SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Modern-Era Subsims > Mods Workshop for Cold Waters
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2019, 04:02 PM   #1
Antimatter
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 1
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Questions about Playable Subs mod and modding in general

Hi all

I found the Playable Subs mod and really like it, but it adds a long list of subs, making it hard to navigate the sonar profile list. I'd only like to add a few more subs to the default game.

1. Other than the arrow buttons and the "sub", "warship", and "civilian ship" buttons, are there any shortcuts to navigating the list of sonar profiles? If I edit the vessel list, what's the most efficient way to order the vessels? (Right now, the Playable Subs vessel list is ordered by nationality, not vessel type)

2. One idea is to take the default folder and add a few files from the Playable Subs mod.

If I only want to add the Virginia class subs, what are the steps I need to take? I've tried adding "usn_ssn_virginia.txt", editing "_vessel_list.txt", adding a profile picture, adding a sonar profile image, and adding "Textures/usn_ssn_virginia.png". However, this causes parts of the game not to load properly. What am I missing?

Are the instructions different if I want to add a UK sub (since there's a modified UI) or the Gotland class sub (since there's no file in the Textures folder)?

What are the instructions for adding a GBR sub (like the Resolution class)? Why are these subs listed under "GBR" instead of "UK", and why don't they have text files in the vessels folder?

Also, attempting to use the Resolution in some of the Playable Subs versions of "The Duel" mission causes the game to crash. Is there a way to fix this?

There's also a file in the Textures folder called "usn_ssn_starfleet.png" but no corresponding text files. Anyone know what type of sub this texture file corresponds to? How can I turn this texture file into a playable sub?

3. Another idea is to delete all of the unwanted subs from the Playable Subs folder. What are the steps that I'd need to take to remove a sub?

4. The Playable Subs text files use a different return carriage symbol that causes the text to run together when viewed in notepad. Is there an easy way to replace all the return carriage symbols? Are there any downsides to making this change? Does it affect game performance in any way?

5. I'd also like to add a new sub. What are the steps that I need to take? Is there a guide somewhere on how to create the 3d model?

I'd like to add the Barbel class sub (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barbel-class_submarine). Anyone know of an existing mod that includes it?

The Barbel class looks similar to the Skipjack class and has the same torpedo tube layout but is smaller. How would I modify the Skipjack model to create a Barbel? Is there a way to keep the torpedo tube size the same while scaling everything else down?

Thanks for any help
Antimatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 05:45 PM   #2
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 15,124
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default welcome aboard!

Antimatter!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 10:36 PM   #3
MrMojok69
Watch
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 16
Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default

Sorry for the necro-bump, but does anyone have any answers for antimatter's questions above? These are things I would like to experiment with as well.

I have been trying to make an updated version of the stock 1984 North Atlantic campaign, and update it to be 2004 or so, with all the newer vessels. Try as I might I cannot, for example, get Alfa2 to work in there (I do realize it's a fictional vessel)
MrMojok69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 08:01 PM   #4
VDNKh
Nub
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: VA, USA
Posts: 3
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMojok69 View Post
Sorry for the necro-bump, but does anyone have any answers for antimatter's questions above? These are things I would like to experiment with as well.

I have been trying to make an updated version of the stock 1984 North Atlantic campaign, and update it to be 2004 or so, with all the newer vessels. Try as I might I cannot, for example, get Alfa2 to work in there (I do realize it's a fictional vessel)
Does it work in single missions? Did you add it to "campaign\maps\(map name)_sea_traffic "?
VDNKh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 01:11 AM   #5
MrMojok69
Watch
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 16
Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default

I actually didn't know about the sea traffic file. Thank you, I will check that out.
MrMojok69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 01:31 AM   #6
MrMojok69
Watch
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 16
Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default

What determines whether or not subs display in the signature tab, as you click through?

In this 2004 campaign I'm working on, I have Akula1 and Akula2 showing up in the game, and they can be auto-classified eventually, but they don't show up with the other russian subs as I click through.
MrMojok69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 11:37 AM   #7
VDNKh
Nub
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: VA, USA
Posts: 3
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMojok69 View Post
What determines whether or not subs display in the signature tab, as you click through?

In this 2004 campaign I'm working on, I have Akula1 and Akula2 showing up in the game, and they can be auto-classified eventually, but they don't show up with the other russian subs as I click through.
As far as I know the sea traffic map file under OtherVessels= is what does that.
VDNKh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 12:35 AM   #8
MrMojok69
Watch
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 16
Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default

That was it. I had edited so many files I had screwed them up and had to go back to the original "default" and "override" folders. Thank you.

edit: By playing around with these files I figured out how to set it up so that only Russian and civilian/biological contacts show up in the signature window when I’m playing as American in the North Atlantic campaign. And the opposite for when I’m playing as the Russians.

My mouse-clicking finger is much less fatigued.

Last edited by MrMojok69; 08-20-2019 at 08:34 PM. Reason: Added info
MrMojok69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim