SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Mods Workshop > SH4 Knights of the Sea Depths II: Adversaries
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2018, 04:22 PM   #1
ridley
Loader
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 83
Downloads: 23
Uploads: 0
Default UPLAY SH4.exe

I have a copy of SH4, somewhere, but who knows how long that will take to find.

So I thought just buy the latest version from Uplay as this is the exe that is suggested in the into thread.

Except I cannot find SH4 on UPLAY! Any idea where I can get it?
ridley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 01:50 AM   #2
Niedowidek
Bosun
 
Niedowidek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 63
Downloads: 118
Uploads: 0
Default

Well, if you have legal copy already, maybe just take a look at KSD II discord.
__________________
SH3, GWX 3.0 or NYGM, h.sie/Stiebler hardcoded fixes, patchSH3r, Hitman's GUI, Hide My Sub, Evan82's Uniforms II
SH4 TMO
Niedowidek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2020, 05:22 AM   #3
Xall
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 49
Downloads: 120
Uploads: 0
Default

Been looking for this as well, I installed KSD II and I am using the Steam Version, after the loading screen it exits/crashes the game.

I tried looking for the KSD II Discord server but the links are dead.

Can anyone help or point me in the right direction? Would love to give KSD II adversaries a go
Xall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2020, 08:46 PM   #4
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 7,229
Downloads: 368
Uploads: 1


Default

If you are using Steam, you will have to install the game into a different Library folder, or move the Steam install and game, such that you are not in a Windows protected folder, such as a Program Files folder, which is what Steam defaults to when it installs, and then it puts the Library folder below it, such that you end up with "C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam \SteamApps \common \Silent Hunter Wolves of the Pacific". The game runs fine there, but any modding you do will have its files set back to the previous state by Windows, so you'll get a mix of KSDII pictures, and Stock config files, which usually ends up crashing the game. Refer to Moving a Steam Installation and Games for information on both methods. Once you have the game outside of the "protection" of Windows, then you can properly apply a mod. After that, then you have to clear the games "Save" folder, which generally defaults to "C:\Users \UserName \Documents \SH4", with "UserName" being what you log into Windows with, or use one of the multitude of short-cuts to your documents folder, and delete either the contents, or the entire "SH4" folder. The game will recreate the folder when you start it the next time, which will then bring in all of the information for the newly applied mod.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2020, 04:32 AM   #5
Xall
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 49
Downloads: 120
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks propbeanie,
I managed to solve the issue.

The problem is not with the installation of KSD II Adversaries, its with the SH4.exe file itself.

KSD II Adversaries does not come with SH4.exe, and as I read into it, you need to copy and overwrite the "Fake" SH4.exe that comes with KSD II Adversaries, problem is that the Steam SH4.exe does not work with it as it was designed with the Uplay Version of Silent Hunter 4.

My fix was that I had some time ago downloaded the earlier KSD II Mod which was just called that without the Adversaries and was only playable in Russian, but that mod had the Uplay version, so I copied and pasted that into Adversaries and now it works like a charm.
Xall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2020, 07:15 PM   #6
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 7,229
Downloads: 368
Uploads: 1


Default

I forgot about that... I had used my disk version of the executable and then promptly became ignorant... Glad you got it!
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2021, 02:31 PM   #7
dex
Mate
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Serbia
Posts: 58
Downloads: 188
Uploads: 0
Default about Ksd 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xall View Post
Thanks propbeanie,
I managed to solve the issue.

The problem is not with the installation of KSD II Adversaries, its with the SH4.exe file itself.

KSD II Adversaries does not come with SH4.exe, and as I read into it, you need to copy and overwrite the "Fake" SH4.exe that comes with KSD II Adversaries, problem is that the Steam SH4.exe does not work with it as it was designed with the Uplay Version of Silent Hunter 4.

My fix was that I had some time ago downloaded the earlier KSD II Mod which was just called that without the Adversaries and was only playable in Russian, but that mod had the Uplay version, so I copied and pasted that into Adversaries and now it works like a charm.
Please help,I bought yesterday steam version sh 4 only because sh 4 exe and I am screwed
dex is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2021 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.