PDA

View Full Version : DW sounds (and nasty clicks)

OlegM
09-04-05, 07:30 PM
Hi, lately I've been experimenting with various sound mods - ie. download the sound package or "independent" sounds from somewhere and build the AGG file myself using the jsteed's Sound Editor.

But every time I build the new (or altered) AGG file unwanted clicky sound "artefacts" are introduced.

I know this is an old issue, and I know it has been discussed before, even back in the SC days. But what I don't remember is whether there were any suggestions, workarounds and/or alternative AGG-building tools to use instead of jsteeds editor?

jsteed if you're reading this, do you plan a new version of your sweet little tool (one that does away with the clicks prefarably :|\ ).

(Reason why I started playing with sounds is I wanted to use Russian voice pack - not that I am crazy about Russian voices, but the original "fake Russian Egrish" in the game is absolutely dreadful [atrocious voice acting])

Oleg

Kapitan
09-05-05, 01:47 AM
i want to use the sound patch too but i havnt a clue how to install it and yeah those voices are a bit dreadful

SquidB
09-05-05, 12:53 PM
I belive that theres a one fix version of the sound mod that means all you have to do is drop the file into your DW directory. So you dont need to use sound edit at all.

At least thats what i did. :up:

OlegM
09-05-05, 01:22 PM
That's a neat trick Squid - thanks (and a slap on my forehead for not thinking of that myself :damn: )

I'll try it as soon as I get the chance... can we dump WAVs into any sub-directory? I know WAVs in /scenario folder are read and normally used by the game... Do we use /scenario folder, or any folder within DW directory tree? Logical place to dump sounds would be /audio folder...

Also, do we have to delete the sounds in the original AGGs to force new sounds to be used? I mean if we have XYZ.wav in DW directory, and XYZ.wav withing the original AGG file, which one will actually be used by the game?