SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > General > General Topics > PC Hardware/Software forum
Forget password? Reset here

Old 06-28-09, 08:47 PM   #1
AngusJS
Seasoned Skipper

Downloads: 62
Uploads: 0
Default Thinking of building a computer

I'm thinking of retiring my struggling Inspiron 1501 laptop and finally getting a gaming machine. I've never built a computer before, but I understand it's doable without too much difficulty.

Would this be a good setup?

RAIDMAX SMILODON ATX-612WBP Black 1.0mm SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Foldout MB Computer Case With 500W Power Supply

AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Black Edition Processor Model HDZ940XCGIBOX

BIOSTAR TA790GXB A2+ AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX ATX AMD Motherboard

BFG Tech BFGE981024GTOCE GeForce 9800 GT OC 1GB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card

CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X4096-6400C5

Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

Acer X193Wb Black 19" 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor

Rosewill RCX-Z1 Long life ball bearing for over 45,000/hrs CPU Cooler

Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate SP1 32-bit for System Builders

How future-proof is it?

The motherboard comes with an onboard ATI graphics card. Could that mess with the Nvidia card?

Could I run FSX at the highest settings with it? Could there be any compatibility issues with older games such as SH3, IL2 and OFF?

I compiled list this on Newegg for a total of $825. I haven't found a prebuilt machine with a similar processor, graphics card, plus a monitor for this price.

Thanks
AngusJS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-09, 09:01 PM   #2
Castout
Silent Hunter

Downloads: 89
Uploads: 6