SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2019, 09:42 PM   #1
KaleunMarco
Grey Wolf
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 916
Downloads: 279
Uploads: 7
Default Escort speed in SH4

while i install Win10 over Win7, i am re-reading Lockwood's Sink 'Em All.
in the 1943 section, he relates a Slade Cutter/Seahorse patrol story when Cutter made a successful night surface attack and escaped from several Chidori-class escorts: Two Chidori's chased Seahorse but, with full speed, she was able to escape without resorting to diving.

this is not possible in SH4 on several counts.
one is detection. i have never been able to close within torpedo range (under 2k) on the surface for a single ship, let alone a convoy with escorts, without being detected. once you approach on the surface within 6000-7000 yds you are detected. from 1943 forward, almost every IJN ship in SH4 has guns and they use them to great effect.
second, escaping escorts on the surface is not possible, especially when closing within 2000 yds. Dead Meat. i cannot check at the moment but i am fairly certain that every DD/DE defined in SH4 can make 30 kts. this doesn't track very well with the historical documentation.

now, having said all of that, SH4 is a game. however, it would be interesting if the deck wasn't so stacked against the subs.

gotta get back to my Win10 upgrade.
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.

------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 09:55 PM   #2
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,354
Downloads: 286
Uploads: 2


Default

My thought on the subject is "ship identification". DE B (20 knots), C (17 knots), & D (18 knots) classes looked quite a bit like a Chidori like a Kaibokan - especially at night. The latter does 19 knots, the former 30. When someone is shooting a gun at you, might be a bit difficult to tell Bob from Rick. Besides the fact, the DE has the same problem - "Is that a submarine? What kind of deck gun(s) does he have? Has he shot torpedoes at me? Why is it so dark?"... I have the same book, and still enjoy it, despite him not having hired a good editor to clean the text up... Now, after you're finished, you might not think Windows 10 is an "upgrade"... Don't get me wrong, it works, and it can work well, but be sure and read ~all~ of CapnScurvy's Windows10; Large Address Aware; SH4 Install, but especially the part about checking for updates prior to playing the game, so that you are not interrupted in your revelry...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 10:07 PM   #3
KaleunMarco
Grey Wolf
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 916
Downloads: 279
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
after you're finished, you might not think Windows 10 is an "upgrade"... Don't get me wrong, it works, and it can work well, but be sure and read ~all~ of CapnScurvy's Windows10; Large Address Aware; SH4 Install, but especially the part about checking for updates prior to playing the game, so that you are not interrupted in your revelry...
part of the Win10 install was checking for updates. already did that. so....checking for updates for Win10 or SH4?
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.

------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 10:58 PM   #4
skirich
Chief
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Patroling the south pacific
Posts: 321
Downloads: 75
Uploads: 0
Default

My experience with windows 10:


All I needed to do was apply LAA properly and set the exe to Vista (no SP) compatibility and the game has been rock solid.


Other than the odd Time Compression issues, which are just the limits of the game, its been really good.


As for Video card, if you have an NVidia Card, follow those steps to get better graphics.
Mine are stunning (well for a 12 year old game). I have all the settings at max with all options in game on. I used nVidia Profile Inspector to get the advanced settings, since the old way listed in the forum thread is ancient and no longer valid for editing nVidia settings. But the settings are still valid.


PM me if you want the settings file for nVidia Inspector for SH4 I made.
skirich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 11:40 PM   #5
KaleunMarco
Grey Wolf
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 916
Downloads: 279
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skirich View Post
My experience with windows 10:


All I needed to do was apply LAA properly and set the exe to Vista (no SP) compatibility and the game has been rock solid.


Other than the odd Time Compression issues, which are just the limits of the game, its been really good.


As for Video card, if you have an NVidia Card, follow those steps to get better graphics.
Mine are stunning (well for a 12 year old game). I have all the settings at max with all options in game on. I used nVidia Profile Inspector to get the advanced settings, since the old way listed in the forum thread is ancient and no longer valid for editing nVidia settings. But the settings are still valid.


PM me if you want the settings file for nVidia Inspector for SH4 I made.
skirich, thank you for the offer.

well, up and working under Win10-power.
whoda thunk?
already had a RFB install so i fired it up and started a single mission. things proceeded a bit slowly but they ran.
i am hoping for some improvement when my 32 GB of RAM is installed.
time for our rest period. tomorrow we go where no KaleunMarco has gone before.
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.

------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 07:29 AM   #6
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,354
Downloads: 286
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaleunMarco View Post
part of the Win10 install was checking for updates. already did that. so....checking for updates for Win10 or SH4?
Windows Update runs constantly, whether you "delay" the inevitable or not, it is always running. If there is an update to be installed, you want to do that before playing the game so that Windows is not attempting "background" downloads that interfere with a game that is not familiar with "background". All I have ever noticed though is the occasional "stutter" when playing the game when it is downloading, but it is a 6th gen i7 with 16g ram, so not much hurts it. The old DuoCore though had issues with it whenever Windows was doing its thang...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 09:13 AM   #7
KaleunMarco
Grey Wolf
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 916
Downloads: 279
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
Windows Update runs constantly, whether you "delay" the inevitable or not, it is always running. If there is an update to be installed, you want to do that before playing the game so that Windows is not attempting "background" downloads that interfere with a game that is not familiar with "background". All I have ever noticed though is the occasional "stutter" when playing the game when it is downloading, but it is a 6th gen i7 with 16g ram, so not much hurts it. The old DuoCore though had issues with it whenever Windows was doing its thang...
ahhh.
running that process this morning. Win10 is very-much a resource hog. This update has been running for over an hour.
Feature update to Windows 10, version 1803 x64 2019-08C (installing 55%)

i have a Dell i7 quad with 8 GB (soon to be 32GB {drool}) and things are proceeding veeeeery, sloooowly.

oops. it just went to 62%. woo-hoo!
at this rate, i may be able to return to real computing by Halloween (all hallows eve, for my european friends).
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.

------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 12:36 PM   #8
KaleunMarco
Grey Wolf
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 916
Downloads: 279
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaleunMarco View Post
ahhh.
running that process this morning. Win10 is very-much a resource hog. This update has been running for over an hour.
Feature update to Windows 10, version 1803 x64 2019-08C (installing 55%)

i have a Dell i7 quad with 8 GB (soon to be 32GB {drool}) and things are proceeding veeeeery, sloooowly.

oops. it just went to 62%. woo-hoo!
at this rate, i may be able to return to real computing by Halloween (all hallows eve, for my european friends).
dear diary, still haven't finished updating Win10.
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.

------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 02:10 PM   #9
KaleunMarco
Grey Wolf
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 916
Downloads: 279
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaleunMarco View Post
dear diary, still haven't finished updating Win10.
18 hours and still updating.
what amazing/intrigues/confuses me is the feeling that my PC is processing much slower under Win10 than Win7.
even my internet connection, which is fiber and routinely operates in excess of 120Mbs, seems to d/l the Win10 updates slowly. maybe it's the Microsoft Server that is throttled down. wouldn't surprise me.

the Win10 update process has steps such as preparing to download, downloading, preparing to install, installing...and then it reboots and you see The Blue Screen of Waiting while it installs something (again).
everything is occurring so slooowly.
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.

------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 03:18 PM   #10
skirich
Chief
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Patroling the south pacific
Posts: 321
Downloads: 75
Uploads: 0
Default

The issue you have is the fact its a win 7 install updated to win 10+updates.


The process is backing up the win7 files, and then doing compare and evaluation of validity use for win 10.


It would have been better to go for the wipe and install of win 10. The clean install will work better over time and not be so finicky.
Plus the updates are lightning quick.


It would require you to reinstall all your programs and files, but you should plan for that anyway, in case of HD failure.


Alternatively, you could buy a new SSD, and put the old HD in an external drive case and have it as a second drive for the data at least.


All I'm saying is its not normal to wait so long for update installs.
A fresh Win 10 install + updates, from a 128Gb USB stick takes about 1 hour.

Good luck.
skirich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 05:55 PM   #11
KaleunMarco
Grey Wolf
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 916
Downloads: 279
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skirich View Post
The issue you have is the fact its a win 7 install updated to win 10+updates.


The process is backing up the win7 files, and then doing compare and evaluation of validity use for win 10.


It would have been better to go for the wipe and install of win 10. The clean install will work better over time and not be so finicky.
Plus the updates are lightning quick.


It would require you to reinstall all your programs and files, but you should plan for that anyway, in case of HD failure.


Alternatively, you could buy a new SSD, and put the old HD in an external drive case and have it as a second drive for the data at least.


All I'm saying is its not normal to wait so long for update installs.
A fresh Win 10 install + updates, from a 128Gb USB stick takes about 1 hour.

Good luck.
yes, that was a consideration but only briefly. thank you for the knowledge share.
i have Office and Acrobat installed but no longer have access to license keys.
so, if i install from scratch, i have to buy those two desktop apps new.
also a consideration is that i had a free upgrade to Win10. i do not remember being given the option of a clean install during the initial process. however, even if a clean install was offered, i would not have accepted said offer due to the reason specified above.
so....my install took 22 hours.
so far, so good.
i ran SH4 only briefly late last night after the initial install. i have not actually played yet.
more to come.....
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.

------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 06:15 PM   #12
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,354
Downloads: 286
Uploads: 2


Default

Once it's stabilized, you should be good, but it's about like me trying to re-install my Windows 7 the other day, in that I have the licenses for everything, but I could not for the life of me, get a license to take for the slipstreamed Windows install with SP-1, so I had to do the disk install, and then wait for over a day for that to finish its updates... sigh - computers.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim