SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2020, 07:55 PM   #1
gusti
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default Very dumb question

Hi, I am an old sh3 veteran (had the dvd) and I recently picked up the silent hunter v with twos mod. I fooled around with the historical missions to get a handle of controls but when I try to set up a campaign I appeared at the sub pen and I don't know how to "get in" the sub. I noticed it said I should save and load back but I did that and I see no change. Any help here? Thanks!!!
gusti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 07:57 PM   #2
bstanko6
Sea Lord
 
bstanko6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Murwik Naval Academy
Posts: 1,632
Downloads: 388
Uploads: 13


Default

Stupid answer... you can lead a horse to water, but a pencil must be lead!
__________________

BSTANKO6'S SH5 NAVAL ACADEMY
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPbe...W2NArCA/videos
bstanko6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 07:59 PM   #3
bstanko6
Sea Lord
 
bstanko6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Murwik Naval Academy
Posts: 1,632
Downloads: 388
Uploads: 13


Default

Go to the officer, and he will speak about happenings in the war. Select your mission, and you will be on the bridge!
__________________

BSTANKO6'S SH5 NAVAL ACADEMY
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPbe...W2NArCA/videos
bstanko6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 07:59 PM   #4
gusti
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bstanko6 View Post
Stupid answer... you can lead a horse to water, but a pencil must be lead!
???
gusti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 08:01 PM   #5
gusti
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bstanko6 View Post
Go to the officer, and he will speak about happenings in the war. Select your mission, and you will be on the bridge!
Thanks. I am inside the sub now and have to go back to talk the officer, wherever he is. They should put a ladder somewhere ha.
gusti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 09:34 PM   #6
captainadccdacaptain
Steel Pirate
 
captainadccdacaptain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Deep southern part of US
Posts: 92
Downloads: 34
Uploads: 0
Default

Took me forever to figure that out the first time, so dont feel bad
captainadccdacaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 10:57 PM   #7
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 18,602
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome back!

gusti! after a 13 year silent run! FYI: there are no stupid questions at ...and there is a ladder...for getting down and up from the deck gun! If you do your own gunnery you save shells! Getting back up to the conning tower can take a little practise though; especially when a pissed-off escort is bearing down on you.
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." -Albert Einstein

Last edited by Aktungbby; 07-21-2020 at 11:09 PM.
Aktungbby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 10:27 PM   #8
gusti
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks!! I did some of the first mission today. I met two Polish destroyers but I could not find any Warships on the identification book in order to send the height to the Stadimeter like on SH3. Threw a salvo at 2500 meters (?) but missed miserably.
gusti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 10:37 PM   #9
bstanko6
Sea Lord
 
bstanko6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Murwik Naval Academy
Posts: 1,632
Downloads: 388
Uploads: 13


Default

One is a destroyer, the other one is a minelayer.
__________________

BSTANKO6'S SH5 NAVAL ACADEMY
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCPbe...W2NArCA/videos
bstanko6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 08:37 PM   #10
gusti
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

So I got into the second mission. Selected the Patrol british coastal waters and did good. Sunk 2 liners and three small merchants. Now Im out of torpedoes but I can't seem to get the objective completed (I did reach the assigned grid and been hovering within that radius for a couple days)
gusti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 08:31 AM   #11
momps
Watch
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 15
Downloads: 11
Uploads: 0
Default

gusti,
You need to return to your base and refit. The refit process will provide torpedoes and fuel. Then resume your British Coastal Waters mission until you have completed it.
momps
momps is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2020 Subsim