PDA

View Full Version : Battery while Surfaced?

Schlageter-JG26
03-25-07, 12:40 AM
Is there any way to make use of battery power while surfaced? My theory being that we could squeak out greater patrol range this way by saving fuel and using the battery to gain faster speed on the surface.

Is this possible? Or would this be a mod?

valpospe
03-25-07, 12:50 AM
How exactly would this save fuel? I'm no thermodynamic expert but I would guess that the energy expeneded to recharge the batteries is more than the energy you get out of them. In other words, even if you could link the two systems to get greater speed or power or whatever, your batteries would eventually need to be recharged expending at least (and probably more) enegery (fuel) than just running diesel on the surface.

Rykaird
03-25-07, 12:56 AM
Yes, it couldn't possibly be more efficient.

But, it would be realistic. In Werner's Iron Coffins they pretty much always pull away from the dock on electrics. He never says why, but it does come up a number of times.

Cakewalk
03-25-07, 01:01 AM
It depends how they would have the diesels hooked up to the generators. If the diesel shafts simply ran through the electric motors and turned them while the diesels were running, then there would be no loss in effeciency.

In Silent Hunter 3, one of your engines would switch to turning over an electric motor inside the sub, leaving you with only one screw, thereby making it less effecient.

In SH4 though, both props keep turning while recharging, so it may be the case I stated above.

valpospe
03-25-07, 01:16 AM