SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2021, 09:54 PM   #1
RearAdmiralToad
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 10
Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default How to install the radio portion (step 3.1) of hsie’s patch?

It says I need to add it into the cfg file, but when I did that it did not fix it. Does anyone have a tutorial or help with how to add it into the .cfg file. It is the menu_en.cfg or something like that.
RearAdmiralToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2021, 01:57 AM   #2
Anvar1061
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 3,068
Downloads: 773
Uploads: 0
Default

data/Menu/en_menu.txt
https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showpos...93&postcount=3
__________________
Anvar1061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2021, 02:14 AM   #3
John Pancoast
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minnysoda
Posts: 3,071
Downloads: 479
Uploads: 4


Default

Just like H.sie's instructions say:

1. Copy file en_menu.txt to the data/menu folder found in the Supplement folder of his patch. It is found at the same path in your games install.
2. Copy/paste the text found in the "append to en_menu.txt" file of his patch after the end of the text found in this en_menu.txt file from above.
3. If you use the German text in the game do the same with the de_menu.txt file, otherwise ignore it. Only need to change the file you'll use.

Done.
__________________
"Realistic" is not always GAME-GOOD." - Wave Skipper
John Pancoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2021, 12:45 PM   #4
RearAdmiralToad
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 10
Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Pancoast View Post
Just like H.sie's instructions say:

1. Copy file en_menu.txt to the data/menu folder found in the Supplement folder of his patch. It is found at the same path in your games install.
2. Copy/paste the text found in the "append to en_menu.txt" file of his patch after the end of the text found in this en_menu.txt file from above.
3. If you use the German text in the game do the same with the de_menu.txt file, otherwise ignore it. Only need to change the file you'll use.

Done.
I figured out what it meant with the data/menu folder. I couldn't really figure out what to do so I combined the append to en_menu with the en_menu.txt and then put the whole (originally .zip) file from the V16B1 folder into the mods folder in my SH3 directory. I then loaded it up using JSGME but it still gave me the blank messages. The main thing is I am having a hard time understanding the directions and what to do.
RearAdmiralToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2021, 12:53 PM   #5
John Pancoast
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minnysoda
Posts: 3,071
Downloads: 479
Uploads: 4


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RearAdmiralToad View Post
I figured out what it meant with the data/menu folder. I couldn't really figure out what to do so I combined the append to en_menu with the en_menu.txt and then put the whole (originally .zip) file from the V16B1 folder into the mods folder in my SH3 directory. I then loaded it up using JSGME but it still gave me the blank messages. The main thing is I am having a hard time understanding the directions and what to do.
If by "....put the whole (originally .zip) file from the....." you meant it was still in the 7zip format, that is the problem.
The Supplement folder that needs to go into JSGME is in that zip file.

Let me know if that is the problem and we'll go from there.
__________________
"Realistic" is not always GAME-GOOD." - Wave Skipper
John Pancoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2021, 08:43 PM   #6
RearAdmiralToad
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 10
Downloads: 9
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Pancoast View Post
If by "....put the whole (originally .zip) file from the....." you meant it was still in the 7zip format, that is the problem.
The Supplement folder that needs to go into JSGME is in that zip file.

Let me know if that is the problem and we'll go from there.
Still not working for some reason. I'll just post an exact list of what I did. I am confident I messed up somewhere here.

1. Unzipped the "Supplement to V16B1 (JGSME)" zip file. This was at /V16B!-Patch-Installed/

2. Copied (copied not cut so there is still another en_menu.txt that is unedited at steam/steamapps/common/Silent Hunter 3/data/menu/) the en_menu.txt file from steam/steamapps/common/Silent Hunter 3/data/menu/ to the data/menu file in the V16B1 folder or at \V16B1-Patch-installed\Supplement to V16B1 (JSGME)\Data\Menu\

3. Copied all of the text from the _Append_to_en_menu.txt file at /V16B1-Patch-installed/ to the end of the en_menu.txt file at \V16B1-Patch-installed\Supplement to V16B1 (JSGME)\Data\Menu\

4. I moved the Supplement to V16B1 folder that I unzipped in step 1 to the steam/steamapps/common/Silent Hunter 3/MODS/ folder.

5. I loaded in Supplement to V16B1 (JSGME) with JSGME.

I bolded some words just to have emphasis on them. This is due to me keeping the original en_menu.txt file and not touching in the SH3 directory. Thanks for the help so far!
RearAdmiralToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hsie , mod , patch , radio , sh3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2022 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.