SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2010, 10:38 AM   #1
Bulkhead
中国水兵
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norway, Hordaland
Posts: 279
Downloads: 153
Uploads: 0
Default Torpedo mine.

A suggestion from the torpedo officer is that he would like to jam the torpedo rudder and make it go in circles, witch he call a kind of "mine". It may work in a convoi... Anyone tried this? I am scared to try this because that the "eal" may swim back and bite its owner...HARD!!!!
__________________
KHJ
Bulkhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 09:33 AM   #2
Fledermaus
Watch
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 27
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
Default

well have you tried it already? I'm facing the same question...
Fledermaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 09:45 AM   #3
SteamWake
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,224
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

Wait a second.. the officer will ask you if you want a circular runner? Thats awsome.. I've never seen it.

I guess the stratigy would be to launch it in their general direction and get down deep and out of the way.

Might be a good way to get that parting shot off.
__________________
Follow the progress of Mr. Mulligan : http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=147648
SteamWake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 09:55 AM   #4
captainprid
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Blackpool, England
Posts: 347
Downloads: 23
Uploads: 0
Default

I said no because I didn't know if you could ask him to turn it off again and I didn't want half/all my load out to be jammed torpedos
captainprid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 09:59 AM   #5
Westbroek
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: LA
Posts: 253
Downloads: 115
Uploads: 0
Default

I've been given this "mine concept" by the torpedo officer several times. Weirdly, I've told him to make it so every time...and every time, he seems to either lose interest or maybe decide it's a bad idea after all. All my eels run hot straight and normal. I can't figure out how to get his intentional circle runners to work.
Has anyone had any luck with this? Is my officer just ignoring an order or do I need to do something else?
I feel like the "luger" option is coming back in fashion here.
Westbroek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 10:04 AM   #6
mookiemookie
Navy Seal
 
mookiemookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,394
Downloads: 93
Uploads: 1
Default

I told him to do it once to see what happened. Later on in the patrol, I was firing off torpedoes in the middle of a convoy and a couple of my torpedoes didn't go anywhere. They just left the tube and stopped. I wasn't sure if it had something to do with the mine thing or if it was a bug. There was no indication that these were "mine torpedoes" or anything else before you fired them. It was strange.

Now I just tell him to forget the idea.
__________________
They don’t think it be like it is, but it do.

Want more U-boat Kaleun portraits for your SH3 Commander Profiles? Download the SH3 Commander Portrait Pack here.
mookiemookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 10:04 AM   #7
SteamWake
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,224
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

Did he have moral points? Kind of similar to "MAN THE DECK GUN"... nothing happens.
__________________
Follow the progress of Mr. Mulligan : http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=147648
SteamWake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 10:12 AM   #8
Nisgeis
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,889
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 11
Default

Isn't this just a reference to a mod that used a torpedo to make a mine? That's what I heard in another thread - I think it was in the Easter Eggs thread. I don't think it actually does anything.
__________________
--------------------------------
This space left intentionally blank.
Nisgeis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 10:13 AM   #9
Westbroek
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: LA
Posts: 253
Downloads: 115
Uploads: 0
Default

Well, I've been using the morale mod. So unless the morale mod for some reason doesn't affect the torpedo officer's tweaks, I don't think it was a morale issue. Besides, I like to keep my crew well fed
Westbroek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 08:47 PM   #10
Berlorian
Swabbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 13
Downloads: 89
Uploads: 0
Default hmm could this be

Heya.
i was just wondering if this could be what happened to me.
Not long after starting 2nd campaign and seeing that dialog about mine torps..

I launched a torp at a Merchant that was at 25* off my bow @ 2500M and the torp left the tube got 40M out then started to do a tight Circle to Port With a Radius of About 60M, i actualy had to move forward 20M or so to avoid being hit by my own torp..

It continued this Perfect Circle Around my boat Until it Experied & Sunk Detonating at about 60M deep by the sounds of it.(3km worth of circles of about 120M Circumference.)
While Waiting i fired another torp at the Merchant Attracting the attention of escort Nearby, But he didn't get to the circling torp in time to get hit.

So i dived and crept away

Maybe It Was Just Some Bug. But i did feel like i had a short lived gaurdian
Also do Torps have a minimum Safe Range they Arm at.. Had Many Bounce off When fired From under 100M From Target
Berlorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 08:25 AM   #11
bashprompt
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

You know, I can't find anything on this and the game has been out for years. The game is so horrible, honestly, it's so poorly made. It wouldn't surprise me if it actually does nothing. I told the idiot to make the mines a few patrols ago, and nothing since. But then again we get the same damn mission briefings and same missions the entire time. It's like they just weren't even bothered making a game with this version of SH. If I had of bought this game I would be absolutely fuming and demanding a refund or extracting the cost of the game via a house brick through the front office window of the developers.

So has ANYONE gotten these stupid things to work?
bashprompt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 09:46 AM   #12
Sailor Steve
Jammin' Again
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 50,011
Downloads: 606
Uploads: 249


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bashprompt View Post
You know, I can't find anything on this and the game has been out for years.
And this thread has been dead for four years. Interesting way to introduce yourself to the community.

Quote:
The game is so horrible, honestly, it's so poorly made. It wouldn't surprise me if it actually does nothing.
Since you just barely joined is it safe to assume you haven't followed all the good work that has been done making the game quite enjoyable?

Quote:
It's like they just weren't even bothered making a game with this version of SH.
While that complaint has been made many times before, they did leave us with the tools to make the game fully playable.

Quote:
If I had of bought this game I would be absolutely fuming and demanding a refund or extracting the cost of the game via a house brick through the front office window of the developers.
Are you saying you didn't buy the game? What version have you been playing then?

Before you answer, I suggest you read the Subsim Rules FAQ - all of them.
__________________
"Conversation would be vastly improved by the constant use of four simple words: I do not know."
—Andre Maurois




Sailor Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 10:09 AM   #13
Webster
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 6,236
Downloads: 259
Uploads: 55


Default

since the thread has risen from the dead i'll add something to it for any new readers

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteamWake View Post
Wait a second.. the officer will ask you if you want a circular runner? Thats awsome.. I've never seen it.

I guess the stratigy would be to launch it in their general direction and get down deep and out of the way.

Might be a good way to get that parting shot off.
yes, this is sorta what you do but it will stay where its fired so you need to be where you want the target to be when it gets hit (like dropping a mine).

you get deep enough, say 75 feet (so your not too deep to open the torpedo doors and fire a torpedo) then set the torpedo to run shallow and set it loose in the convoy or destroyer screen even.

you can set two or three off and space then apart so you have a good chance to get more then one target and finish it off after the rest of the ships move off or at a safe distance after its crippled.

I remember there was some work done (in sh4) to make a torpedo that had a speed of next to nothing so it would almost float like a mine but I don't think it was that popular because of how rare it would be to get hits unlike a circle runner that is very likely to take out any ship that crosses its path because it is circling
__________________
.
My Mods.~~/~~ (GFO) Game Fixes Only Mod.~~/~~ Mod Soup Fix

Last edited by Webster; 05-09-2014 at 08:01 AM.
Webster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 10:27 AM   #14
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 13,624
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default

I have gone both ways: acceding to my torpedoman's idea and not acceding; In both cases his morale goes up so no loss there. the only problem is ...I never know which eel has the rudder jam modification, so shooting is thrown off; so I just say no and shoot straight. Best to wait until proper FAT's are introduced. IMHO
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 01:17 PM   #15
CharlieA
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 5
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

With which torpedo can i create a mine? And how?
CharlieA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim