SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Modern-Era Subsims > Dangerous Waters plus New Developments
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2019, 03:43 PM   #61
ET2SN
Weps
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 356
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warlock View Post

However does anyone know how to make the game window bigger?
Tried several things with out look.
Keep your fingers crossed that Sonalysts will develop a new game and someone will publish it.

DW was coded back when 800X600 resolution worked just fine. Trying to enhance the resolution now would require re-working all of the graphics elements (not just the 3D view) to fit within a higher resolution. Most of that coding is deep within the main .exe (copy-written) program.

The RA mod includes a "converter" for Win8 and Win10 that allows you to run the game in full screen mode (only). The only downside is that the 4X3 display format has to get stretched into the more modern 16X9 format. You can also max out the resolution by editing the dangerouswaters.ini file in notepad but you're still stuck with the 4X3 format on a 16X9 display.

There is also a way to run DW in windowed mode using a different converter dll. I think Chazlie covered it but I don't use it, so I can't say how good it is. You're still limited to the 4X3 display format, however.
ET2SN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 10:36 PM   #62
p7p8
Samurai Navy
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 591
Downloads: 116
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warlock View Post
However does anyone know how to make the game window bigger?
Tried several things with out look.
Game resolution you can change in dangerouswaters.ini in txt editor

resolution is writen in ".ModeID" in "graphics" section

[Graphics]
.MapStretch No
.ScreenStretchQuality 3
.ParticleMax 500
.ParticleRate 5
.LocalLights Yes
.TransparentWater No
.WantRain Yes
.Disable3D No
.Want3DClouds Yes
.WantVegetation Yes
.AdapterID 0
.DeviceID 0
.ModeID 2
.DetailTextures Yes
.BlendTextures Yes
.Caustics Yes
.WaterParticles Yes
.WaterReflectionQuality 3
.WaterQuality 4
.WaterDrawMethod 1
.CameraFOV 60
.WantShadows Yes
.ModelDetailTex Yes
.RunInWindow Yes
.Gamma ""
.SoftwareCursor No

.ModeID 1 (800x600)
.ModeID 2 (1024x768)
.ModeID 3 (1280x1024)
.ModeID 4 (1600x1200)

Window with frame should fit on desktop. Otherwise mouse cursor may cause problems.

If you wanna change scale of window you should to experiment with dgvoodoo2 options. I don't use it so i can't help you.
__________________
p7p8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2019, 09:02 AM   #63
Warlock
Nub
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 4
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Ok, cheers guys.

Ill try the ModeID 2 idea

Warlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2019, 09:49 AM   #64
p7p8
Samurai Navy
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 591
Downloads: 116
Uploads: 5


Default

ModeID 2 is best to me because my monitor native resolution is 1600x900.

In fullscreen mode i can play 1280x1024 but in window mode frame and tiny part of game screen is beyond display. And in that case mouse cursor is not in the same place where game recognise my mouse "click".

Most players use ModeID 3 - it works fine on monitor's 1080p

You should check which modoe is best for you.
__________________
p7p8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim