SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2019, 03:09 PM   #466
LMD
Cap'n
 
LMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 82
Downloads: 339
Uploads: 0
Default

Ok, guys, thank you for replies. You helped me to get rid of that annoying message
So I re-installed game with non-Uplay exe file (thank you so much THEBERBSTER) and ready to go sink'em all
__________________

Last edited by LMD; 11-17-2019 at 03:20 PM.
LMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 04:36 PM   #467
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,156
Downloads: 1025
Uploads: 0


Default

oop's
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 08:31 PM   #468
wizard63
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 6
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Default compatibility

Hi:
My sh5 v 1.2 (installed by DVD) is in Spanish. Would that be a problem to install TWOS? I ask to avoid an uninstall.
Thanks greetings
wizard63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 07:00 AM   #469
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,156
Downloads: 1025
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi w63
You may need this.
How To Re-Install A SH5 DVD Following Uplay’s Update Instructions For TWoS Players > Pictorial
Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 06:51 AM   #470
tpt27
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 6
Downloads: 7
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Pete,

Unfortunately I don't have any of those options outside of the '3D Settings' in my NVIDIA control panel. Maybe because I'm running SH5 on my laptop.

However after I went nuclear on the uninstall of both SH5 and Uplay, I updated all drivers on my laptop (everything from video cards through to the touchpad) and did a reinstall via Steam. I also reinstalled Uplay. I successfully tested the vanilla SH5 then followed prop's instructions to install the TWoS mod. I am ecstatic to report that SH5 TWoS is running beautifully again.

The only things I did differently was:
- install SH5 to a folder on my D: instead of the C:
- Before running SH5 the first time, I setup Uplay to ensure it is always Offline
- Unchecked the 'read-only' box on the SH5 folder before I installed TWoS
- I only run SH5 by double-clicking on the desktop icon.

Let the hunt begin!
tpt27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 07:30 AM   #471
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,156
Downloads: 1025
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi tpt
Glad to hear you are up and running.
Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 08:05 AM   #472
Kallale
Nub
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default Long sessions result in this, followed often by a crash when I try to save.

Edit: So I found a copy of the DVD SH5.EXE. It must have fallen off the back of a truck. Here's what I notice. In file properties all three SH5.EXE files I have show the same version. All three files are not the same. Not the same checksum, not the same size. My old SH5.exe is from Jun 2018, well before the problems cropped up but it is not the same file as the dvd version of the SH5.exe. I'm gonna try the DVD version out and see what happens.

Has anyone see this before? Hours long sessions result in the corruption shown in the image, almost always followed by a crash when I try to save after the corruption starts happening. My initial SH5 install is from a a backup I had the foresight to make. It's completely clean (never run) copy downloaded from UBISoft with the 1.2.0.0 sh5.exe. I extract it to a directory, then "locate install" from UPlay. Then I run it once to initialize it and decline the update, entering into offline mode.

Would it be a better practice if I just downloaded the game again from ubisoft and then replaced sh5.exe with my 1.2.0.0 version?

I'm approaching my first patrol area and I fear I will not be able to actually complete a patrol in one session. This doesn't happen if I restart the game periodically.

Maybe I should try turning GSYNC off and disable my second screen when playing? My system runs it at over 100 fps unless im in Kiel.


Last edited by Kallale; 12-02-2019 at 11:07 AM.
Kallale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 11:15 AM   #473
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 15,668
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default welcome aboard!

Kallale!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 12:56 PM   #474
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,156
Downloads: 1025
Uploads: 0


Default

A Warm Welcome To The Subsim Community > Kallale
Subsim <> Make A Donation <> See The Benefits <> Support The Community
SH3 – 4 - 5 Tutorials > Downloads > Other Useful Information > See Links in My Signature Below


How To Re-Install A SH5 DVD Following Uplay’s Update Instructions For TWoS Players > Pictorial
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 05:00 AM   #475
Belmondo
Seaman
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 42
Downloads: 627
Uploads: 0
Default

Hello, I have a problem with the sounds in the game, that is, they are not fully played, they interrupt in the file, they work as I need, I have Windows 10
__________________
Leutnant z.S. kimanu-96
Belmondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim