SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Sonalysts Combat Sims > Dangerous Waters
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2017, 11:51 AM   #1
Shawshank237
Nub
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 7
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default Windowed Mode in Win 10?

Has anyone had success in running Dangerous Waters in windowed mode on a Windows 10 machine?

Anyone?
__________________
Get busy livin' or get busy dyin'.
Shawshank237 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 08:00 PM   #2
Japo32
Watch
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 23
Downloads: 74
Uploads: 0
Default

Me not.. and I tried with different programs that promise to put in windows old 8bits graphics.. but no luck.
I hear that content creators update was able to reproduce old games in window frames... But I don't know if that is true or not.
Japo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 01:57 AM   #3
Pirate
Engineer
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oeiras, PORTUGAL
Posts: 202
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 0
Default

Look at this post of mine:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...5&postcount=82

It contains a link and basic instructions to a patch that allows you to run DW in a window on Win10.
__________________
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 07:28 AM   #4
Japo32
Watch
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 23
Downloads: 74
Uploads: 0
Default

But does it works? You edit your post at the end and says (but this wrapper only works with DW in window mode...) when you have to put window mode to DW.
I didn't try because virus total page says me it has lots of trojans, but the page of the creator says they are false. Who believe?
Japo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 02:18 AM   #5
Pirate
Engineer
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oeiras, PORTUGAL
Posts: 202
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 0
Default

What file did you check on virus total and what result exactly did virus total return?
I must say that the exe file is not totally needed for our needs as it's just the configuration app!
The files in the MS folder are the ones that do the job.

It does work. I've been using it for a few weeks now and haven't found any problems yet, aside from the one that Komat's wrapper also has (CTD changing resolution inside the game).

To clarify that edit, I found that it only works with DW set to load on window mode, if DW is set to fullscreen than it crashes and it's better to use Komat's patch.

Conclusion, now we have a wrapper for fullscreen and another wrapper for window mode.
I personally just made them JSGME compatitle and switch between the 2 of them with JSGME.
__________________
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2017, 06:48 AM   #6
Japo32
Watch
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 23
Downloads: 74
Uploads: 0
Default

All the 3 files in the MS folder has information about trojans in some of the detectors. If I pass the d3d8.dll that was first given to make it compatible with Windows10, it doesn't have risk. So I believe I will pass on this one for security reasons. Maybe aparently nothing happens in the computer, but trojans, usually not make any "noise"
As shame.
Japo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim