PDA

View Full Version : Fog and Target Locking

stephenf555
01-12-11, 05:50 AM
Hi folks,
Complete noob to SH(4), only been at it a few days but fairly hooked already. Great stuff.

I have a question about locking a target through the periscope in poor visibility. Had a look around subsim for the last hour or so trying to find an answer but couldn't. I'm running v1.5 & Real Environment Mod.

Last night on route to patrol in dark, foggy conditions I came across a light convoy, 3 DD's and 2 Large Freighters. I approached to a firing position slowly and quietly. I got to a point where I could visually make out the freighters and DD's without being spotted. Must have been less than 800 yds away, sitting still and quiet. I lined up a freighter with the attack periscope, but the auto-target (haven't got to manual targeting yet) wasn't spotting the ship at all, no yellow triangle over target. It was as though there was nothing there.

Of course while trying to get a lock eventually I was spotted and eventually rammed :damn:

So I guess this was because of the poor visibility. Is this the norm, just a shortcoming of using auto targeting, or is it an artifact of the real environment mod?

Thanks to all posters for the many useful articles and mods which have been very useful in learning the game and its tactics.

Regards,
Stephenf555

WernherVonTrapp
01-12-11, 07:11 AM
I actually sank my first ship using auto-targeting in zero visibility (w/o locking on). Your torp will travel straight if fired w/o a lock. As long as the target is broadside and, as you said, within 1000yds, you should have little difficulty in hitting it if it's stationary. If you lock on using sonar, (i.e., send the data to the TDC), the torp will travel the route of the last sonar lock. If you (experiment) adjust the offset angle ahead of the ship, you should (eventually) be able to take out a close merchant on an angle too.

stephenf555
01-12-11, 07:21 AM