SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   The Complete Idiots Guide to Goblin Editor(large image warning) (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=165805)

kylania 04-10-10 01:46 AM

You can keep the Observation Scope lowered with python scripting. DarkWraith did that with his UI mod. :)

As part of the def InitializeScript(): block in data\Scripts\Menu\Page Default Hud.py, add the line in green as shown (make sure it's indented like the lines above it) below. It would be line 2816 of the default script.

Code:

    SetDepthScaleType( DepthScaleTypes.Shallow )
    InitializeMapTools( True )
    Game.SubmarineCommands.ExecuteCommand( "Lower_whole_obs_periscope" )

def UnloadScript():
    Menu["DisplayPlayerGuidanceButtonByName"] = None


ddrgn 04-10-10 12:50 PM

Thanks Ky, now I just got to figure out how to edit .py files ;] LOL NM guess notepad does the trick

TheBeast 04-13-10 07:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kylania (Post 1354395)
You can keep the Observation Scope lowered with python scripting. DarkWraith did that with his UI mod. :)

As part of the def InitializeScript(): block in data\Scripts\Menu\Page Default Hud.py, add the line in green as shown (make sure it's indented like the lines above it) below. It would be line 2816 of the default script.

Code:

    SetDepthScaleType( DepthScaleTypes.Shallow )
    InitializeMapTools( True )
    Game.SubmarineCommands.ExecuteCommand( "Lower_whole_obs_periscope" )
 
def UnloadScript():
    Menu["DisplayPlayerGuidanceButtonByName"] = None


Is it possible to keep the Scope from raising every time you go to the Periscope View?:06: I have been spotted because I left periscope view and didnt lower scope and when I returned to periscope view the periscope raised to full height.:haha: DOH!:damn:

Also, I was searching for a usable GR2 editor. I found Granny Editor but it costs $12,000.00 US. Does a GR2 editor exist that actually lets you do something to the model that doesn't cost a small fortune?:06:

kylania 04-13-10 11:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheBeast (Post 1357909)
Is it possible to keep the Scope from raising every time you go to the Periscope View?:06: I have been spotted because I left periscope view and didnt lower scope and when I returned to periscope view the periscope raised to full height.:haha: DOH!:damn:

Use the attack scope, that one doesn't auto raise when you go back to it like the obs scope does. Or just quickly slam PageDown when you get to the obs scope screen and hope for the best! :DL

THE_MASK 06-12-10 03:21 AM

How did Reboot get the drips from the bunker to inside the sub ? Did he use goblin ? I want to pack the sub with provisions/ boxes etc .

THE_MASK 07-02-10 11:12 PM

What does this mean ?
http://img269.imageshack.us/img269/6717/modding.jpg

homsikpanda 01-17-11 11:05 AM

does editing a file in goblin editor make the change a perminent? or do you need to use jdgme to install it?

lorka42 01-18-11 11:59 AM

When you save it, it does, It is always a good idea to make a backup of the /data folder.
and sober, that usually means that you did something wrong, like didnt load a sim or zone, when you have lots of them, or removed a controller you could try reloading wish I could see the whole window.

Bilge_Rat 03-05-11 06:57 AM

I hope someone can help me with this. I followed the instructions and loaded the torpedo sim file to check out the parameters, but I get an error message and every file has the notation "lost controllers" and I cant seem to open any file.:damn:

elanaiba 03-08-11 10:28 AM

did you load the torpedo gr2 file before the sim file?

05-17-11 04:12 AM

my
 
Hello my darling:arrgh!::haha::woot::salute:

Baker1982 08-07-11 12:52 PM

Question
 
I am sorry to use this thread and I have lost myself in all the threads

I hear alot about this Goblin Editor for modding or changing files... BUt where can I download it??

Thankyou In advance

Baker

TheDarkWraith 08-07-11 12:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Baker1982 (Post 1722880)
I am sorry to use this thread and I have lost myself in all the threads

I hear alot about this Goblin Editor for modding or changing files... BUt where can I download it??

Thankyou In advance

Baker

it's in your \Silent Hunter 5 folder. The devs included it with the game :up:

Baker1982 08-07-11 12:56 PM

Ohh man I feel so silly now:(:( Darn me darn old me:):)

THANKYOU

TheDarkWraith 08-07-11 07:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Baker1982 (Post 1722884)
Ohh man I feel so silly now:(:( Darn me darn old me:):)

THANKYOU

Some FYI: Goblin editor can be used to view/edit SH3 and SH4 files also :up:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.