SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Killerfish Games > COLD WATERS
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2018, 02:52 AM   #1
Delfi
Seaman
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Below the thermocline
Posts: 38
Downloads: 56
Uploads: 0
SHO Framerate issue

I have a curious problem and I don't know what to do about it. I have a slight, but noticeable framerate drop anytime the ocean surface is in view. If pan down so that no part of the ocean surface is in view the problem goes away. Is there a fix for this?
Delfi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 03:24 AM   #2
Nathaniel B.
Navigator
 
Nathaniel B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 145
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0


Default

Maybe try lowering the quality of the ocean surface in the video settings. I have the same problem on my laptop and I suspect it's because it's not meant for gaming. A better video card and/or more ram would probably help. You could also try messing around with some of the other graphics settings.
__________________
If you have a question about celestial navigation ... ask me!
Nathaniel B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 05:15 AM   #3
Delfi
Seaman
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Below the thermocline
Posts: 38
Downloads: 56
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathaniel B. View Post
Maybe try lowering the quality of the ocean surface in the video settings. I have the same problem on my laptop and I suspect it's because it's not meant for gaming. A better video card and/or more ram would probably help. You could also try messing around with some of the other graphics settings.
I have tried lowering ocean quality. Doesn't work. I have a 2GB video card and 24GB RAM. DCS runs fine. ArmA III runs fine. Just not this game that used to run fine on my old machine. It runs fine as long as the ocean surface is not in view. If it was a graphics card issue that would not be the case.
Delfi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 05:35 AM   #4
ChrisTayeb
Watch
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: West Borneo (Indonesia)
Posts: 19
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default

Me it occurs when I use the compress time F9, but sporadically, i got plenty of ram and a decent video card so it might be an encoding thing.
Or maybe, the mod affects the main game on some parts, do u use a mod?
ChrisTayeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 05:45 AM   #5
Delfi
Seaman
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Below the thermocline
Posts: 38
Downloads: 56
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisTayeb View Post
Me it occurs when I use the compress time F9, but sporadically, i got plenty of ram and a decent video card so it might be an encoding thing.
Or maybe, the mod affects the main game on some parts, do u use a mod?
The only mod I use is the All Playable Subs mod. That should not cause a framerate issue.

I'm thinking it's a lack of optimization issue. It may also be something related to draw distance which I can't change because we only get one graphics "slider."
Delfi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 06:04 AM   #6
Julhelm
Cold Waters Dev
 
Julhelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Icy North
Posts: 632
Downloads: 169
Uploads: 0
Default

The ocean runs on the CPU because we need to query it for the wave heights.
Julhelm is online   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 06:14 AM   #7
Delfi
Seaman
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Below the thermocline
Posts: 38
Downloads: 56
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Julhelm View Post
The ocean runs on the CPU because we need to query it for the wave heights.
Is there any way then that I can fix this? I am playing on a six-core system.
Delfi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 06:24 AM   #8
ChrisTayeb
Watch
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: West Borneo (Indonesia)
Posts: 19
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delfi View Post
The only mod I use is the All Playable Subs mod. That should not cause a framerate issue.

I'm thinking it's a lack of optimization issue. It may also be something related to draw distance which I can't change because we only get one graphics "slider."
do u use a gog installed game or the original?
ChrisTayeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 04:15 PM   #9
Delfi
Seaman
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Below the thermocline
Posts: 38
Downloads: 56
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Julhelm View Post
The ocean runs on the CPU because we need to query it for the wave heights.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisTayeb View Post
do u use a gog installed game or the original?
The original Steam version.
Delfi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 08:07 PM   #10
ChrisTayeb
Watch
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: West Borneo (Indonesia)
Posts: 19
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default

Hmm well I'm sorry I can't help more, mine is a gog, things came even once I had both game and gog updated
I do have a framerate issue when I play on my laptop while on travel because let's be honest it isn't meant to play on but I'm running it fine on my pc though

Best try to contact killerfish devs then
ChrisTayeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 12:21 AM   #11
Delfi
Seaman
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Below the thermocline
Posts: 38
Downloads: 56
Uploads: 0
Default

Don't tell me the solution is to buy another copy from GoG.
Delfi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 08:39 AM   #12
FPSchazly
The One and Only
 
FPSchazly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 551
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0


Default

What do you mean "original" Steam version? You have it on Steam and it updates and such?

What are your full specs?
__________________
Your friendly neighborhood modern submarine YouTuber! Also your Cold Waters sonarman

**NEW** 688(I) Hunter/Killer Playthrough
Cold Waters Playthrough
All Dangerous Waters Videos

This is my fault, but it's pronounced F-P-S chazly
FPSchazly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 11:38 AM   #13
Julhelm
Cold Waters Dev
 
Julhelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Icy North
Posts: 632
Downloads: 169
Uploads: 0
Default

It's obviously related to your particular setup, especially since the game ran fine on your previous system. Try enabling vsync, if that doesn't help, could be a driver issue.
Julhelm is online   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 07:25 PM   #14
ChrisTayeb
Watch
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: West Borneo (Indonesia)
Posts: 19
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delfi View Post
Don't tell me the solution is to buy another copy from GoG.
I haven't, I said try contacting the devs to explain your framerate issue, they make the game least they can do is help out those who use if they meet an issue.
Because here we keep on assuming that we know what's the cause and how to solve, yet we speak and your problem remains...
Just a suggestion buddy
ChrisTayeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 05:40 AM   #15
XenonSurf
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 526
Downloads: 30
Uploads: 0
Default

Previously I had installed the game on my laptop, i5 2.8 GHz but it turned out to be NOT powerful enough even with a dedicated GPU card.

To check if your system is powerful enough to run the game, you simply launch the game and go in the Credits section. If the demo grafics run jerky you know you are going to have serious FPS problems in the game. Only thing you could do if not changing to a more powerful system is to tweak down the grafic options to minimal, but the game will stop to look nice...
I moved the game on a more powerful i7 desktop with a processor up to 4 GHz, since then I don't have to watch my FPS...
XenonSurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim