SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2018, 03:35 PM   #1411
overseer108
Nub
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Default Installation mid-campaign

Hey guys,

I was wondering if it was OK to install this mod between two patrols or if there was any reasons it could cause problems in the long run. (I'm new to modding SH3 thoroughly)

Thanks a lot!
overseer108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 03:57 PM   #1412
ivanov.ruslan
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pleven,BG
Posts: 1,057
Downloads: 847
Uploads: 0
Default

You can, but you have to be in the harbor
ivanov.ruslan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 04:14 PM   #1413
overseer108
Nub
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanov.ruslan View Post
You can, but you have to be in the harbor
Thanks a lot for the reassurance!
overseer108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 02:40 PM   #1414
lootcorp
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default Help installing MFM 3.3

Hi guys, bit of a newb here so hopefully you can help make sense of this...

I currently have SH3 installed w/ GWX3.0 installed as well. I'd love to start using MFM 3.3 but not really sure what to do...

I downloaded the rar file on page one of the thread, which contains folders called Library, Roster, and Sea. What do I do with these? The instructions in the readme are a bit cryptic:

"-Download the various skin packs to your mods folder and enable the same way (highly recommended)

-Extract in JSGME's mod folder, and then enable. Ignore any messages about conflicts."

Do I need to download separate skin packs? Where do I copy the three folders from the rar file?

Also, I already have a career started, do I need to end the career to install MFM?

Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated!
lootcorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 03:34 PM   #1415
CTU_Clay
The Lone Wolf
 
CTU_Clay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 77418
Posts: 713
Downloads: 220
Uploads: 0


Default "loopcorp"

Quote:
"loopcorp"
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Welcome to SubSim "loopcorp"
__________________
"The Lone Wolf"

Silent Hunter III / GWX
CTU_Clay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 04:13 PM   #1416
Kelly621
Officer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 236
Downloads: 329
Uploads: 0
Default Might Help

1. Download JSGME from here:
www.subsim.com/radioroom/downloads.php?do=file&id=4725
This great little program will make installing and uninstalling mods for SH3 easy for you.

2. Extract the JSGME zip file into the folder you have SH3/GWX installed ( for example C:\SH3_GWX or whatever name you have installed under) You should not install SH3 in your C:\Program (X86) directory.

3. Once you have extracted JSGME into your SH3/GWX folder you will see this file jsgme_setup.exe


4. Double click on jsgme_setup.exe and the program will ask you what folder you want the program installed to....select the folder you have GWX installed in. You will then see JSGME. application file in your GWX folder.... double click it and a box will open...you will see a small box to the left with the text "MODS" in it ...click ok and it will create the folder MODS in you GWX folder. This is where you will place your mods. the main JSGME window will open....exist the program for now. read over the JSGME documentation.


5.Now extract Merchant_Fleet_Mod_3.3.rar into the MODS folder JSGME created for you in your GWX folder. You will now have a folder named "MFM_Improved" in the MODS folder.


6.Start JSGME and you will see MFM_Improved in the left side window click on it to select it. Next click on the > arrow and it will load the merchant fleet mod into you GWX and you will now see MFM_improved in the right hand activated mods window...that's it for the main mod your ready to go. If you want to remove the mod simply select the mod in the right hand window and click the < arrow and it will be unloaded.


7. If your going to use the Merchant skin packs that is a whole different ball game since you will be using date folders. You can put the correct skins at the correct time periods into GWX using JSGME. However it is much easier to use SH3 Commander (another must have program for a bunch of reasons). Once you setup SH3 Commander it can swap the skins in and out depending on the date automatically, you don't have to worry about it. Read about its features here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...t=our+mod+list

Using SH3 Commander is another different set of instruction. If you decide to go the SH3 Commander way PM me. Getting tired of typing, but I hope this helps.

It really is not that complex once you mess with these programs a bit.


Kelly621

Last edited by Kelly621; 09-11-2018 at 04:41 PM.
Kelly621 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 04:59 PM   #1417
lootcorp
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default

Kelly, thank you for the detailed writeup! PM sent for some more info on the SH3 Commander option.

CTU_Clay, thank you for the warm welcome!
lootcorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 05:04 PM   #1418
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 13,829
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome aboard!

lootcorp!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 10:01 PM   #1419
lootcorp
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default

Stupid question - so I have the mod and the SH3 Commander skins installed via JSGME (BIG thanks to Kelly621 for the help!) but how do I know if it is working?

I go to the Museum and see lots of ships, but I don't see any that look like the screenshots in the first page of this thread...none of the ships have any company names, or flags on the hull, etc...

Is there a way I can specifically check to see if the mod is working? And if it isn't, any advice on what to check?

I had a similar issue with the h.sie patch where SH3 Commander was overwriting the en_menu.txt file every launch, could this be something similar where SH3 Commander is overwriting the changes the mod is making?

Much thanks! Sorry for all the questions!

lootcorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 10:10 PM   #1420
lootcorp
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default

Also, just to clarify here's what I'm trying to get running, if anyone has any advice on how to install/activate all of this to get it to play nicely I'd love to hear it!

SH3 1.4 (from Amazon)
GWX 3.0
4GB patch (installed using SH3 Front End)
h.sie patch 1.61b1 (installed using SH3 Front End)
MSM 3.3
MSM Sh3 Commander Skins
Ahnenerbe WideGui 1920x1080 Final
SH3 Commander

lootcorp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 03:38 AM   #1421
Dagoth_Ur
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Penvénan (Bretagne, France)
Posts: 73
Downloads: 85
Uploads: 5
Default

Hello lootcorp.
I had the sames questions as you when i downloaded the mod, you have all the answers on the previous pages ;-)
If you can see the new ships in museum, you will see them during patrols.
I have destroyed some of them with my little type2a




An answer of Gap that explain me how it works:

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Roughly speaking, in campaign files there are two ways to set ships within convoys and task forces: a specific class of ships (Liberty, Victory, C3, etc.) can be selected, or a generic entry can be used instead, where only ship nationality and type (cargo, passenger, tanker, etc.) is specified. This second method, which is by far the one most commonly used, ensures that any new ship added to the game will spawn in convoys, as far as it is in the roster of a nation with generic entries in the campaign files

You can launch a campaign patrol to see them ;-)
__________________
Dagoth_Ur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 10:47 AM   #1422
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,277
Downloads: 694
Uploads: 10


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagoth_Ur View Post
An answer of Gap that explain me how it works:
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 10:06 AM   #1423
VONHARRIS
Konteradmiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 2,084
Downloads: 276
Uploads: 0
Default

Ok , I admit I can not figure it out , may be my old age.

I can not remember the correct format to enable the MFM ships in SH3 Commander to get the names working.

Any help is appreciated.
Thank you.
__________________
Eichenlaub mit Schwertern und Brillanten zum Ritterkreuz des Eisernen Kreuz
VONHARRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 12:16 PM   #1424
Kelly621
Officer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 236
Downloads: 329
Uploads: 0
Default MFM skins

Von Harris,

This uses the Date folders in SH3 Commander. The easy way to explain it is to send you the SH3 Commander JSGME ready mod I set up for this. You can then see how I set this up by looking at it...it is ready to use as is and saves you a bit of manual work. If you have a drop box account I can upload the file to you directly...it is to big to send as a gmail attached file.

PM me if you want the file.


Kelly621

By all means add the Ships Names list to SH3 Commander that Sailor Steve created and gave you a link to below in his post. It really adds to MFM

Last edited by Kelly621; 09-23-2018 at 01:16 PM.
Kelly621 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 12:22 PM   #1425
Sailor Steve
Jammin' Again
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 50,285
Downloads: 607
Uploads: 249


Default

To get the most out of the MFM you might also want to try this.
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=4671
__________________
"If mankind minus one were of one opinion, then mankind is no more justified in silencing the one than the one – if he had the power – would be justified in silencing mankind."
—John Stuart Mill



Sailor Steve is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim