SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5 > Silent Hunter Online
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2013, 05:04 PM   #1
Djr18045
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Downloads: 28
Uploads: 0
Default SHO paying real money in a beta?

I just signed up and logged into the SHO open beta today. I ran through the first tutorial mission and was sent back to base. It wanted e to transfer 2 of the crew which means you have to upgrade to two others. You can't do that without gold bars and being only on a training mission I don't have any so I can proceed without goin to the SHOP where they will relieve me of 5 bucks real Monet for some gold bars. What???

Pay ware while it's still in beta? I've participated in scores open and closed betas going back 25 years and never had to pay.

Is this the way this game is structured.

Uplay sent me a coupon which gives me 10 percent off on any purchases. Big whoop....
Djr18045 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 05:45 PM   #2
Seeadler
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Northern Germany
Posts: 1,395
Downloads: 165
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djr18045 View Post
It wanted e to transfer 2 of the crew which means you have to upgrade to two others.
Transfer to second sub?

Yes manual upgrade an officer to higher rank coast you gold bars, but they automaticly upgrade during gameplay also the rest of the crew,
and there is not so much benefit from higher ranked crew members / officers, they only do their job a little faster.
Gold bars also sum up during gameplay when you complete campaign sections.

I beta-test this game since one a year, I'm at the level-cap of 35 and have never invested real money in it.
__________________
--
Vapor-ware is always easier to sell because there's no limit what it can do!

Last edited by Seeadler; 10-11-2013 at 05:59 PM.
Seeadler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 06:21 PM   #3
Djr18045
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Downloads: 28
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seeadler View Post
Transfer to second sub?

Yes manual upgrade an officer to higher rank coast you gold bars, but they automaticly upgrade during gameplay also the rest of the crew,
and there is not so much benefit from higher ranked crew members / officers, they only do their job a little faster.
Gold bars also sum up during gameplay when you complete campaign sections.

I beta-test this game since one a year, I'm at the level-cap of 35 and have never invested real money in it.
I must be doing something wrong and cant figure it out. after in the first tutorial mission that ends with a ship sunk and evading an air attack. you're returned to base. The first page shows the sub then youre instructed to go to the manage crew page. they want you to transfer 2 men to the depot and nothing weems to end that page. the only thing I can see are officers where you can diismiss them or selct a new upgrade replacement. thats where the gold bars comes in. Theres no way to stiick with the cew and officers you have and proceed to the next phase which I thing is armaments or something.

I went thru this 3 times and just have toexit out since theres no way forward or back from the crew management page.
Djr18045 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 07:20 PM   #4
Seeadler
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Northern Germany
Posts: 1,395
Downloads: 165
Uploads: 0


Default

- Go to Officer/Crew tab
- Click on [Manage Crew] Button to open the transfer window



1 - you see there are 2 men in the depot
2 - click on the left arrow to transfer the 2 men to your boat
3 - click on [Transfer] Button to start the transfer
__________________
--
Vapor-ware is always easier to sell because there's no limit what it can do!
Seeadler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 10:12 PM   #5
Djr18045
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Downloads: 28
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seeadler View Post
- Go to Officer/Crew tab
- Click on [Manage Crew] Button to open the transfer window



1 - you see there are 2 men in the depot
2 - click on the left arrow to transfer the 2 men to your boat
3 - click on [Transfer] Button to start the transfer


That did the trick. Thanks. A lot of menus and choosing are rather obscure to say the least. Once you do it once it becomes clear.

I ws rather impressed by the whole thing. Its nota real serious sim but has a potential for some good multiplayer setups possibly.
Djr18045 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim