SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Old 09-03-16, 07:06 PM   #1
Mallet
Swabbie

Downloads: 25
Uploads: 0
Default Manual Targeting in TMO different from stock game?

Hello, I am very new to this mod and more accurately, manual targeting. In the stock game I have for the most part figured out the manual targeting and how to do it. However in TMO, I am having problems where I can reload the same situation several times and follow the same steps to find a solution but miss or barely hit (tip of bow or stern) the enemy ship each separate instance. To cut things short, I just don't know how the targeting changed in this mod. I also no longer really know how to figure out AOB without the ship shapes on the map. Sorry for long first post. I really want to get into this game as much as many of you have and hope to be a regular here.
Mallet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-16, 09:22 PM   #2
jldjs
Stowaway

Downloads:
Uploads:

There is probably an assist you can follow in the sticky posts. But, briefly, a few suggestions. You don't need the ship's shape to determine AoB, but you do need the target's track, or path of travel. More importantly you need the target's speed. You can determine this in numerous ways, but a simple way is to plot its position twice, at 3 minute interval. This way also gives you its track. Distance travel over 3 minutes yields speed in knots. With the track, use the compass to determine AoB as the angle between drawing the line from your position to the target's position extended thru its track. Now enter the speed first in the TDC, then AoB, and finally distance and bearing to target's position. Turn on the Position Keeper and you have a firing solution. Look for a more complete answer in the stickies.
Enjoy the results, I do! Good luck!