SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2017, 05:58 AM   #1
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,345
Downloads: 19
Uploads: 0
Default Problem with materials while importing 3d model obj

Hi everyone!

I was working on add a second material to Queen of Bermuda AMC version, i manage how to add material in Maya, and i obtain this:



I was satisfied, but after a tour of the ship, i found this:



I check 3d model i imported, but still appear correct:



So what is wrong with import or model?

EDIT: For import i use 3Ditor, latest version..

Thanks and best regards!
Vd
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508
VonDos is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 07:03 AM   #2
Wise
Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: St.-Petersburg
Posts: 208
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

Full repeated purpose of materials, as a rule, fixes a problem.
To material #1 to appoint any other material, except 1 and 2.
To material #2 to appoint any other material, except 1, 2 and of new material #1.
Wise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 01:24 PM   #3
mikey117us
Planesman
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 187
Downloads: 158
Uploads: 0
Default

Have you experimented with that section of deck? i.e. highlight that portion of model export it, open it seperately and see what materials are assigned? Should be the material name and number it should also be uv mapped identical to the port side counterpart. The messy way to fix it is this way. Bring in the seperate .obj model of the deck section to replace the hidden, or the hole you made in the original. Then reimport into your node in S3D. You may then export it again from S3D to a separate folder and reimport it again, S3D can and does spank a model to correctness . I'm still a novice modder and 3D Modeller and more than once had results like this that sometimes are mistakes and sometimes ( frustratingly ) unexplained. If there is a better way ( as a novice ) I hope there is a post soon. I would like to know what happens.
mikey117us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 05:24 PM   #4
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,345
Downloads: 19
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey117us View Post
Have you experimented with that section of deck? i.e. highlight that portion of model export it, open it seperately and see what materials are assigned? Should be the material name and number it should also be uv mapped identical to the port side counterpart. The messy way to fix it is this way. Bring in the seperate .obj model of the deck section to replace the hidden, or the hole you made in the original. Then reimport into your node in S3D. You may then export it again from S3D to a separate folder and reimport it again, S3D can and does spank a model to correctness . I'm still a novice modder and 3D Modeller and more than once had results like this that sometimes are mistakes and sometimes ( frustratingly ) unexplained. If there is a better way ( as a novice ) I hope there is a post soon. I would like to know what happens.
Hi!
I've separated and re-imported wrong part of the deck as a different object, but in this area (well texturixed, yes!) damages are not applyed (they're visible only in one single object pointed by val file :-) )

Btw thanks a lot!
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508

Last edited by VonDos; 04-03-2017 at 06:30 PM.
VonDos is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 07:04 PM   #5
VonDos
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,345
Downloads: 19
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wise View Post
Full repeated purpose of materials, as a rule, fixes a problem.
To material #1 to appoint any other material, except 1 and 2.
To material #2 to appoint any other material, except 1, 2 and of new material #1.
BINGO!!

[IMG][/IMG]

Thanks a lot mate!
__________________

Those, others and WIP ships are avaiable in my SHIPYARD here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=136508
VonDos is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2017, 08:18 PM   #6
mikey117us
Planesman
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 187
Downloads: 158
Uploads: 0
Default

Nice vessel! As usual above and beyond! Glad it is working.
mikey117us is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim