SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Modern-Era Subsims > Dangerous Waters > DW Mod Workshop > DW Mission Designers' Forum
Forget password? Reset here

Old 05-09-06, 05:04 PM   #1
SubSerpent
Stowaway

Downloads:
Uploads:
Default How do you get a sub to ground?

I am trying to create a rescue mission with a "downed" sub on the bottom that I will have to rescue with my deployable DSRV. The problem is I am not good with scripting or triggers. I can only get the "downed sub" to hover at a certain depth but not all the way down because the mission editor keeps saying "Object Too Deep".
Also, I set the depth to lets say "600" ft and the speed to "0", so why is the sub in the mission doing its own thing?
Old 05-09-06, 07:49 PM   #2
SubSerpent
Stowaway

Downloads:
Uploads:

Does anyone know?
Old 05-09-06, 09:00 PM   #3
MaHuJa
Sonar Guy

Downloads: 3
Uploads: 0

I can imagine a script setting its speed to 0 (though it should preferrably be so already) and its depth to somewhere below the bottom should do it.

If the script forcing it to 0 knots does so indefinitely, it may be unable to evade torpedoes too - or it might not. Make sure to test what it does with a hostile torpedo heading towards it. Presuming there may be torpedoes fired from hostile platforms, of course.

Teaching DW newbies how to climb the food chain.
MaHuJa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-06, 09:44 PM   #4
Werewolf13
Torpedoman

Downloads: 62

Try using the damage systems options. Damage stuff that will make the sub unable to move. Haven't tried it myself but it should work otherwise the AI will do it's own thing and the AI in DW can be somewhat unpredictable sometimes.
Old 05-14-06, 12:31 AM   #5
MaHuJa
Sonar Guy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Werewolf13
Try using the damage systems options.
Player subs only - and for movement, the best you can do is set max speed to half of undamaged.