SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-29-2020, 03:57 PM   #16
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 6,075
Downloads: 306
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreyLadyDown View Post
Would the time compression issue have anything to do with when I save a game and then the next time I start the game when I load a save, it kicks me out of the game and back to steam? I have 3 4 or 5 saves in a row that if I load it will give me a loading screen then kick me out and back to steam. Then I have to start the game again and go down the list of saves until one will load.
Something is "wonking" your game... SH4 generally doesn't need the internet, but check your AV scanner, and see if it's quarantining parts of your game. I kind of doubt that though... What all is running in the background on your computer though? Windows 10 is notorious for interrupting the player unannounced, and downloading Windows Updates "in the background", so check for updates, download and apply, prior to playing. You might also see how big your computer's swap file is, and make certain Windows itself is in good working order, and not "thrashing" as it bumps along, trying to fly. Another problem could be the power settings on your computer, especially if it's a laptop, in that Windows want to "save" energy, so your cpu is usually set to low power settings, and while you might have an i7 with multiple cores and a high frequency, Windows decides that you don't need all of that power, and restricts you to one core, running at half-speed, with the USB buss shut off, while it does its Update stuff on the other three cores... Another thing you might do is consult CapnScurvy's thread "Windows10; Large Address Aware; SH4 Install", and see about using LAA on your Stock SH4 install, and see if there isn't an improvement. You should NOT be having that many Save failures on your system, other than you are running out of RAM (available to the SH4 game), or you have some configuration issue with your computer, or something has corrupted your game install... If you don't have anything you are wanting to keep in your current game, just run the Steam app and log-in. Run the "Verify integrity of game files" utility. Once it is finished (might take it a while), then empty the Save folder ("C:\Users \UserName \Documents \SH4"), if you didn't move it with MultiSH4), run the game and re-set all of your graphics, sound & gameplay settings back to what you want. Exit and re-start the game so those will apply, then try to play. If you are going to do a career, don't forget to set the gameplay settings in the Captain's Office prior to going on patrol. While in the career, do not use "Save Replay" when making a Save, since that can cause huge files. Good luck, and let us know what you do and how you get along with it.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 03:26 PM   #17
GreyLadyDown
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Landlocked in Ohio
Posts: 11
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
Something is "wonking" your game... SH4 generally doesn't need the internet, but check your AV scanner, and see if it's quarantining parts of your game. I kind of doubt that though... What all is running in the background on your computer though? Windows 10 is notorious for interrupting the player unannounced, and downloading Windows Updates "in the background", so check for updates, download and apply, prior to playing. You might also see how big your computer's swap file is, and make certain Windows itself is in good working order, and not "thrashing" as it bumps along, trying to fly. Another problem could be the power settings on your computer, especially if it's a laptop, in that Windows want to "save" energy, so your cpu is usually set to low power settings, and while you might have an i7 with multiple cores and a high frequency, Windows decides that you don't need all of that power, and restricts you to one core, running at half-speed, with the USB buss shut off, while it does its Update stuff on the other three cores... Another thing you might do is consult CapnScurvy's thread "Windows10; Large Address Aware; SH4 Install", and see about using LAA on your Stock SH4 install, and see if there isn't an improvement. You should NOT be having that many Save failures on your system, other than you are running out of RAM (available to the SH4 game), or you have some configuration issue with your computer, or something has corrupted your game install... If you don't have anything you are wanting to keep in your current game, just run the Steam app and log-in. Run the "Verify integrity of game files" utility. Once it is finished (might take it a while), then empty the Save folder ("C:\Users \UserName \Documents \SH4"), if you didn't move it with MultiSH4), run the game and re-set all of your graphics, sound & gameplay settings back to what you want. Exit and re-start the game so those will apply, then try to play. If you are going to do a career, don't forget to set the gameplay settings in the Captain's Office prior to going on patrol. While in the career, do not use "Save Replay" when making a Save, since that can cause huge files. Good luck, and let us know what you do and how you get along with it.



I'll ask my roommate to help. I know NOTHING about computers. I turn it on, play games, get on the internet and turn it off. That's all I know how to do.

So i'll ask him if he is familiar with what you are talking about.
Where the heck can I take classes for this stuff lol?
I got lost every other word you said. Perhaps this game isn't for someone like me who can't mod a game to make it work right.

Last edited by GreyLadyDown; 03-01-2020 at 04:07 PM.
GreyLadyDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2020, 06:15 AM   #18
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 6,075
Downloads: 306
Uploads: 1


Default

There really isn't much to a computer, that a hammer wouldn't fix... - but seriously, there really isn't much to them. The main problem with computers is that they are very inept at describing what ails them, from a human perspective. Asking for help of someone is a good idea. Let us know how you get along.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2020, 01:03 PM   #19
ae4rv
Catleg West
 
ae4rv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 0
Default

I've encountered this bug, it's awful. Your auto-save files on entering and leaving bases should be good, so go back to the most recent one of those if you want to save your crew. There's no known fix, but it is believed you can avoid this bug by always saving your games with a new file name, never ever save over an existing file (unless you delete it first).
ae4rv is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2020 Subsim