SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2017, 01:07 PM   #1
Scottvdken
Watch
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 20
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Default TWOS & Voice Recognition

I see a speech recognition mod available, but it says it is not compatible with UI mods. Will it work with TWOS?
Scottvdken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 02:00 PM   #2
hauangua
Commodore
 
hauangua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 604
Downloads: 1122
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottvdken View Post
Ia see a speech recognition mod available, but it says it is not compatible with UI mods. Will it work with TWOS?
Never add "strange MOD"
Vecko repeats it a lot of times in mainly page of TWoS:

"DO NOT add any additional mods if you are not 100% sure what you are doing or you may induce all kind of stability and gameplay related issues!
Keep in mind that most of the standalone mods outhere are incompatible with this expansion. "

DO NOT ADD
__________________
Parked under the balcony with my U-27 waiting Juliet finish makeup
hauangua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 02:20 PM   #3
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,039
Downloads: 939
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi Scott
No problem with using a speech mod with TWOS.
Try to keep to the more basic commands and you will be ok.
Very useful for navigation and precious seconds saved with the crash dive order.
You need this version comes with documentation
Speech Recognition for SH5 - v1.4 - MiTon's Edition v0.4 - english
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=3085
Peter
THEBERBSTER is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 02:29 PM   #4
Scottvdken
Watch
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 20
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hauangua View Post
Never add "strange MOD"
Vecko repeats it a lot of times in mainly page of TWoS:

"DO NOT add any additional mods if you are not 100% sure what you are doing or you may induce all kind of stability and gameplay related issues!
Keep in mind that most of the standalone mods outhere are incompatible with this expansion. "

DO NOT ADD
Hence the reason I asked here before adding........
Scottvdken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 02:30 PM   #5
Scottvdken
Watch
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 20
Downloads: 12
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THEBERBSTER View Post
Hi Scott
No problem with using a speech mod with TWOS.
Try to keep to the more basic commands and you will be ok.
Very useful for navigation and precious seconds saved with the crash dive order.
You need this version comes with documentation
Speech Recognition for SH5 - v1.4 - MiTon's Edition v0.4 - english
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=3085
Peter
Thank you! Do you happen to have any experience with using this mod vs. using voice attack? The reason this mod caught my eye is the possibility of ordering specific depths via voice. If that cannot be done, I will probably just use VA instead.
Scottvdken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 06:13 PM   #6
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,039
Downloads: 939
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi Scotty
You can order depths without any problems.
There is a set of command sheets that come with the mod.
There is a test engine included so you can try out your voice commands without the game running.
Comes with a lot of documentation in English and German.
You can also make up your own commands.
Peter
THEBERBSTER is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 09:56 AM   #7
Shane Tavinder
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 0
Default

Just a question does anyone know how to get this working on win 10
Shane Tavinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 02:42 PM   #8
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,039
Downloads: 939
Uploads: 0


Default

A Warm Welcome To The Subsim Community > Shane Tavinder
Subsim <> How To Donate <> See The Benefits <> Support The Community
Steam Conversion Installation Instructions for SH5 Updated Version
Highly Recommended SH5 > The Wolves Of Steel Mega Mod > Includes > Optional KSDCommander And Working Enigma M4 Machine > Sub Flags > Not Compatible With STEAM

This mod AFAIK requires a version of TDW's NewUI 7-4-2 or 7-5-0 or TWOS.
The mod is put in your JSGME mods folder.
You will see that there is a speech test machine that you can try different orders out.

Once enabled you will see a new icon on the right side of your screen when the game is running.
You need to click on it and press the prompt to start the mod and then click on the icon again IIRC.
The mod comes with recognized commands that you can use.
THEBERBSTER is online   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 07:33 PM   #9
kjdunc9443
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Downloads: 23
Uploads: 0
Default

Hello guys. Having an issue with this. I can get it to work and sometimes it works fine for awhile but eventually leads to desktop crashes that don't correlate with me speaking something to cause it. Does it have to be in a certain mod order? I have it in with 6 additional mods all of which came with TWoS and I havent had one CTD with TWoS until I used this mod. Thanks for your help!
kjdunc9443 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 09:23 PM   #10
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 13,490
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default welcome aboard!

kjdunc9443!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick

Last edited by Aktungbby; 05-17-2018 at 03:41 PM.
Aktungbby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 05:03 AM   #11
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,039
Downloads: 939
Uploads: 0


Default

A Warm Welcome To The Subsim Community > kjdunc9443
Subsim <> Make A Donation <> See The Benefits <> Support The Community
SH3-4-5 Tutorials And Other Information Links In My Signature Below

Quote:
but it says it is not compatible with UI mods. Will it work with TWOS?
Make sure you are using the correct version as there are 2.

It is compatible with or without a mega mod and does not alter any files AFAIK in TWOS.

Quote:
I havent had one CTD with TWoS until I used this mod.
That is circumstantial because it is not perfect and your diction with how your pronounce words and your accent will dictate how your orders are perceived.

Ordering speed, depth, surface commands, up, down scope will work without any problems.
Even an order like crash dive using a mike over a keyboard can be the difference between life and death.

I have never used voice attack but it may be worth giving it a try.

Peter
THEBERBSTER is online   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 03:42 PM   #12
bstanko6
Grey Wolf
 
bstanko6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Some where in the Atlantic
Posts: 932
Downloads: 318
Uploads: 2
Default

I have to add:

Ordering chief to recharge batteries will CTD.

And I have difficulties ordering a new course anywhere in the 200 to 260 range.

Other than that Mitons mod works great.
bstanko6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 04:13 AM   #13
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,039
Downloads: 939
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi b
Quote:
Ordering chief to recharge batteries will CTD.
This is why you need to keep the commands to simple orders.
Recharge the batteries order is "Propulsion re-charge".
Quote:
And I have difficulties ordering a new course anywhere in the 200 to 260 range.
This is because the the app does not always handle the figure 2 in the way that you say it and may even action a different command to the one you ordered.

Try it like this: "set new course Two > Zero > Zero" in a raised voice emphasizing on each digit.

There are a lot of commands that work perfectly well without any problems.
The speech recognition manual of orders is essential if you want to keep away from ctd's.
Peter
THEBERBSTER is online   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 04:22 PM   #14
Captain_AJ
Captain
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 549
Downloads: 246
Uploads: 0
Default re

I will definatley agree with berster use the referance card in mintons speech
__________________
Captain AJ

Captain_AJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim