SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-10, 12:21 AM   #1
ddrgn
Korvettenkapitän
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 918
Downloads: 362
Uploads: 30
Default

Still greyed out for me...

You can change them?

Scratch that, can change the drop down menus option but cannot save it. Any thoughts?

Can you open the OBS SCOPE gr2 and merge the .sim? I get a memory error than crash of program.

gr2 is in submarine/common/parts

You can load the GR2 and see that the default is for the scope to rise. Problem for me is the Goblin crashes when I merge the .sim.

Would love to set its default to stay and the start of the game

Last edited by ddrgn; 04-10-10 at 12:48 AM.
ddrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-10, 01:46 AM   #2
kylania
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,528
Downloads: 117
Uploads: 0
Default

You can keep the Observation Scope lowered with python scripting. DarkWraith did that with his UI mod.

As part of the def InitializeScript(): block in data\Scripts\Menu\Page Default Hud.py, add the line in green as shown (make sure it's indented like the lines above it) below. It would be line 2816 of the default script.

Code:
    SetDepthScaleType( DepthScaleTypes.Shallow )
    InitializeMapTools( True )
    Game.SubmarineCommands.ExecuteCommand( "Lower_whole_obs_periscope" )

def UnloadScript():
    Menu["DisplayPlayerGuidanceButtonByName"] = None
__________________

kylania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-10, 12:50 PM   #3
ddrgn
Korvettenkapitän
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 918
Downloads: 362
Uploads: 30
Default

Thanks Ky, now I just got to figure out how to edit .py files ;] LOL NM guess notepad does the trick

Last edited by ddrgn; 04-10-10 at 02:08 PM.
ddrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-10, 07:11 AM   #4
TheBeast
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 1,533
Downloads: 876
Uploads: 23


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kylania View Post
You can keep the Observation Scope lowered with python scripting. DarkWraith did that with his UI mod.

As part of the def InitializeScript(): block in data\Scripts\Menu\Page Default Hud.py, add the line in green as shown (make sure it's indented like the lines above it) below. It would be line 2816 of the default script.

Code:
    SetDepthScaleType( DepthScaleTypes.Shallow )
    InitializeMapTools( True )
    Game.SubmarineCommands.ExecuteCommand( "Lower_whole_obs_periscope" )
 
def UnloadScript():
    Menu["DisplayPlayerGuidanceButtonByName"] = None
Is it possible to keep the Scope from raising every time you go to the Periscope View? I have been spotted because I left periscope view and didnt lower scope and when I returned to periscope view the periscope raised to full height. DOH!

Also, I was searching for a usable GR2 editor. I found Granny Editor but it costs $12,000.00 US. Does a GR2 editor exist that actually lets you do something to the model that doesn't cost a small fortune?
__________________
Fear me! I am, TheBeastBelow

SHIV-MediaFire | SHV-MediaFire
TheBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-10, 11:49 AM   #5
kylania
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,528
Downloads: 117
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBeast View Post
Is it possible to keep the Scope from raising every time you go to the Periscope View? I have been spotted because I left periscope view and didnt lower scope and when I returned to periscope view the periscope raised to full height. DOH!
Use the attack scope, that one doesn't auto raise when you go back to it like the obs scope does. Or just quickly slam PageDown when you get to the obs scope screen and hope for the best!
__________________

kylania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-11, 07:45 AM   #6
THE_MASK
Ace of the deep .
 
THE_MASK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,226
Downloads: 901
Uploads: 73


Default

Lets say i want to add a search light to the kiel lighthouse .
I open goblin and open the kiel.sim file found in
C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 5\data\Terrain\Locations\CustomAreas\kiel
then i merge the kiel.gr2 file . Why do i do it this way , because if i open the gr2 file first and merge the sim then goblin will crash .
Ok so i have merged the gr2 file witht he sim file . It says lost controllers , who cares . I know that the lost controllers #12 is the harborcontroll object @ far which is the light house . I know this because i opened the gr2 file first and then merged the sim file and checked . Then i opened the sim first and merged the gr2 file . No idea where the origin point is on the light house . I notice in shcontrollers there is searchlighteffect controller . I add this to lost controller 12 and save . I then open the correct way to check and merge the sim file after opening the gr2 file . It has
harborobjectcontroll@far
searchlighteffect@far

The lighthouse at kiel still doesnt have a light
THE_MASK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-11, 08:19 AM   #7
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sober View Post
Lets say i want to add a search light to the kiel lighthouse .
I open goblin and open the kiel.sim file found in
C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 5\data\Terrain\Locations\CustomAreas\kiel
then i merge the kiel.gr2 file . Why do i do it this way , because if i open the gr2 file first and merge the sim then goblin will crash .
Ok so i have merged the gr2 file witht he sim file . It says lost controllers , who cares . I know that the lost controllers #12 is the harborcontroll object @ far which is the light house . I know this because i opened the gr2 file first and then merged the sim file and checked . Then i opened the sim first and merged the gr2 file . No idea where the origin point is on the light house . I notice in shcontrollers there is searchlighteffect controller . I add this to lost controller 12 and save . I then open the correct way to check and merge the sim file after opening the gr2 file . It has
harborobjectcontroll@far
searchlighteffect@far

The lighthouse at kiel still doesnt have a light
If you look at my FX_Update mod you'll see how I gave the lighthouse a rotating light (though not the type of rotating light you are trying to do). The searchlighteffect controller isn't going to work as you expected either. It would more than likely remain stationary. You'd have to get creative to make it turn.
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-11, 12:27 PM   #8
lorka42
Planesman
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 190
Downloads: 35
Uploads: 5
Default

ungh, controllers have always driven me batship.
__________________


Member of the Subsim Zombie Army
lorka42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-11, 12:09 PM   #9
Forensicman101
Gunner
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Abercarn, South Wales, UK
Posts: 91
Downloads: 79
Uploads: 0
Default problems opening files

When I try opening a sub GR2 file I get the following error message:
"You do not have the actor DLLs for the following controller types: Sapiens. Please get the appropriate actor DLLs."

When I try merging the submarine sim file I get this longer list of missing actor DLL files: "Gun Station Controller Properties, Ship Damage State, Interior Effects Manager, Special Abilities Ctrl, Water Reflection, cmdr_AI Human Sub, Obj_Turret, Unit_submarine, & wpn_SubTorpedo Sys."

Has anyone any idea why these are missing and how I can get hold of the files?
Forensicman101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-11, 09:14 PM   #10
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forensicman101 View Post
When I try opening a sub GR2 file I get the following error message:
"You do not have the actor DLLs for the following controller types: Sapiens. Please get the appropriate actor DLLs."

When I try merging the submarine sim file I get this longer list of missing actor DLL files: "Gun Station Controller Properties, Ship Damage State, Interior Effects Manager, Special Abilities Ctrl, Water Reflection, cmdr_AI Human Sub, Obj_Turret, Unit_submarine, & wpn_SubTorpedo Sys."

Has anyone any idea why these are missing and how I can get hold of the files?
Post #1 of this thread tells you what you need to do
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-10, 03:21 AM   #11
THE_MASK
Ace of the deep .
 
THE_MASK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,226
Downloads: 901
Uploads: 73


Default

How did Reboot get the drips from the bunker to inside the sub ? Did he use goblin ? I want to pack the sub with provisions/ boxes etc .
THE_MASK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-10, 11:12 PM   #12
THE_MASK
Ace of the deep .
 
THE_MASK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,226
Downloads: 901
Uploads: 73


Default

What does this mean ?
THE_MASK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-11, 06:57 AM   #13
Bilge_Rat
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: standing watch...
Posts: 3,793
Downloads: 344
Uploads: 0
Default

I hope someone can help me with this. I followed the instructions and loaded the torpedo sim file to check out the parameters, but I get an error message and every file has the notation "lost controllers" and I cant seem to open any file.
__________________
Bilge_Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-11, 10:28 AM   #14
elanaiba
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 1,058
Downloads: 3
Uploads: 3
Default

did you load the torpedo gr2 file before the sim file?
__________________
With strength I burn...

elanaiba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-11, 04:12 AM   #15
june5
Stowaway
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads:
Uploads:
Default my

Hello my darling
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.