearlHarborCommand
IDLinkUserPlayerUnits= F1Porpoise, 4, F1Tambor, 5, F1Gar, 4
FlotillaBriefingText=
FlotillaCommonality= 1

[CareerStart 1.Flotilla 2]
ID= C1Flotilla2
NameDisplayable= Manila
IDLinkFlotilla= FremantleCommand
IDLinkUserPlayerUnits= F2Sboat, 6, F2Porpoise, 7, F2Salmon, 6, F2Sargo, 11
FlotillaBriefingText=
FlotillaCommonality= 2

Add a comma after the last boat, then an F1Gato to the Pearl Harbor start, F2Gato to Manila;

[CareerStart 1.Flotilla 1]
ID= C1Flotilla1
NameDisplayable= Pearl Harbor
IDLinkFlotilla= PearlHarborCommand
IDLinkUserPlayerUnits= F1Porpoise, 4, F1Tambor, 5, F1Gar, 4, F1Gato, 10
FlotillaBriefingText=
FlotillaCommonality= 1

[CareerStart 1.Flotilla 2]
ID= C1Flotilla2
NameDisplayable= Manila
IDLinkFlotilla= FremantleCommand
IDLinkUserPlayerUnits= F2Sboat, 6, F2Porpoise, 7, F2Salmon, 6, F2Sargo, 11, F2Gato, 10
FlotillaBriefingText=
FlotillaCommonality= 2

Save the file, then start the game and test by starting new careers, both Pearl and Manila. If the game crashes, check your syntax - one misplaced or missing comma will cause the game to crash. Note also the F1 and F2 have to match the other subs for each flotilla.

After testing, we want something better than the default early war Gato, so open the \Data\Submarine\NSS_GATO\NSS_Gato.upc file.

EDIT, FIND, "conning",

[UserPlayerUnit 1.UnitPartSlot 1]
ID=GatoConningSlot
NameDisplayable=Conning Tower Mount
Type=NULL
AcceptedTypes=GatoConningTower
IDLinkUnitPartIntervalDefault1= NULL, 1942-09-31, GatoConningEarlyWar
IDLinkUnitPartIntervalDefault2= 1942-10-01, 1943-03-31, GatoConningMedWar
IDLinkUnitPartIntervalDefault3= 1943-04-01, 1944-10-31, GatoConningLateWar
IDLinkUnitPartIntervalDefault4= 1944-11-01, NULL, GatoConningElite
ExternalNodeName3D= Z01

Rather than fiddling with all that cutting and welding, let's take the last year conning tower and change it so we have the same one for the entire war.

[UserPlayerUnit 1.UnitPartSlot 1]
ID=GatoConningSlot
NameDisplayable=Conning Tower Mount
Type=NULL
AcceptedTypes=GatoConningTower
IDLinkUnitPartIntervalDefault1= NULL, NULL, GatoConningElite
ExternalNodeName3D= Z01

Note that NULL replacing the first date means it's available from the start, NULL for the second date means it never expires. Simple way to change most upgrade packs, but be sure to replace the Default4 with Default1 for whatever is in the first slot.

That gives you a Gato with the Elite conning tower, which has 40mm Bofors fore and aft by default. For other sub types you have "late war" in the first slot.

For the deck gun(s);

\Data\UPCData\UPCUnitsData\UpgradePacks.upc

For the double 5 inch 25s scroll down to upgrade pack 25;

[UpgradePack 25]
ID= Upack5in25calDGDouble
NameDisplayable= 5" 25 cal Deck Guns (Bow and Stern)
FunctionalType= UpFTypeWeaponCannon
UpgradePackSlotType= USDeckGunAdv
Type=NULL
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptionCurrent= NULL, NULL, 0
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions1= 1945-01-01, NULL, 2000
IDLinkUpgradePackElements= 5in25calUS, 5in25calUS

Change to

[UpgradePack 25]
ID= Upack5in25calDGDouble
NameDisplayable= 5" 25 cal Deck Guns (Bow and Stern)
FunctionalType= UpFTypeWeaponCannon
UpgradePackSlotType= USDeckGunAdv
Type=NULL
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptionCurrent= NULL, NULL, 0
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions1= NULL, NULL, 0
IDLinkUpgradePackElements= 5in25calUS, 5in25calUS

Then save, exit, try in game. For other subs, in this example the Porpoise;

[UserPlayerUnit 1.UpgradePackSlot 3]
ID= UpgDeckGun
NameDisplayable= Deck Gun
Type=NULL
AcceptedTypes=USDeckGunBasic
UserCustomizable=Yes
IDLinkUpgradePackSlots= BowDeckGun, SternDeckGun
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault1= NULL, 1943-09-01, Upack3in50calDGStern
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault2= 1943-09-02, NULL, Upack3in50calDGBow

You can edit the NSS_Porpoise\NSS_Porpoise.upc file by copying and pasting the datablock from the NSS_Gato.upc to overwrite that;

[UserPlayerUnit 1.UpgradePackSlot 3]
ID= UpgDeckGun
NameDisplayable= Deck Gun
Type=NULL
AcceptedTypes=USDeckGunBasic, USDeckGunAdv
UserCustomizable=Yes
IDLinkUpgradePackSlots= BowDeckGun, SternDeckGun
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault1= NULL, NULL, Upack4in50calDGBow
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault2= NULL, NULL, Upack3in50calDGBow
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault3= NULL, NULL, Upack3in50calDGStern
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault4= NULL, NULL, Upack5in25calDGBow

And that gets you the double 5 inch 25s on any fleet sub.

For radar, simplest way is to get it by default, back to \Data\Submarine\NSS_GATO\NSS_Gato.upc to find and null;

[UserPlayerUnit 1.UpgradePackSlot 1]
ID= UpgSurfaceSearchRadar
NameDisplayable= Surface Search Radar
Type=NULL
AcceptedTypes=GatoSurfaceRadars
UserCustomizable=Yes
IDLinkUpgradePackSlots= EqSlot42, EqSlot43, SurfRadarAntenna
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault1= 1942-07-05, 1943-07-01, UpackGatoSJRadar
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault2= NULL, NULL, UpackGatoSJ1Radar
;IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault3= 1945-09-01, NULL, UpackGatoSSRadar

[UserPlayerUnit 1.UpgradePackSlot 2]
ID= UpgAirSearchRadar
NameDisplayable= Air Search Radar
Type=NULL
AcceptedTypes=AirRadars, AdvAirRadars
UserCustomizable=Yes
IDLinkUpgradePackSlots= EqSlot33, AirRadarAntenna
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault1= 1941-12-25, 1943-03-11, UpackGatoSDRadar
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault2= NULL, NULL, UpackGatoImpSDRadar
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault3= 1945-08-01, 1945-12-31, UpackGatoSVRadar

For this example I have Improved SD and the SJ-1 by default, if desired you could change the start date to NULL for the early sets then upgrade later.
Sniper297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-19, 01:02 AM   #2
Sniper297
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia Shipyard Brig
Posts: 1,386
Downloads: 160
Uploads: 19
Default

Always forget something, AA guns. With the Gato using the Elite conning tower it automatically includes fore and aft single mount 40mm Bofors AA cannon, for other subs you might need to edit the
\Data\UPCData\UPCUnitsData\UnitParts(number)(subty pe).upc
file. Example UnitParts5Salmon.upc at the very bottom has AcceptedTypes=USLightAA and 20mmsingle or double, no heavy AA so no Bofors.

Edit that whole smash;

[UnitPart 3.UpgradePackSlot 1]
ID= UpgAAGun
NameDisplayable= Aft Anti-Aircraft Gun
Type=NULL
AcceptedTypes=USLightAA, USHeavyAA
UserCustomizable=Yes
IDLinkUpgradePackSlots= CTBackAA
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault1= NULL, NULL, Upack20mmSingle
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault2= NULL, NULL, Upack40mmSingle

[UnitPart 3.UpgradePackSlot 2]
ID= UpgBowAAGun
NameDisplayable= Fore Anti-Aircraft Gun
Type=NULL
AcceptedTypes=USLightAA, USHeavyAA
UserCustomizable=Yes
IDLinkUpgradePackSlots= CTForeAA
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault1= NULL, NULL, Upack20mmSingle
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault2= NULL, NULL, Upack40mmSingle

And when you start a new career with the late war Salmon conning tower you can change the default Oerlikons to Bofors. If you edited the UpgradePacks.upc file previously;


[UpgradePack 10]
ID= Upack40mmSingle
NameDisplayable= 40mm AA Gun
FunctionalType= UpFTypeWeaponFlak
UpgradePackSlotType= USHeavyAA
Type=NULL
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptionCurrent= NULL, NULL, 0
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions1= NULL, NULL, 0
IDLinkUpgradePackElements= 40mmSingleUS

The swap won't cost any renown, the last number is the cost.
Sniper297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-19, 10:32 AM   #3
Randomizer
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 334
Downloads: 131
Uploads: 0


Default

Tutorials like these are priceless, thanks for posting.

I could never get the .50 Cal AA mod to add a .50 to the S-Boats in TMO/RSRD and this gives me the confidence to try again.

-C
Randomizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-19, 11:57 PM   #4
Mios 4Me
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 394
Downloads: 38
Uploads: 0


Default

This is fantastic, Sniper. I'm in the process of implementing all this on a fresh installation, possibly in conjunction with some of the GFO items if they seem unlikely to conflict.

One other question: is it possible to change torpedo availability as well? I'd like to have Mark 16s available from 1941 if it's possible. There's an existing mod for that but it begins in 1943 and may have been the source of conflicts with GFO that I've posted about before.
Mios 4Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-19, 01:07 PM   #5
Mios 4Me
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 394
Downloads: 38
Uploads: 0


Default

I've never seen the twin-40mm option on the Balao class before looking into these files. Note the discrepancies between Functional Type and UpgradePackSlotType. To enable it, I changed the UpgradePackSlotType to =USHeavyAA and it seems to work so far.

[UpgradePack 10]
ID= Upack40mmSingle
NameDisplayable= 40mm AA Gun
FunctionalType= UpFTypeWeaponFlak
UpgradePackSlotType= USHeavyAA
Type=NULL
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptionCurrent= NULL, NULL, 0
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions1= 1942-10-08, 1943-04-05, 300
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions2= 1943-04-05, NULL, 150
IDLinkUpgradePackElements= 40mmSingleUS

[UpgradePack 11]
ID= Upack40mmTwin
NameDisplayable= Twin 40mm AA Gun
FunctionalType= UpFTypeWeaponFlak
UpgradePackSlotType= USDeckGun
Type=NULL
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptionCurrent= NULL, NULL, 0
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions1= NULL, NULL, 0
IDLinkUpgradePackElements= 40mmTwinUS

[UpgradePack 12]
ID= Upack3in50calDG
NameDisplayable= 3" 50 cal Deck Gun
FunctionalType= UpFTypeWeaponCannon
UpgradePackSlotType= USDeckGun
Type=NULL
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptionCurrent= NULL, NULL, 0
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions1= NULL, NULL, 200
IDLinkUpgradePackElements= 3in50calUS


Also, I've gone into the Ammunition file for the Balao and NULLed the starting date for the Mark 16.

I'd mentioned the Tench above but looking into the files, there was never an option for that. I must have seen someone's mod and assumed it was stock. The main difference that I'm interested in between the Balao and Tench is an extra four torpedo reloads in the bow. I'll see if I can find how to do that and post it here.

Last edited by Mios 4Me; 06-16-19 at 01:19 PM.
Mios 4Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-19, 11:16 PM   #6
Sniper297
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia Shipyard Brig
Posts: 1,386
Downloads: 160
Uploads: 19
Default

Beats me, I add resupply bases and use Mark 14s, I found with the 16s it was TOO easy, no challenge when you can knock them off 4 miles away.

Adding more tubes is relatively simple;

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show....php?p=2600351

I didn't look into adding more reloads, limit is probably how much space is in the reload screen.

Twin mount 40s I found crashed the game if they were added forward;

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=240965

Although they work fine on the aft AA platform. A twin 40 aft and a single 40 forward causes no problems, don't know why.
Sniper297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-19, 12:30 PM   #7
Mios 4Me
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 394
Downloads: 38
Uploads: 0


Default

Thanks for the info on the twin 40s - I'd run into the CTD issue with those in combat, athough they could be fired without a nearby target.

Edit to add: The aft position on the Balao results in a CTD too. The weapon appears to be unusable on the Balao class.

Mk 16s: Understood; I'm still at the stage where I'm curious about the absolute minimum number of hits required to sink various ships.


I realize this is early days yet, but if anyone runs these hacks along with elements of the GFO supermod, please report your findings.

Last edited by Mios 4Me; 06-20-19 at 10:22 AM.
Mios 4Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-19, 02:12 PM   #8
Sniper297
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia Shipyard Brig
Posts: 1,386
Downloads: 160
Uploads: 19
Default

That's kind of like the "how many licks to get to the center of a tootsie pop" question.

Thing about the Mark 14, started the war with 600 pounds of TNT, changed to 668 pounds of Torpex, which had 150% of the explosive power of TNT - so the equivalent of a 1000 pound bomb. The default in game feels like the early war TNT model, but even with that it's possible to sink a BB with one hit if you get the sweet spot;



You can adjust the blast power and damage radius in the \Library\Torpedoes_US.zon file, there's an assortment in this mod;

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=4380
Sniper297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-19, 11:40 PM   #9
Mios 4Me
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 394
Downloads: 38
Uploads: 0


Default

Thanks for the torpex hack. I'm running stock without GFO this time and the Mk 16s seem underpowered, so I think I'll try replicating the previous versions.

Tootsie Pops - that's exactly what I was thinking when I wrote that. With the better Mk 16s, my best was three hits minimum on a Yamato, stacked along a magazine. I think I once did it with two but the third hit so soon after, I couldn't be sure. OBBs, and anything else, definitely only one if lucky, usually two.

Someone at UbiSoft dropped the ball on relative structural strengths on some of the CV classes. The Hiryus often take an extra Mk 16 or maybe 50% more hits from the 5" gun(s) than the much larger Shokakus or Taiho, though I haven't shelled the latter. Considering the contrast between Shokaku's and Soryu's combat damage records, it's almost as glaring as having two Taihos in the same battle group. At least there's no third Yamato yet, although there was that second one off Samar (probably standing in for Nagato).
Mios 4Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.