SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Old 07-18-09, 02:17 PM   #1
Tiffer
Nub

Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default Hi all...Major missed opportunity!

I've been playing SH3 for a few years and finally got a rig that'll play SH4. So far i think its good fun, I must admit I do prefer 3 but once i've gotten into the game i'm sure this might change.
I was about to complete my second career mission on Feb 22 1942 having run out of fish and was tranisiting the Karimata Strait when I detected 6 Val dive bombers and ducked down to periscope depth. Immediately my sonarman picked up warships at long range closing and I settled the boat practically on the sea bed, all stop and rigged for silent running.
As the noise grew I popped the scope up and could barely believe my eyes, I had somehow wound up in the middle of an IJN task force with 5 carriers and several other capital ships but with no torpedoes.
I've stopped the game to come on here to write this up, i'm sure i'm not the first person to witness this but the frustration of having to pass up and opportunity like this is too much not to make a note.
I was hoping to post some screenshots but I don't know how to get them on here.
Thanks for taking the time to read this, I hope everybody is enjoying their weekend!
Tiffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-09, 02:34 PM   #2
Munchausen
Commodore

Downloads: 25
Uploads: 1

That kind of thing actually happened during the war. So you can imagine how a real skipper must've felt when all he could do was send a radio message, reporting the convoy's position.
Munchausen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-09, 12:12 AM   #3
magic452
Sea Lord

Downloads: 85

Welcome aboard mate and welcome to the frustration of Fleet Boats.
Wait till you get 8 or 10 dud torpedoes in a row.