SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2016, 02:47 PM   #61
astradeus
Bosun
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 69
Downloads: 226
Uploads: 0
Icon14

Bravo, I see that you have advanced.

As you point out, it's a long task to modify the climatic regions of the "TerrainTypes.raw" file, add new missing regions in silent hunter and create unique textures for each region and seasons.

It seems that we had the same idea and intention almost at the same time.
I no longer play sh3. But according to your previous explanations, there are many common points between sh3 and sh5 files.

For information, sh5 uses two essential files in common:

C: \ Ubisoft \ Silent Hunter 5 \ data \ Terrain \ Terrain.cfg

C: \ Ubisoft \ Silent Hunter 5 \ data \ Terrain \ TerrainTypes.raw

The difference may be in the system of vegetation textures.

In sh5, textures are stored in

C: \ Ubisoft \ Silent Hunter 5 \ data \ Terrain \ Textures_and_Vegetation

They are 2048x256. Each texture is composed of 8 trees, representing a season. So there are 4 textures for a climate region.

The textures of the seasons are orgnanize with .ini files
like this one .

https://mega.nz/#!eEE3XSpY!VQyjJShr8...NKsDvf40Z6sQA4

I work on textures of 4096x512 and 2048x256 to create 2 versions.
One normal and one full resolution.

The graphics and the artistic part are the areas where I feel at ease. Conversely, the technical part bothers me and annoys me.

So I decided to concentrate for now, on the climatic regions that already exist in the game.

I will follow closely the evolution of your project.

Last edited by astradeus; 12-20-2016 at 03:30 PM.
astradeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 04:00 PM   #62
Tycho
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 343
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by astradeus View Post
As you point out, it's a long task to modify the climatic regions of the "TerrainTypes.raw" file.
TerrainTypes.raw is not big problem, I finished it long ago, and liked it to be simple.
The long task in SH3 for me are the forests files.
The forest file is responsible for distribution of the trees on the terrain.
It's a .dat file with many placement nodes, where you call specific tree and give it coordinates. And one forest file may contain hundreds or thousands of placement, so it's tedious, I don't do it every day.
 
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2016, 05:59 PM   #63
astradeus
Bosun
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 69
Downloads: 226
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tycho View Post
TerrainTypes.raw is not big problem, I finished it long ago, and liked it to be simple.
The long task in SH3 for me are the forests files.
The forest file is responsible for distribution of the trees on the terrain.
It's a .dat file with many placement nodes, where you call specific tree and give it coordinates. And one forest file may contain hundreds or thousands of placement, so it's tedious, I don't do it every day.
 
Indeed, it is a Colossal work that you have undertaken. I even wonder if it's reasonable? Why give so much importance to the placement of these trees?

Here is the reference that I wish to use to modify the map "TerrainTypes" of the climatic regions.

This is the "köppen climate classification"

https://learn.weatherstem.com/module...ons/88/12.html

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/K%C3%B...classification

I think it is possible to create more than 20 climatic regions with their unique vegetation.

What do you think?

Last edited by astradeus; 12-20-2016 at 10:02 PM.
astradeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 10:10 AM   #64
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,351
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

1. Would it be possible to have the same placement for the trees during summer and winter ? Because if (for example) you place correctly a bunker in summer, sometimes in winter there are trees just on it, and it's so bad looking !

2. What is that ? :

 
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 01:03 PM   #65
astradeus
Bosun
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 69
Downloads: 226
Uploads: 0
Default

2. What is that ?

I am not very sure, but I think it represents an area of vegetation. Unless otherwise stated, each yellow dot represents a tree.
The goal is to organize this set of points so that they are more natural or more concentrated or more.
astradeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 01:20 PM   #66
Tycho
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 343
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by astradeus View Post
Indeed, it is a Colossal work that you have undertaken.
Well, If I take myself in hands, I will make forest file with 1000 trees just for two max three days.
But for various reasons, I'm not in the mood for that, so that will extend to several months.

Quote:
Originally Posted by astradeus View Post

I think it is possible to create more than 20 climatic regions with their unique vegetation.

What do you think?
I will speak for SH3. Original TerrainTypes.raw have over 30 shades, so this is possibility for over 30 terrain types.
Will use Fahnenbohn screens from the second page of this topic:
 

Then is simplified through Terrain.cfg to 9 terrain types. So, even only with editings to [IdxConversion] is possible to make more terrain type of some regions.
 


But, I decided to make my own.
My approach is to do it simple, only 12 shades.
 

First shade cover the whole world, I call it generic. Then over it I draw, not too deep in land, next 11 shades. There is no point, to draw something in the middle of the continents.
And my terrain types are these:
Code:
[IdxConversion]
IDX 1=0;	/ Generic	/ 1 season
IDX 2=1; / Ice	/ 1 season
IDX 3=2; / Tundra	/ 2 seasons (winter, summer)
IDX 4=3; / Taiga	/ 2 seasons (winter, summer)
IDX 5=4; / Temperate North	/ 4 seasons (winter, spring, summer, autumn)
IDX 6=5; / Temperate South	/ 4 seasons (summer, autumn, winter, spring)
IDX 7=6; / Chaparral	/ 2 seasons (winter, summer)
IDX 8=7; / Desert	/ 1 season
IDX 9=8; / Jungle	/ 1 season
IDX 10=9; / Savanna	/ 2 seasons (dry, wet)
IDX 11=10; / Grassland North	/ 2 seasons (dry, wet)
IDX 12=11; / Grassland South	/ 2 seasons (dry, wet)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
1. Would it be possible to have the same placement for the trees during summer and winter ? Because if (for example) you place correctly a bunker in summer, sometimes in winter there are trees just on it, and it's so bad looking !
Well this is the right way to do it, don't change coordinates, just change the trees to autumn/winter variant.
How is it in the original files, I did not checked.

My way to make the forest file, will describe soon.
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.

Last edited by Tycho; 12-27-2016 at 01:28 PM.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2016, 01:27 PM   #67
Tycho
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 343
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 1


Default

Editings of this post: How the terrain texturing work.
I changed and added something important about Tex04.
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 08:39 AM   #68
astradeus
Bosun
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 69
Downloads: 226
Uploads: 0
Default

thank you for your answers .

No answer, I thought you were gone.

I am currently testing a map that I have created and that seems operational. It contains 32 different types of vegetation zones. But I am not yet satisfied with the accuracy of the actual data. This is my trial version. I chose to make big, because even if all zones are not exploited immediately, it is possible to associate several [IdxConversion] with the same type of vegetation.

For example:

IDX 1 = 6; Tropical / rainforest
IDX 2 = 6; Tropical / rainforest
IDX 3 = 6; Tropical / rainforest




Quote:
Originally Posted by Tycho View Post
And I accomplish my trees in completely different approach than original game.
Can you give me more explanations on this subject?

In my experimentation for sh5, I am looking for a way to get a better rendering of the textures in the game. I thought to modify the models "vegetation.GR2"
Or use the normal map textures for trees.

What are you going to do?

Last edited by astradeus; 12-28-2016 at 08:47 AM.
astradeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 02:37 AM   #69
itadriver
Ensign
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italia Venezia
Posts: 222
Downloads: 117
Uploads: 0
Default

OOPSS!!!!!

itadriver is online   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 12:37 AM   #70
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,351
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

what's going on here ?
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 12:42 AM   #71
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,351
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by astradeus View Post
I am currently testing a map that I have created and that seems operational. It contains 32 different types of vegetation zones.

That looks really good !

I think it would be cool to add new climates based on local climate + the altitude : firs in high altitude, and even no trees but only rocks or ice for very high altitudes.
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 03:37 AM   #72
itadriver
Ensign
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italia Venezia
Posts: 222
Downloads: 117
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
what's going on here ?
I'm trying to get the torpedoes working.
But the DD shoots the torpedo only to 90 degrees (elevation) and it falls into water immediately after being shot.
itadriver is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 06:01 AM   #73
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,351
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by astradeus View Post
Any progress here ?
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 11:18 AM   #74
Tycho
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sofia, Bg
Posts: 343
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 1


Default

Now I saw that last time when I work on my terrain and forest files is end of january.
Will finish this probably when the autumn come.
But now I have something new. Very interesting. But I'm on vacantion now, when get home will show and give you.
Until then, I'll let you guess.
__________________
If you ride like lightning, you're gonna crash like thunder.
Tycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 11:54 AM   #75
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,351
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tycho View Post
But now I have something new. Very interesting ... I'll let you guess.
May I guess without any clues ?
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim