SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Glue, paint, razors...what could go wrong?


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2021, 10:14 AM   #31
blackswan40
LSH2020 Mission Writer
 
blackswan40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IN THE STEEL SHARKS VIRTUAL OCEAN
Posts: 1,500
Downloads: 546
Uploads: 29


Default

Hi Jeff yes Sir there is both screenies to follow




blackswan40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2021, 10:21 AM   #32
Mad Mardigan
Sea Lord
 
Mad Mardigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Grand Rapids, Mi.
Posts: 1,912
Downloads: 435
Uploads: 0


SHO

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post
blackswan40 sent me the Steam Silent Hunter 3 folder.
Of course it will not run on my system since I don't have Steam.
Now. I replaced the SH3.exe with a non-Steam version and it runs fine.
Downloading the GWX installer from my link above and will test that next.

I have 1 question for Steam Users.
In the base folder of SH3 is there another folder named SH3?
If so dig into that and see if there is a main.cfg
Ahoy, Jeff-Groves...

Paid for access for SH3, 4 & 5... got them in a 3 for 1 deal, Steam had some time back (paid like.. $21 usd).. I did use SFSF to, divorce SH3 from Steam. I did run a check of that copy I have of it & yeah, there is a folder in the main, titled 'SH3', digging into it, Yes, there is a .cfg titled 'main'.

M. M.

__________________
Mad Mardigan is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2021, 10:26 AM   #33
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 4,496
Downloads: 104
Uploads: 0


Default

OK.
Look in the cfg folder under Silent Hunter 3/data folder.
Is there a main.cfg in it?
It must be a stock unmodded Steam install!
__________________
Professional Cunning Linguist
Don't MAKE ME get my Crayons out to draw you a picture!
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2021, 10:35 AM   #34
blackswan40
LSH2020 Mission Writer
 
blackswan40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IN THE STEEL SHARKS VIRTUAL OCEAN
Posts: 1,500
Downloads: 546
Uploads: 29


Default

yes Jeff the second screenie taken from the SH3 Folder screenie of whats in main

Steam/Steam Apps/Common/SilentHunter3/SH3/Data/Config/Main


if you download teamviewer you are free to look at Steam/SH3 on my system Jeff link below


https://www.teamviewer.com/en/downlo...SAAEgJp5vD_BwE
blackswan40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2021, 10:39 AM   #35
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 4,496
Downloads: 104
Uploads: 0


Default

Check
Steam/Steam Apps/Common/SilentHunter3/Data/Cfg
Is there a main.cfg in there?

It's not in the version you sent me.
I'd like verification from someone else.

I'd like to know WHY that SH3 folder is there.
IF you have Steam SH3 and installed GWX? Move the main.cfg to that odd ball folder and remove it from the Data\cfg folder and test.
__________________
Professional Cunning Linguist
Don't MAKE ME get my Crayons out to draw you a picture!
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2021, 10:47 AM   #36
blackswan40
LSH2020 Mission Writer
 
blackswan40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IN THE STEEL SHARKS VIRTUAL OCEAN
Posts: 1,500
Downloads: 546
Uploads: 29


Default

Hi Jeff thats a complete new install of Steam on drive C:/not in program files x86 and only the Steam Version of SH3 no mods
blackswan40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2021, 10:49 AM   #37
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 4,496
Downloads: 104
Uploads: 0


Default

Roger Mate!


Installed GWX to the SH3 blackswan40 sent me.
Only replaced the SH3.exe and it runs fine!

So Steam did something to screw the pooch!
__________________
Professional Cunning Linguist
Don't MAKE ME get my Crayons out to draw you a picture!
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2021, 10:59 AM   #38
blackswan40
LSH2020 Mission Writer
 
blackswan40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IN THE STEEL SHARKS VIRTUAL OCEAN
Posts: 1,500
Downloads: 546
Uploads: 29


Default

Hi Jeff Onkel Neal so can i upload my SH3 Exe. from my Dvd install so all the SH3 steam players can mod there SH3 steam install
or i could upload it to my mediafire account and post a download link if thats ok.


thats what i thought Jeff because last Oct/Nov i installed SH3 from Steam installed GWX on my old intel 7700k it worked no sweat then installed the Commander mod just below SH3 in Steam Apps Common and the Commander mod Config and it worked like a dream now its 6 eggs short of a dozen so to speak.
What are steam thinking even new guys downloading the Steam version of SH3 for first time will be moding it at some point theres better ways to keep a chin up not allowing guys/girls to mod the SH3 install is a bad judgement call from steam sales will drop off

Last edited by blackswan40; 03-17-2021 at 11:17 AM.
blackswan40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2021, 11:02 AM   #39
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 4,496
Downloads: 104
Uploads: 0


Default

That may be on option as Ubi does not care as stated before.


I'd like to test a few things first.

Have to make a run so I'll be back in a bit.
__________________
Professional Cunning Linguist
Don't MAKE ME get my Crayons out to draw you a picture!
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2021, 04:01 AM   #40
LuteFlute
Watch
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Philippines
Posts: 17
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Default

Sorry to be a bit late in the issue, but just to confirm, I also have the same situation on the base steam install. There is indeed a main file in Silent Hunter 3\SH3\data\ and Silent Hunter 3\data\Cfg. And if I'm correct, what I'm getting from the exchanges above is that the sh3.exe file itself has been changed in some way in steams version, and recently too. Probably explains why some people had success years ago, but never really saw people have problems about it a few months ago. as blackswan40 said, why would steam go out of there to "update" that doesn't need one. Boggles my mind.

Last edited by LuteFlute; 03-18-2021 at 04:05 AM. Reason: Typo
LuteFlute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2021, 06:09 AM   #41
blackswan40
LSH2020 Mission Writer
 
blackswan40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IN THE STEEL SHARKS VIRTUAL OCEAN
Posts: 1,500
Downloads: 546
Uploads: 29


Default

Hi LuteFlute you have a PM Sir
blackswan40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2021, 07:40 AM   #42
LuteFlute
Watch
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Philippines
Posts: 17
Downloads: 43
Uploads: 0
Default

hey blackswan40, was able to H.sie patch it, ARB WideGUI patch it, then just switch the .exe files. So far the game has been running smoothly for about 30 minutes and so far looks good. Good to note also is that I also am running it with the modlist I showed earlier.
LuteFlute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2021, 07:50 AM   #43
blackswan40
LSH2020 Mission Writer
 
blackswan40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IN THE STEEL SHARKS VIRTUAL OCEAN
Posts: 1,500
Downloads: 546
Uploads: 29


Default

glad your sorted Sir happy hunting
blackswan40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2021, 09:43 AM   #44
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 4,496
Downloads: 104
Uploads: 0


Default

I've got a Patch nearly ready that will patch the SH3.exe in Steam.
It is way smaller and safer then sending the SH3.exe to everyone.
__________________
Professional Cunning Linguist
Don't MAKE ME get my Crayons out to draw you a picture!
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2021, 09:45 AM   #45
blackswan40
LSH2020 Mission Writer
 
blackswan40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IN THE STEEL SHARKS VIRTUAL OCEAN
Posts: 1,500
Downloads: 546
Uploads: 29


Default

Great Jeff
blackswan40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crashing , ctd , mods

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2022 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.