SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
The newest naval sim by Totel Games!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations!

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2015, 02:19 PM   #31
sublynx
Retired from SH3 for now
 
sublynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the conning tower of my VIIC scanning the sea through the periscope
Posts: 1,652
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 7
Default

Strange happenings. As I reported in my last post in this thread, I got a report about a warship group in my grid. 15 knots, course West. I kept going at 15 knots myself, all through the night to get away from the group, and to search for a convoy BdU had informed me about.

I found the convoy, made a plot like this:



I then switched the dials in F6 to report a convoy, course 45 degrees True, speed 7 knots.

But... It reported this:



It guess it reports the suspected Hunter-killer group instead of the convoy

I tried reporting the convoy again, too. The same strange radio report again. Not a big thing, I can live with it.

Oh, and I've already had a successful wolfpack attack this patrol, so I don't mind that BdU ordered me to attack alone after the erroneous radio reports
__________________

NYGM+H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+MaGui WS
sublynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 02:38 PM   #32
LGN1
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,084
Downloads: 143
Uploads: 11
Default

Hi sublynx,

  • If a grid is already patrolled no further HK groups are sent
  • Normally the HK groups should not be reported on the map. For testing purposes I created the files with hourly reports and forgot to delete them in V1 Do you also have campaign files with _mod in the name? These should be the correct ones without map reports. Sorry about this. The most recent files just have these files.
  • I have no idea why your radio message shows other numbers than what you have entered. However, I don't think this is related to my mod. This mod should not change anything with respect to reporting convoys.
Regards, LGN1
LGN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2015, 06:47 AM   #33
sublynx
Retired from SH3 for now
 
sublynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the conning tower of my VIIC scanning the sea through the periscope
Posts: 1,652
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 7
Default

I have an older version since I haven't been able to finish my patrol yet. I'll see how it goes with the new version after I get to port.
__________________

NYGM+H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+MaGui WS
sublynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2015, 06:05 AM   #34
sublynx
Retired from SH3 for now
 
sublynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the conning tower of my VIIC scanning the sea through the periscope
Posts: 1,652
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 7
Default

Just thought I'd tell some experiences.

The bad:
I had a save game CTD so I had to abandon the patrol where a hunter-killer group appeared. I was using the old version of Submarine Tracking Room, but I'm now off the mod, as I want to keep playing with my current setup to see if my game is stable or not. I nearly ever have CTD's, although I'm constantly tinkering with my mod soup.

The good:
Playing with the mod was absolutely great. At first everything went like in a usual SH3 game. Patrolling, then attacking a convoy. Managed to get a wolfpack attack, though. Then patrolling again, getting another convoy report - and then a warship group was reported heading straight towards me. I was suddenly attacked by an airplane. I ran away from the hunter-killer group at night time trying to get to the convoy. Then while getting ready to attack the convoy, I start to get radar warning after radar warning. In the hydrophone I suddenly hear - or imagine hearing - three groups of ships. One convoy with its escorts and two warship groups with fast screws. (I don't know if it's possible to have 2 HKG's at the same area, but I was on the border of two grids). I ran away from the site submerged all through the day, and maximum cruise speed by night

Then made a save 170 km from the last radar warning spot, and 120 km from my last radio report, the one save that didn't load.

I have NEVER felt that hunted in SH3

It felt real historically correct to me. There I was northwest of Madeira, two large convoys, and suddenly aircrafts and hunter-killer groups jump out of nowhere, and the the radio reports that the allied have made a landing in North Africa. And then I felt a great reluctance to keep attacking that convoy, just like many of the later war U-boat commanders must have felt as well.

It's the first time in SH3 I had to make a decision: "If I attack that convoy, I will get hunted by its escorts, and there is a slight risk of the hunter-killer group joining them, and a big risk of getting attacked from the air, if I survive and surface to air the boat and load the batteries."

Once I get my stability issues cleared, I'll install V2 and begin playing with that. And if nothing else helps, I'll not save at sea - I'll just hibernate the game and only save at ports.
__________________

NYGM+H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+MaGui WS
sublynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 01:19 PM   #35
LGN1
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,084
Downloads: 143
Uploads: 11
Default

Hi sublynx,

thanks for your long post!

Since the mod changes campaign files during a patrol, CTD can easily happen if one is not cautious. I assume you have always used the mod when loading a save-game.

In your save-game folder there should be a file "LGN_old_entries.txt". Do you still have this? Would you mind posting the content here?

In addition, do you still have the "Randomised events.cfg" file that was used when loading the save-game? If yes could you please post the entries below the line ";---DO NOT CHANGE THIS SECTION / DIESEN ABSCHNITT NICHT ÄNDERN---"?

It would be a great help if you could start a new career and do some tests for me with V1. Just start a patrol, move to some grid in the Atlantic, and send a few status reports (after 1.1.'43). Then leave the game and load the save-game again. Change the grid and do the same again. In order to make it easier I recommend to use an empty campaign_lnd.mis file so that you start your patrol at the equator. In addition, I recommend to set the squadron number to zero in the file 'NCVE_Bogue.cfg'. You can then more easily escape to the next grid. Just do this and see whether you get CTDs.

Regards, LGN1
LGN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 08:19 AM   #36
sublynx
Retired from SH3 for now
 
sublynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the conning tower of my VIIC scanning the sea through the periscope
Posts: 1,652
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 7
Default

I'll see what I can do when I get to my computer. I'm not sure if I have V1 in my game anymore as I was getting ready to install V2 but I'll get back to you if I need a copy of V1.
__________________

NYGM+H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+MaGui WS
sublynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 09:54 AM   #37
sublynx
Retired from SH3 for now
 
sublynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the conning tower of my VIIC scanning the sea through the periscope
Posts: 1,652
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 7
Default

The contents of LGN_old_entries.txt:

0
0


and then randomised events.cfg:

;---DO NOT CHANGE THIS SECTION / DIESEN ABSCHNITT NICHT ÄNDERN---
[917:data\Campaigns\Campaign\Campaign_SCR.mis]
ChooseFrom=1
RndMidPat=1

0_Group 53.Unit 1|GameEntryDate=19421106
0_Group 53.Unit 1|GameExitDate=19421120
0_Group 53.Unit 1|Long=-2111972.503906
0_Group 53.Unit 1|Lat=4114835.714844
0_Group 53.Unit 1.Waypoint 1|Long=-2364431.000000
0_Group 53.Unit 1.Waypoint 1|Lat=4108803.000000
0_Group 53.Unit 1.Waypoint 2|Long=-2364431.000000
0_Group 53.Unit 1.Waypoint 2|Lat=4028803.000000
0_Group 53.Unit 1.Waypoint 3|Long=-2144431.000000
0_Group 53.Unit 1.Waypoint 3|Lat=4028803.000000
0_Group 53.Unit 1.Waypoint 4|Long=-2144431.000000
0_Group 53.Unit 1.Waypoint 4|Lat=3948803.000000
0_Group 53.Unit 1.Waypoint 5|Long=-2364431.000000
0_Group 53.Unit 1.Waypoint 5|Lat=3948803.000000
0_Group 53.Unit 2|GameEntryDate=19421106
0_Group 53.Unit 2|GameExitDate=19421120
0_Group 53.Unit 2|Long=-2111200.503906
0_Group 53.Unit 2|Lat=4117213.714844
0_Group 53.Unit 3|GameEntryDate=19421106
0_Group 53.Unit 3|GameExitDate=19421120
0_Group 53.Unit 3|Long=-2109472.503906
0_Group 53.Unit 3|Lat=4114835.714844
0_Group 53.Unit 4|GameEntryDate=19421106
0_Group 53.Unit 4|GameExitDate=19421120
0_Group 53.Unit 4|Long=-2111200.503906
0_Group 53.Unit 4|Lat=4112457.714844
0_Group 53.Unit 5|GameEntryDate=19421106
0_Group 53.Unit 5|GameExitDate=19421120
0_Group 53.Unit 5|Long=-2113994.503906
0_Group 53.Unit 5|Lat=4113365.714844
0_Group 53.Unit 6|GameEntryDate=19421106
0_Group 53.Unit 6|GameExitDate=19421120
0_Group 53.Unit 6|Long=-2113994.503906
0_Group 53.Unit 6|Lat=4116305.714844

[918:data\Campaigns\Campaign\Campaign_SCR.mis]
ChooseFrom=1
RndMidPat=1

0_Group 54.Unit 1|GameEntryDate=19421107
0_Group 54.Unit 1|GameExitDate=19421121
0_Group 54.Unit 1|Long=-2338185.410156
0_Group 54.Unit 1|Lat=4223563.728516
0_Group 54.Unit 1.Waypoint 1|Long=-2569765.000000
0_Group 54.Unit 1.Waypoint 1|Lat=4258167.000000
0_Group 54.Unit 1.Waypoint 2|Long=-2569765.000000
0_Group 54.Unit 1.Waypoint 2|Lat=4338167.000000
0_Group 54.Unit 1.Waypoint 3|Long=-2349765.000000
0_Group 54.Unit 1.Waypoint 3|Lat=4338167.000000
0_Group 54.Unit 1.Waypoint 4|Long=-2349765.000000
0_Group 54.Unit 1.Waypoint 4|Lat=4418167.000000
0_Group 54.Unit 1.Waypoint 5|Long=-2569765.000000
0_Group 54.Unit 1.Waypoint 5|Lat=4418167.000000
0_Group 54.Unit 2|GameEntryDate=19421107
0_Group 54.Unit 2|GameExitDate=19421121
0_Group 54.Unit 2|Long=-2337413.410156
0_Group 54.Unit 2|Lat=4225941.728516
0_Group 54.Unit 3|GameEntryDate=19421107
0_Group 54.Unit 3|GameExitDate=19421121
0_Group 54.Unit 3|Long=-2335685.410156
0_Group 54.Unit 3|Lat=4223563.728516
0_Group 54.Unit 4|GameEntryDate=19421107
0_Group 54.Unit 4|GameExitDate=19421121
0_Group 54.Unit 4|Long=-2337413.410156
0_Group 54.Unit 4|Lat=4221185.728516
0_Group 54.Unit 5|GameEntryDate=19421107
0_Group 54.Unit 5|GameExitDate=19421121
0_Group 54.Unit 5|Long=-2340207.410156
0_Group 54.Unit 5|Lat=4222093.728516
0_Group 54.Unit 6|GameEntryDate=19421107
0_Group 54.Unit 6|GameExitDate=19421121
0_Group 54.Unit 6|Long=-2340207.410156
0_Group 54.Unit 6|Lat=4225033.728516

[919:data\Campaigns\Campaign\Campaign_SCR.mis]
ChooseFrom=1
RndMidPat=1

0_Group 55.Unit 1|GameEntryDate=19421108
0_Group 55.Unit 1|GameExitDate=19421122
0_Group 55.Unit 1|Long=-2432694.931641
0_Group 55.Unit 1|Lat=4562958.992188
0_Group 55.Unit 1.Waypoint 1|Long=-2205765.000000
0_Group 55.Unit 1.Waypoint 1|Lat=4526167.000000
0_Group 55.Unit 1.Waypoint 2|Long=-2205765.000000
0_Group 55.Unit 1.Waypoint 2|Lat=4446167.000000
0_Group 55.Unit 1.Waypoint 3|Long=-2425765.000000
0_Group 55.Unit 1.Waypoint 3|Lat=4446167.000000
0_Group 55.Unit 1.Waypoint 4|Long=-2425765.000000
0_Group 55.Unit 1.Waypoint 4|Lat=4366167.000000
0_Group 55.Unit 1.Waypoint 5|Long=-2205765.000000
0_Group 55.Unit 1.Waypoint 5|Lat=4366167.000000
0_Group 55.Unit 2|GameEntryDate=19421108
0_Group 55.Unit 2|GameExitDate=19421122
0_Group 55.Unit 2|Long=-2431922.931641
0_Group 55.Unit 2|Lat=4565336.992188
0_Group 55.Unit 3|GameEntryDate=19421108
0_Group 55.Unit 3|GameExitDate=19421122
0_Group 55.Unit 3|Long=-2430194.931641
0_Group 55.Unit 3|Lat=4562958.992188
0_Group 55.Unit 4|GameEntryDate=19421108
0_Group 55.Unit 4|GameExitDate=19421122
0_Group 55.Unit 4|Long=-2431922.931641
0_Group 55.Unit 4|Lat=4560580.992188
0_Group 55.Unit 5|GameEntryDate=19421108
0_Group 55.Unit 5|GameExitDate=19421122
0_Group 55.Unit 5|Long=-2434716.931641
0_Group 55.Unit 5|Lat=4561488.992188
0_Group 55.Unit 6|GameEntryDate=19421108
0_Group 55.Unit 6|GameExitDate=19421122
0_Group 55.Unit 6|Long=-2434716.931641
0_Group 55.Unit 6|Lat=4564428.992188

;---DO NOT CHANGE THE SECTION ABOVE / DEN ABSCHNITT OBERHALB NICHT ÄNDERN---


I do seem to have V1 still in my computer, so I'll get back to the testing when I get some time to do it.
__________________

NYGM+H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+MaGui WS
sublynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 02:34 PM   #38
LGN1
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,084
Downloads: 143
Uploads: 11
Default

Thanks for posting, sublynx!

It's weired. You have three HK groups, i.e., everything worked fine for at least two save-games However, the two zeroes in LGN_old_entries.txt are wrong. There should be at least two HK groups

Was there anything "non-usual" during your patrol? Did you dock at a supply ship? Did you load a save-game that was not the last one?

I will check the code again whether I can find any reason for your results.

Regards, LGN1

PS: You can also use V2 for testing. However, V1 has the advantage that the HK groups are reported on the map.
LGN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 10:44 PM   #39
sublynx
Retired from SH3 for now
 
sublynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the conning tower of my VIIC scanning the sea through the periscope
Posts: 1,652
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 7
Default

It could be a loading procedure related error then. One patrol usually takes something like at least two weeks to finish. I might have been developing my Lighthouses and Entrance Points mod back then, and that would have been something that would have forced me to load a test career now and then. I also had Submarine Tracking Room as a shortcut on my Desktop, but right beside the shortcut for SH3Commander. It is possible that I would have accidentally just started the game following the old routine of starting SH3 through SH3Commander.

Another possibility might be memory related. I have 4 GB's of memory and the system seems to be struggling with long loading times, even if I don't use MFM anymore. 3 HKG's is a lot if the groups are all near me, together with the convoy I was stalking?

Strange happenings? Yeah trying to report the convoy did not work as I expected. First I thought I reported the convoy with its speed and course (7kn NE) but the radio report gave a HKG's course and speed (15 W). I tried reporting the convoy again but then the radio report gave the data of 2 HKG's, and not the convoy. Now that I know there were 3 groups there is a slight possibility that in low visibility I would have locked on the ships of the groups' instead of the convoy's, if 2 of the groups would have been behind (east from my u-boat) the convoy.

Did you say v1 gives the convoy map positions? It did that in radio messages from BdU, but there were no signs on the navigation map. Come to think of it, the only signs I see in my Navigation Map are the signs indicating a convoy - if the convoy isn't right next to me.
__________________

NYGM+H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+MaGui WS
sublynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 12:50 AM   #40
brett25
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland CA, USA
Posts: 729
Downloads: 555
Uploads: 0
Default

hi lgn1

i also had a CTD when loading a new patrol with the mod activated...I fear this mod will be adding another layer to the CTD problem already plaguing SH3. Messing with the campaign files during a patrol may be a no trespass area of modding, im not sure. It took me many month of troubleshooting in the past to fix a recurrent CTD issue and I have been free now for two years, CTD is always mod inflicted, the vanilla game doesn't have this behavior. As much as I would like to use this mod, and I think the concept is brilliant, I just can't go back to CTD land again.
brett25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 06:25 AM   #41
sublynx
Retired from SH3 for now
 
sublynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the conning tower of my VIIC scanning the sea through the periscope
Posts: 1,652
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 7
Default

To me this mod is a must have mod. Even if it would cause CTD's I could just keep saving the game until a HKG appears. Then I would stop saving and just hibernate the game instead. Port saves always work.

I think we need some more information on the workings of the mod to see if it really is CTD risky, and even if it was, LGN1 might be able to fix any problems.

I've now started an experimental career to see if any CTD's appear. Maybe by weekend I can report back on that.
__________________

NYGM+H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+MaGui WS
sublynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 05:32 AM   #42
areo16
Stinking drunk in Trinidad
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 349
Downloads: 55
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sublynx View Post
To me this mod is a must have mod. Even if it would cause CTD's I could just keep saving the game until a HKG appears. Then I would stop saving and just hibernate the game instead. Port saves always work.

I think we need some more information on the workings of the mod to see if it really is CTD risky, and even if it was, LGN1 might be able to fix any problems.

I've now started an experimental career to see if any CTD's appear. Maybe by weekend I can report back on that.
I'm going to go out on a limb here and say that the reason for the ctd's may be because the HKG are being spawned within the rendering radius of the uboat. And when a ship is added to the campaign layer within the rendering radius, after a save and before a load, then there is a ctd. This is my guess. I'm sure the save game files have information of what is already rendered.

Note: I have not tested this mod yet, but I do have some understanding of how it works.
areo16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 11:37 AM   #43
sublynx
Retired from SH3 for now
 
sublynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the conning tower of my VIIC scanning the sea through the periscope
Posts: 1,652
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 7
Default

That would make sense. I understand that convoys in SH3 are not of historical size because the computers would not be able to handle the amount of ships. 3 HKG's would add 15 - 18 ships to the vicinity. Maybe I'll have a look at the distances in SH3MissionEditor.
__________________

NYGM+H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+MaGui WS
sublynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 12:02 PM   #44
sublynx
Retired from SH3 for now
 
sublynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the conning tower of my VIIC scanning the sea through the periscope
Posts: 1,652
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 7
Default

Here are the approximate locations of the HKG's at the save game that failed to load. There are hundreds of kilometers between them, so it's probably not about the rendering disctance - if I understood the latitude/longitude thing in SH3MissionEditor correctly.

__________________

NYGM+H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+MaGui WS
sublynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 02:07 PM   #45
sublynx
Retired from SH3 for now
 
sublynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the conning tower of my VIIC scanning the sea through the periscope
Posts: 1,652
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 7
Default

Well. I now did some test saving and loading, and after a cycle of three messages and three loadings, the game loaded ok, just to CTD the moment I upped the TC to get into the next grid.

Randomised events.cfg:

----------
;---DO NOT CHANGE THIS SECTION / DIESEN ABSCHNITT NICHT ÄNDERN---
;---DO NOT CHANGE THE SECTION ABOVE / DEN ABSCHNITT OBERHALB NICHT ÄNDERN---


LGN OldEntries.txt:

0
0

So no HKG, but still a CTD. But I did do the unthinkable - I have been adding mods between the saves. My real career save did work although, even if I saved submerged near a destroyer while heading for the Gibraltar Straits.
__________________

NYGM+H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+MaGui WS
sublynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim