SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2017, 12:29 PM   #46
Fubar2Niner
Silent Hunter
 
Fubar2Niner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London. UK
Posts: 4,118
Downloads: 244
Uploads: 0


Default

Does this mean we are going to get the Nelson also ?

Fubar
__________________


My Mediafire account:
http://www.mediafire.com/?pq6fesgls2il0
Fubar2Niner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 11:17 PM   #47
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,363
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

If VonDos or SquareSteelBar want to send me their files about the Nelson remapped, I will test them and add them into my mod.

Thx.
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 03:22 AM   #48
SquareSteelBar
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U-73
Posts: 1,604
Downloads: 458
Uploads: 0
Default

I still don't know what Nelson you mean.
SquareSteelBar is online   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 03:39 AM   #49
Fubar2Niner
Silent Hunter
 
Fubar2Niner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London. UK
Posts: 4,118
Downloads: 244
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SquareSteelBar View Post
I still don't know what Nelson you mean.
My guess is the original Nelson conversion Kendras did at the start of this thread. The current release is the Rodney, but without camo paint. At least that is the way I understand it, unless I am confused also

Best regards.

Fubar
__________________


My Mediafire account:
http://www.mediafire.com/?pq6fesgls2il0
Fubar2Niner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 03:45 AM   #50
SquareSteelBar
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U-73
Posts: 1,604
Downloads: 458
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fubar2Niner View Post
My guess is the original Nelson conversion Kendras did at the start of this thread...
But as he stated in post #20 it wasn't the Nelson.
SquareSteelBar is online   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 04:03 AM   #51
Fubar2Niner
Silent Hunter
 
Fubar2Niner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London. UK
Posts: 4,118
Downloads: 244
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SquareSteelBar View Post
But as he stated in post #20 it wasn't the Nelson.
Yes mate I see now what you mean, perhaps the mods should change the thread title It's all getting very confusing. maybe Kendras can enlighten us more. Having never played SH5 I ask this question, in SH5 is Rodney camo'd ?

Best regards.

Fubar
__________________


My Mediafire account:
http://www.mediafire.com/?pq6fesgls2il0
Fubar2Niner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 09:02 AM   #52
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,363
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fubar2Niner View Post
Yes mate I see now what you mean, perhaps the mods should change the thread title It's all getting very confusing. maybe Kendras can enlighten us more. Having never played SH5 I ask this question, in SH5 is Rodney camo'd ?

Best regards.

Fubar
At the beginning, I released the unit as the Nelson (VonDos sent me this model under this name). But I realized that it was in fact the Rodney, for several reasons :

- the ID numbers are identical with GWX Rodney
- if you open the .dat file, all the nodes are named "Rodney"
- the original SH5 file has the Rodney's camo :

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
Also, the hull's texture is not the historical one, because I've removed the AO map which darkened a lot the hull. Maybe if you want to try yourself, the map is here :

http://www.mediafire.com/file/pa80r1...ith_AO_map.zip
You can try yourself with this .dat file. Just rename it "Rodney" instead of "Nelson". This file does include none of my tweaks, it's the original one.

Now, about the Nelson : just the same unit as the Rodney, but as a separate unit (remapped), to replace the SH3 Nelson.
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 09:57 AM   #53
SquareSteelBar
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U-73
Posts: 1,604
Downloads: 458
Uploads: 0
Default

HMS Nelson converted from SH5 [IDs remapped]
SquareSteelBar is online   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 10:07 AM   #54
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,363
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Icon14

Quote:
Originally Posted by SquareSteelBar View Post
Thank you very much ! Just a question : did you remap from the SH5 Nelson or from SH5 Rodney ? I ask this because I've added some improvments in Rodney ...
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 10:57 AM   #55
SquareSteelBar
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U-73
Posts: 1,604
Downloads: 458
Uploads: 0
Default

It's based on your primarily released so called 'Nelson' from 02-06-2017 in post #1.

SquareSteelBar is online   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2017, 11:11 AM   #56
SquareSteelBar
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: U-73
Posts: 1,604
Downloads: 458
Uploads: 0
Default

BTW:
I've noticed that it is possible to sink Nelson and Rodney with only one lonely torp. That's a little poor I think...
SquareSteelBar is online   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 08:30 AM   #57
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,363
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SquareSteelBar View Post
BTW:
I've noticed that it is possible to sink Nelson and Rodney with only one lonely torp. That's a little poor I think...
I think it comes from your Zones.cfg file. Please post the settings paragraphs of these 2 zones : BBFlotShow and BBFloatMain, and precise what supermod you're using.

Else, I will soon release the final version with both ships (Nelson and Rodney) corrected. I've found a way to add camo to Rodney without side effect. About stairs, I'm not skilled enough in 3D modelling, sorry.
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 08:31 AM   #58
Fubar2Niner
Silent Hunter
 
Fubar2Niner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London. UK
Posts: 4,118
Downloads: 244
Uploads: 0


Default

Great news Kendras.

Fubar
__________________


My Mediafire account:
http://www.mediafire.com/?pq6fesgls2il0
Fubar2Niner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 11:22 AM   #59
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,363
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Do you like this ?



I wanted to add a white color instead of grey (where you see the little white stars), but it seems impossible.
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 12:11 PM   #60
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,363
Downloads: 17
Uploads: 0
Default

Maybe like this ?



Now, I would like to add camo to the deck ...
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim